We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Cimon(Torquay)
Book now, pay at stay
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$163
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$160
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$159
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot House Hotel(Torquay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South View(Torquay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
455
30
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
455
30
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathgreat hoststorre abbeysea frontnothing is too much troubleevening meals arehotel is spotlessly cleanguest housecooked to perfectionhome cookedfresh milkmini fridgeon arrivalfirst classwouldn't stay anywhere elserecommend this hotellovely couple
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Family run guest house offering first class service and personal attention to detail.
We stayed with them for eight nights and it went all too quickly - we can't wait for our next visit.
We met many 'nice people' who have become good friends, all of the same opinion, that the Mount Edgecome is clean, well kept and the food is second to none and we look forward to re-uniting again.
Thank you Dave and Claire for making our Summer Break 2018 our best visit yet to Torquay. :-)

Phil & Bev

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Claire and Dave are absolutely brilliant sign you in and leave you alone to do what you want when you want..... Breakfast was amazing sets you up for the day.... If you require you bacon or sausage well done all you have to do is say and they will do it. Nothing is to much hassle for them. The bedroom and bathroom was emaculate not a thing out of place. Well worth it and will definitely be staying again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

A warm welcome back from Dave & Claire, great place to stay close to all amenities & good parking area. Dave's breakfast's are probably the best in Torquay & Claire's home cooked evening meals are fantastic!! All rooms are spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, well equipped, great shower & really comfortable bed. Great atmosphere & nothing too much trouble for Dave & Claire to ensure everyone has a memorable stay. See you again soon, we will definitely be back for more!! Thankyou.

Room Tip: We had executive room 7, but all rooms are of a high standard. No sea views but pleasantly situated. Adults only.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

This place is just lovely. Claire and Dave are just the best hosts. Nothing is too much trouble yet you are left to your own devices. It was super clean, bed was super comfy, room was cool, food was plentiful and of a very high standard. We has the pleasure of breakfast (cooked by dave) and the 4 course evening meal (cooked by Claire) they make a great team making it a lovely place to stay. Rooms serviced daily and if you need it just ask. Well done you two. Keep up the great work!!! See you again soon

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank leighashford1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Mount Edgcombe is a great place to stay! This was our fifth visit and we felt very much at home here again. Dave and Claire always make us very welcome particularly as we have special dietary needs! Dave excelled himself again with his breakfasts and Claire’s evening meals are really great and beautifully presented. Nothing is too much trouble for them, they are so thoughtful! Every room we have stayed in has always been light, airy and comfortable, immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. Our visit was far too short -we look forward to a longer stay next time!

Room Tip: All rooms equally quiet and comfortable
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AlanSut2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews