We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Babbage, and Elizabethan history”

Totnes Elizabethan House Museum
Ranked #10 of 61 things to do in Totnes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Totnes Museum is now open for 2018. This year we have three new exhibitions. We look forward to welcoming you to the Museum. The Totnes Elizabethan House Museum is a great way to spend a day out in Totnes, whatever the weather outside! What will you want to see? Our resident ghost? Our Elizabethan Herb garden? Our medieval kitchen? Our collection of medicines from the middle ages? Our spiral staircase made from a ship's mast? Or is it Totnes' illustrious son, Charles Babbage, who invented the first mechanical computer, whatever your interest in history is the Totnes Museum is a fascinating place to spend of few hours of your time.
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Have to admit we only went into the museum because of the sign saying they had a room about Babbage the computer pioneer, but very glad we did as the rest of the museum was an interesting collection of things about Totnes’ history especially from the Elizabethan era. The ship’s mast staircase, kitchen and herb garden would be worth seeing alone, and don’t miss the chance to do some coding on the Raspberry Pi in the Babbage room. Much more interesting and better value than Totnes Castle.

Thank arborfieldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Museums Custodian at Totnes Elizabethan House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for your feedback, our Babbage room is indeed a very interesting room relating to all things computer, with the Raspberry Pi being of great interest.
The herb garden is a delight and is looked after by one of our Volunteers, I will pass on your comments to her.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"herb garden"
in 13 reviews
"the kitchen"
in 6 reviews
"local man"
in 2 reviews
"local history"
in 4 reviews
"three floors"
in 4 reviews
"the upper floors"
in 2 reviews
"free entry"
in 3 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 2 reviews
"little gem"
in 3 reviews
"by chance"
in 2 reviews
"the main street"
in 2 reviews
"charles"
in 16 reviews
"pharmacy"
in 9 reviews
"inventor"
in 4 reviews
"donation"
in 7 reviews
"information"
in 10 reviews
"computers"
in 3 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2018

We came across this lovely museum by chance. What a gem of a museum located in Totnes. The staff was really knowledgeable about the history of the house and its content and very friendly. My niece, who is four, loved looking for the little mice. An hour well spent.

Thank roseharptree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Museums Custodian at Totnes Elizabethan House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Hello Rose,
thank you so much for your feedback - we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and that your niece enjoyed finding all the mice hidden in various rooms - the staff are all Volunteers and enjoy nothing more than helping visitors and talking about the house. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

The museum is free , you can donate to the upkeep of it. Some history relating to war, and support provided from Devon area,the ladies involvement.

Thank NKulatunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Museums Custodian at Totnes Elizabethan House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our Museum - yes it is free to enter, but as you said we do appreciate donations.

The exhibition is about the work done by the Nurses in the first world war.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Lovely little town museum, on the Main Street. It is free but donations welcome. The house has little exhibitions and is set out as the house would have been at the time.
Young children will enjoy it as quite small and a fairly quick walk round.
Our grown up children (25+) enjoyed it!
The mannequins are a bit spooky.
Don’t forget to donate on leaving as these places are run by volunteers.

Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Museums Custodian at Totnes Elizabethan House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Hello Lori, thank you so much for your feedback - we are please you all enjoyed your visit - we try to encourage children into our Museum with the Victorian Nursery being set up with colouring, dressing up clothes and toys. We are, as you said run by a loyal group of Volunteers - so yes, all donations are welcome to help us look after this wonderful 16th century Elizabethan House. Thank you again.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2018

Very well presented museum of the history of Totnes, from the Elizabethan's to Now. Friendly staff and well knowledgeable, about the subject. You could ask them anything about it and they knew a lot.
I enjoyed finding about the history of Totnes.
Free to get it.

Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Custodian at Totnes Elizabethan House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Hello Rachel, Thank you so much for your feedback this is very important to us, and I am pleased that you found the staff helpful as they are all Volunteers. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Regards,
Kate (Tyler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Totnes Elizabethan House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Totnes Elizabethan House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing