We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Totnes Elizabethan House Museum
Save
Review Highlights
A very interesting Museum.

A well laid out museum with lots of interesting rooms & subjects. The room dedicated to Charles... read more

Reviewed 27 September 2018
Ronald W
,
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Little Gem

We came across this lovely museum by chance. What a gem of a museum located in Totnes. The staff... read more

Reviewed 22 July 2018
roseharptree
,
Cyprus
Read all 74 reviews
  
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
51
21
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
21
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews herb garden the kitchen local man local history several floors the upper floors fascinating glimpse free entry run by volunteers little gem by chance the main street all ages charles pharmacy inventor donation
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We came across this lovely museum by chance. What a gem of a museum located in Totnes. The staff was really knowledgeable about the history of the house and its content and very friendly. My niece, who is four, loved looking for the little mice. An hour well spent.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank roseharptree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Museums Custodian at Totnes Elizabethan House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Hello Rose,
thank you so much for your feedback - we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and that your niece enjoyed finding all the mice hidden in various rooms - the staff are all Volunteers and enjoy nothing more than helping visitors and talking about the house. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

The museum is free , you can donate to the upkeep of it. Some history relating to war, and support provided from Devon area,the ladies involvement.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank NKulatunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Museums Custodian at Totnes Elizabethan House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our Museum - yes it is free to enter, but as you said we do appreciate donations.

The exhibition is about the work done by the Nurses in the first world war.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Lovely little town museum, on the Main Street. It is free but donations welcome. The house has little exhibitions and is set out as the house would have been at the time.
Young children will enjoy it as quite small and a fairly quick walk round.
Our grown up children (25+) enjoyed it!
The mannequins are a bit spooky.
Don’t forget to donate on leaving as these places are run by volunteers.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Museums Custodian at Totnes Elizabethan House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Hello Lori, thank you so much for your feedback - we are please you all enjoyed your visit - we try to encourage children into our Museum with the Victorian Nursery being set up with colouring, dressing up clothes and toys. We are, as you said run by a loyal group of Volunteers - so yes, all donations are welcome to help us look after this wonderful 16th century Elizabethan House. Thank you again.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

Very well presented museum of the history of Totnes, from the Elizabethan's to Now. Friendly staff and well knowledgeable, about the subject. You could ask them anything about it and they knew a lot.
I enjoyed finding about the history of Totnes.
Free to get it.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Custodian at Totnes Elizabethan House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Hello Rachel, Thank you so much for your feedback this is very important to us, and I am pleased that you found the staff helpful as they are all Volunteers. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Regards,
Kate (Tyler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

From the outside I expected to be similar to the guildhall however this had much much more to see and learn. Set over a number of floors and rooms in a picturesque Elizabethan house you are transported back in time to learn about the town and life over the years. Combined with a small but lovely gardens this is a must see if in totnes and much more exciting than the over priced castle also in the town!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 419PeterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews