We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
44
32
20
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
32
20
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grosvenor hotel richardson group richardson hotels pool and jacuzzi sunday lunch dog friendly hotel lady on reception three course meal upgraded room sun terrace recommend this hotel lounge bar per night booked this hotel wonderful weekend first class fantastic location
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We have stayed two previous times at this hotel, both times John Bright was the
Chief, wonderful , excellent, and very enjoyable.
We arrived here yesterday, only to find out he has left, 1st September, so disappointed,
We eat in their restaurant last night, food was okay, 6out of 10, before was 10 plus and
More.
The hotel is also changing it name, and running the hotel on a minimum staff,
The staff are pleasant helpful and under great pressure, service in restaurant slow
Due to the reason set out previously .
If you are thinking of staying here and have not been here previously you will
Find the position excellent staff helpful, and food, breakfast buffet good, evening
Meal average, but not cheap.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank lauren186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the John Burton-Race hotel for a wedding and we had a very nice stay. The wedding itself was wonderful - the garden setting, the staff and the food were all lovely and a good time was had by all. The rooms are slightly dated, and check-in was slightly confusing but the staff worked to make our stay nice. Breakfast was again nice with a decent selection, and the pool was warm - on a nice day I think the availability of sunbeds could be an issue! Depending on what you are looking for in a hotel, it’s not a bad option but needs some updating.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Booked this hotel on a room deal for £115 - normal price over £200. This was because we were expecting the quality of service, flair and superb cooking skills we had encountered when we ate at the The New Angel in Dartmouth when John Burton-Race was the Michelin starred chef there. This hotel is decidedly dated, overpriced and now (as we found out on the night we stayed) has nothing to do with the man himself who recently departed the Richardson Hotel Group leaving only his name behind!!! This is really tantamount to cheating the public in my opinion and his name should be removed asap.
Several other reviewers have mentioned the parking problems which are a real pain when booking in and I have to say that breakfasts in any Premier Inn would knock the offering in this hotel out of the park.

Date of stay: September 2018
2  Thank mysideofthestory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We did book this hotel for the John Burton-Race restaurant, but in the end never ate in the restaurant anyway. Food looked horrendously expensive, and only saw a few dinners.

There was nothing really to complain about. The problem really is the price you pay for what you get. The bare minimum of low cost fixtures and fittings in the rooms. Cheapest food possible at breakfast.

If you could get a room for £75.00, it is probably worth it, otherwise I would look elsewhere.

Date of stay: September 2018
2  Thank 602julians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

We booked for one night as it is within easy walking distance of the theatre. £73 for double B&B. We read it was £10 to park so chose not to. Should be free for guests. The so,Italy receptionist was busy but she was friendly. Our room 304 was a pleasant double room with an en suite bath. Good hospitality tray with biscuits. Toiletries provided and flannels which I was pleasantly surprised to find. After the show we had a pint of cider and a G&T which cost us £15! The lounge bar was very comfortably furnished with 'leather' sofas and homely touches, The parts of the hotel we saw were all nicely decorated and carpeted. Our room overlooked a flat roof with no view. That didn't bother us for one night but there was a buzzing noise which we hadn't noticed until it was nighttime. If we were staying longer we would have asked to move. Breakfast was good in my opinion. Fresh chopped fruit, cereals, yoghurt, pastries, cheese, cold meats, bacon, eggs etc. Nice bread to toast yourself. All self service which I prefer. Staff were friendly. I would be happy to stay again as long as the room didn't have that buzzing

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Marie H, Public Relations Manager at John Burton-Race Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Sandra G
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we will investigate the buzzing noise in the room but pleased that you found your room to be comfortable and particularly appreciated the little added extras.
It is also lovely to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and found it to be plentiful.We look forward to welcoming you again to stay with us.

Kind Regards
Anne-Marie Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews