We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
164
62
23
25
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
62
23
25
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslebanese cuisinecooked breakfastgames roomswimming poolwarm welcometwo nightsset us up for the dayour night staytea and coffeeten minute walkensuite bathroomshort staystayed longerbed and breakfasttorquay harbourfeel very welcomelovely break
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We just spent the weekend here, and we weren't disappointed!
We were welcomed initially by Veronica, who was very friendly and kindly let us use the car park until we checked in, as we were early.
When we came back to check in we were greeted by Saida, who was very welcoming and answered any questions we had about things to do etc......
We had a deluxe double room which was very comfortable and decorated nicely, clean and cosy.
We didn't use the facilities here as there is just so much too do in Torquay, but the hotel was very nice indeed and awesome location as well!
We will be here again on our next visit to Torquay!!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 31GazS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica P, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

We also enjoyed having you here and really hope to see you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a short break away at the Richwood Torquay. On our arrival we were greeted by our host, Saida with her beautiful welcoming smile and were treated extremely well throughout our stay. Our room was clean and comfortable as was everywhere else in the hotel. The food, all freshly cooked to order was delicious and the benefit of the licensed bar and restaurant was an added bonus. The outdoor swimming pool looked inviting but was just a bit too cold for me, however I'm hoping to return next month and will definitely be taking a dip then. With just a 10-15 min walk to the seafront the hotel is in a very good position.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank godswaitingroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica P, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your break with us and hope you got home safley. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here on a 2 night break and had a fab time.. Saida was so friendly and welcoming, breakfast was delicious, my only negative would be we had a front facing room and the traffic was very noisy, but that was no one's fault... We used this hotel as part of a mini road trip of Devon and Cornwall. Would loved to have used the pool but unfortunately for me was just not warm enough..... Room was small but we had everything we needed...
Would definitely stay here again..

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica P, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

We are happy - despite road noise - that you enjoyed your break here at the Richwood. You were the perfect guests and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

The Richwood was our choice for a two night getaway, a gift from our daughter.
We were greeted by Sadie, who made us feel very welcome straight away.
The hotel has an immediate ambience about it as soon as you walk in the door.
Our room was clean and the linen was of good quality and had a nice fresh smell to it.
We had the small double, but the room is larger than the photos show. The ensuite bathroom is spacious and shower gel and soap are provided.
I don,t sleep very well anyway, but once I did get to sleep, I was very cosy.
Breakfast is at a reasonable time and caters for all appetites. My husband had the cooked English and said the sausages and bacon were nice.
The breakfast room is large enough not to be squashed with the other guests.
We walked into Torquay, about 25 minutes slow walking, my husband has a stick. We did intend to get one of the frequent buses back, but it was such a nice evening we walked again and it wasn’t,t half as bad as we thought it would be.
There is plenty to see in Torquay, parks to sit in, shops and the seafront.
Thank you, Janet and Tony

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank janetK4820CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica P, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope you returned home rested and refreshed, You were wonderful guests and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

I just have to tell anyone who books a stay here with their pet that they are not very pet friendly has your dog is not aloud anywhere near hotel, they give you a seperate entrance through a bolted gate down loads of steps and your room is definetly out of the way right underneath the hotel where you don't get to see anyone and when you come home late at night there is no light to guide you down the stairs which is quite dangerous. The room itself was clean but very dark and dated and made you feel depressed staying there. We didn't see a soul on our 2 night stay as we were not allowed in hotel with dog at all not even in the bar so in my opinion this should not be advertised as a pet friendly hotel because it obviously isn't and they charge you an extra £25 a night to bring your pet just to be confined to your room i'm sorry to say we won't be returning and finally people who say its a 10 min walk to sea front are lying its more like 25 mins which we didn't mind doing but people with walking difficulties just beware

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank julieg1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica P, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

We are so sorry that Julie did not enjoy her stay at the Richwood.
We also apologise that the automatic step lights were not functioning; if Julie had informed us, we would have fixed them!
We do not allow pets into the main guesthouse area, as not all people like dogs and some people are allergic.
We also have two dogs – we have paid up to £20 per night, per pet, and we have not found anywhere yet which allows dogs in the dining room or bar – one was expected to either leave the dog in your room or in your car when using the accommodation’s facilities. There is an outside terrace by the pet rooms, which, up to now has been acceptably popular with guests with four-legged family members.
Julie was here on a deal voucher, valid Mondays-Thursdays. They stayed over the Bank Holiday weekend and had to pay a supplement for the Friday. They decided to bring their pooch and took a premiere room (both pet rooms are larger premiere rooms) for which they were charged £20 and £5 for their pet, per night. This of course, was agreed on booking.
Again, so sorry Julie that you were dissapointed, and we hope you got home safely..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews