We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveller rating
571
128
21
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
128
21
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold room cinema room outdoor pool and jacuzzi west wing lovely hotel standard room steep hill recommend this hotel high standard evening entertainment every member of staff buffet breakfast first class three nights no lift dining room plenty of choice
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 725 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We spent Christmas at this beautiful hotel,and what a wonderful time we had.from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff could not do enough for you and all with a smile.we could not possibly eat all the wonderful food on offer their was so much of it.our room was very comfortable with a lovely bathroom and we had,2 very nice chambermaids who even worked on Christmas Day.we had a lot of fun on boxing Day with the lovely David who done the quiz.we would definitely return to this hotel

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank 363cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

We are glad you had such an enjoyable time over Christmas with us, and David's Boxing Day quiz is one of the highlights of the festive period. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this superb hotel in November. The rooms are very comfortable as is the bed and everything else in this hotel. We cannot fault the staff who did everything to make our stay memorable. The food was excellent , what more can I say. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel t5o anyone wishing to spend time in Torquay. It is very good value.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for your very kind review following your stay with us. We get a lot of excellent comments regarding the comfort of the beds and our great staff. The food is all locally sourced and freshly prepared by our team in the kitchen, led by our Head Chef Phil Sampson. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

A beautifully appointed hotel with the most lavish and tasteful Christmas decorations I have ever seen, the overall appearance is like a magnificent stage set. The four night Christmas deal offered was extraordinary, both for the quality of the package, including professional entertainment, beautiful menus and excellent accommodation plus a generous sprinkling of extra goodies such as a visit from Father Christmas, group carolling and a luxury Christmas Day gift for every room. The final cost represents genuine value for money.
The refined country hotel feel is clearly appreciated by a loyal band of regulars, augmented by a number of fortunate newcomers lucky enough to have secured a booking, (there are just over 40 rooms which makes for an intimate atmosphere). Although Torquay in December offers little to seduce the casual visitor, the hotel staff go to great lengths to ensure the happiness and comfort of the guests. Suzi and Fabio in particular went out of their way to make us feel welcome, but all of the staff can only be inspired by the example set by the manager David who is a constant, cheerful and ever-busy presence. Our room was extremely warm and well presented and the hotel itself is set in beautifully landscaped grounds with sufficient parking spaces for all. The catering is excellent and organisation of sittings to ensure prompt delivery of meals while maintaining great personal charm, is peerless. The public spaces are just gorgeous, lots of cosy seating areas with roaring fires adding to the festive feel. Entertainment includes film events as well as high quality musical offerings and an eagerly anticipated Boxing Day quiz hosted by David. Other amenities include small plunge pool and jacuzzi. We have met some wonderful people on our maiden visit and would recommend this hotel to any adults wanting a peaceful, seasonal break of superb quality.

Room tip: No lift so get a ground floor room if stairs are an issue. No children allowed!
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank honeybee331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for such a wonderful review, we work tirelessly to ensure all our guests have a memorable stay here at Lincombe Hall. Christmas is especially important to us, as our guests tend to spend a lot more time in the hotel rather than venturing further afield. It is fantastic when we get reviews like yours, our staff work very hard and reviews like these are the icing on the cake.

We do hope you come back in the near future and enjoy Torquay and Lincombe Hall perhaps during the warmer months!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

My husband and I spent four relaxing nights here. The staff were friendly, polite, attentive and always eager to inquire about our day and help in any way possible. The breakfast menu was varied and suited all tastes. I especially liked the porridge and toppings. The restaurant was good value and the food freshly prepared and of a high standard. Again the service was attentive and of a very high standard. The swimming pool and jacuzzi, although small, was a welcome addition. The lounge areas were luxuriously decorated for Christmas and the real fire a lovely addition on a cold night. The hotel is within 5 minutes walk of the harbour. We would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank NevC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We pride ourselves on our great staff here at Lincombe, the majority of them have been with us for a long time and they take great pride in ensuring our guests stay is perfect. All our food is locally sourced and freshly prepared on site each day and of a very high standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed 5 days at this delightful hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. At first, I was a little underwhelmed with the small size of the room, not much room for our cases and stuff, however, after moving things around (and we could always have asked for a larger room, or ask the staff to move the chairs out), we soon settled in, and quickly I grew to love that room, cosy and very warm, as it was freezing outside, very comfy bed, powerful shower.
The cleanliness was 10/10, the staff were great, nothing was too much trouble, the lounge with the welcoming fire in the evening was lovely, and the evening entertainment was good too, if you like that type of entertainment, as we do. We didn’t eat dinner, but the menu looked very nice.
We didn’t bother with breakfast for the first 3 mornings, as we weren’t hungry, however, what a mistake that was, as when we eventually tried it on our second last morning, it was superb, everything was so fresh and tasty.
This is an excellent hotel and such a lovely elegant handsome building, lots of parking, very near the shops and restaurants, but, no lift, if you need one, so best to call them direct, to book a room, as they will make sure you are not placed in a room which necessitates lots of walking up stairs.
Also, it is a steep walk back from the local shops, so my hubby drove or we took cabs, which are really very inexpensive.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank roseannah34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews