We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
11 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/10/21
Expedia.com
US$112
View deal
Hotels.com
US$112
View deal
Agoda.comUS$125
Trip.comUS$121
eDreamsUS$125
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,907)
Filter reviews
1,907 results
Traveller rating
1,101
537
151
68
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,101
537
151
68
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club room free taxi service sea view lovely hotel coastal path coach parties course dinner standard room evening entertainment turkey and tinsel steam room short break meadfoot beach high standard waiting staff breakfast and dinner coach trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,907 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2021

Thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at the Headland Hotel. Our room 132 was clean and spacious with a modern bathroom and an excellent view of the sea. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patriciahols
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio de Carvalho, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you, for such a lovely feedback and very positive compliments, we are all really pleased with your review of your visit here with us at the Headland Hotel & Spa.

We hope to see you very soon again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2021

We booked an Executive Room with Sea View. We were given Room 134 on arrival. There were pluses (not many!) and minuses to this room.

Pluses:
views were great,
tea making facilities were good

Minuses:
the room was much smaller than expected for an executive room,
hot tap in the bathroom moved when touched and actually turned the wrong way,
the shower only worked when the shower head was higher than your stomach,
the bath was half size,
the toilet seat needed replacing - had ‘wear’ marks at the back,
cracked floor tiles
the side lights next to the bed were hanging off the wall,
the radiator was dirty and rusty top and bottom.

Overall, not what was expected of a Deluxe Room with with a sea view at a deluxe price - would class this room as a Standard Room for a standard price for the condition its in at the present time. Not sure if any of these reviews actually get back to the owners, and if anything is actually actioned from the reviews, but definitely needs to. Needless to say, we will not be returning.More

Date of stay: September 2021
Thank MrsEm102
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio de Carvalho, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mrs Em,

Thank you, for taking the time to share with us your feedback and constructive comments, we are always looking to improve our offering and services, Thank you from all of us here at the Headland Hotel & Spa.

We hope to see you very soon again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2021

Just returned from 8 blissful days, from arrival to departure nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Have been coming to the Headland for 15 years, every year gets better, as improvements constantly been made, food is excellent, plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner.
Wednesday is quiz night , great evening, and gets the brain cells working!
Some of the rooms do need upgrading, this is being undertaken, with the hotel being so popular it is a gradual thing, Rome wasn't built in a day! the housekeeping team do an excellent job, keeping the rooms and hotel clean , plenty of fresh towels, hand sanitizer everywhere to feel safe.
Meadfoot bay, is a short walk, which has a lovely beach, can hire paddle boards and canoes, also a cafe. The hotel runs a taxi service daily into Torquay and back, which is a free service, great for catching a ferry to Brixham or Paignton.
Ticking the days off for our next stay at Christmas, booked for next year.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio de Carvalho, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you, for such a lovely feedback and very positive compliments, we are all really pleased with your review of your visit here with us at the Headland Hotel & Spa.

We hope to see you very soon again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2021

They tried to charge me {Harold Gadd] for a steak I didn t have or order, my teeth are neither good enough to eat one or the other meats they supplied, I normally only eat soft foods like chicken or fish etc.Even though I told them I didn t have it, there was nor is any apology. They spoilt an otherwise good holiday I also reported a rat at the back, outside, days later they admitted they did nothing about it.

Date of stay: August 2021
1  Thank Expedition762253
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio de Carvalho, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you, for such a lovely feedback and very positive compliments, we are all really pleased with your review of your visit here with us at the Headland Hotel & Spa.

We hope to see you very soon again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2021 via mobile

Once I’d overcome the booking.com challenges the hotel staff couldn’t have been more helpful with my late arrival. It has everything you need and more. Pleasantly surprised. Although the hotel is a little tired in some areas it does make up for it in character, facilities, location and superb staff.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Pioneer63979279029
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio de Carvalho, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you, for such a lovely feedback and very positive compliments, we are all really pleased with your review of your visit here with us at the Headland Hotel & Spa.

We hope to see you very soon again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews