We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,113)
Filter reviews
1,113 results
Traveller rating
679
295
79
33
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
679
295
79
33
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomfree taxi servicesix coursesedwards coachesgb tourscourse evening mealsea viewsorbeton arrivalcoach partiesfirst classcoastal pathmince piesspa areaevening entertainmentstandard roomthe general manager
Filter
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 1,113 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The setting of this hotel is lovely, all staff very friendly and efficient, food superb,5 star! we had a sea view room which was good, restaurant manager Alex was exceptional! Free taxi once a day to take you down into Torquay and return later if required. All meals served at your table which was a delight,(no bun fight!!). One little niggle is the parking, not enough car parking spaces! We will definitely return, this hotel will take some beating for food, bedrooms a little dated, could do with new beds, bathrooms good. 10 out of 10 to the owner!

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quieter
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Dear lynda p,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time and that Alex offered you exceptional service - I will most definitely be passing on your praise.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Food, entertainment, hotel all fabulous. Definitely visiting again. Hopefully Christmas, then with a view to stay at their new hotel. Hotel Manager (Adam) and all of his staff very well trained in all aspects of the hotel

Stayed: September 2016
Thank winty12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyHPrice, Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Dear winty12,

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

It was a pleasure to welcome you here and we look forward to seeing you back here again very soon.

Kind regards,
The Headland Hotel & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Just arrived home from a two night stay at the Headland Hotel in Torquay. Absolutely fabulous time! Our room had excellent double aspect sea views of Torbay and Meadfoot Bay. A very well appointed large room with great ensuite. It had a beautiful turreted bay window with comfortable seating.
The six course evening meal was mouth watering, each course well presented and promptly served by the very friendly professional staff, the main course delicious on piping hot plates. By the time we got to the cheese followed by coffee and mints, we were ready to drift contentedly into the patio lounge bar and enjoy the evening entertainment.
Next morning we enjoyed a fabulous breakfast with a wide and varied menu all waiter and waitress served. After breakfast we just sat and enjoyed the marvellous views from our room across Torbay and were entertained by the departure of a cruise liner.
The weather was very hot and showed Devon at it's finest.
After each day out we took advantage of the excellent Spa facilities. The hydro pools are a revelation and the sauna and steam rooms were so well appointed followed by five minutes in the vigorous and extremely relaxing jacuzzi. Before our evening meal we enjoyed a cool drink on the patio watching the sailing boats in the bay. Absolutely delightful!!
We would just like to thank Lucy and all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Don O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyHPrice, Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear Don O,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here and pleased that you got some great weather too!

Our new spa facilities are the newest addition to the hotel and have been up and running for around 4 months now. It's great to see that that are enhancing our guest's experience whilst staying here.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
The Headland Hotel & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Great location and food , pity about the attitude of the staff and Management
Nice from what looked like a large pipe over the roof and also kitchen cooking smells were in the air in the late afternoon on the terrace.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

The Headland Hotel on appearance is very smart, inside is very clean with decent size rooms. The staff where mostly friendly and hard working, the food was good however the choice was limited at times. We enjoyed our stay here and had an all round good experience and can recommend to others.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Massive-moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyHPrice, Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Dear Massive-moose,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased to see that you have enjoyed your time here. although I must disagree with your comment about limited food choices with our nightly 6 course evening meal offers a choice of 4 starters, then an optional sorbet, a choice of 5 main meals, a choice of 5 desserts, a selection of local cheeses and then tea or coffee with chocolate mints.

I do hope you will be coming back to visit us again very soon and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
The Headland Hotel & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews