We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
521
43
10
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
521
43
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews signature suite decanter of sherry on arrival spa bath private terrace family run hotel cooked breakfast deluxe room cold meats wet room welcome drink high standard fantastic stay full english breakfast was amazing small hotel superb hotel
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 576 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We have previously visited this fantastic Hotel as guests. As you drive through the entrance-0trance pillars then message reads " Enter as a guest; Depart as a friend.We so much look forswears too vision albeit for short stays and we believe we have become friends with Vicki Phil and Jody. I have previously posted reviews but it is my sincere belief that the ambience gets stronger every visit. There is a warm greeting with offers of refreshments. There is welcome assistance to carry luggage into the room all of which are of an exceptionally high standard.There is fresh milk and bottled water in the chiller and this is renewed daily, All public rooms are immaculateThere have been changes since Phil and Vicki took over and the latest is the addition if book case and games in the lounge. The rear patio areas have been greatly improved and it is a delight to sit outside be it earl morning in any case or evening. The breakfast standards have been maintained and there is a very pleasant buffet selection. All three are most helpful and will assist with telephone e calls for taxis and advice regarding restaurant choice although we have our favourites and always pass on out thoughts the following day. It washy birthday whilst visiting and although I had not made mention they found out and helped me to enjoy! Thanks to all xxx ! here are plans for further innovations all of which I know will be successful as there is a lot of thought and planning by all concerned.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philondon, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Roger

It is indeed one of the great privileges of the hospitality business that you not only get to meet so many lovely people, but that some of them in time become friends. Of course with that privilege comes the responsibility of not letting your friends down and that is indeed what drives us on to try and make each stay better than the last!

We look forward to seeing you again and in the meantime thank you for your generous comments.

Best wishes from Phil, Vicki, Jody and all the team at TMB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

My wife and I stopped at the Meadfoot Bay hotel for 2 nights, while we celebrated our 40th anniversary in and around Torquay. The hotel is a small boutique type hotel. Our room was lovely with a very large en-suite bathrrom. Ours didn’t have a bath (only shower), but this was fine with us. The décor throughout the hotel is nicely done and has a chic feel to it. The guy on reception was very welcoming and helpful, and always seemed to be available.

Breakfast is served in a small bright dining room, and there are some nice alternatives to the traditional cooked English breakfast. The food was nicely cooked and hot when served.

The hotel is only a few minutes walk from Meadfoot beach, and about a 15 minute walk into the centre of Torquay, although the walk back to the hotel is all up hill.

I would recommend this hotel, and will definitely stop there again if we visit the area.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philondon, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us for your special anniversary and that you enjoyed our breakfast too!

Our location a few minutes from Meadfoot Bay does indeed mean an uphill walk from the town centre, but that's true of so much of Torquay being built on seven hills, just like Rome! It's good though that taxis cost just a fiver or less to whisk you back to your bed here at the bay if you don't fancy walking your dinner off (which is another temptation of our location, that being that most of Torquay's finest restaurants are but a 15 minute walk away).

We do hope you will be tempted to return to the English Riviera in the not too distant future and when you you can be certain a warm welcome awaits here at the Bay.

Best wishes from Phil, Vicki, Jody and all the TMB team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

This little jem is a haven of peace and tranquillity. The decor is very good and also relaxing. The breakfast buffet is not the largest but it is very good. My only problem was we were late booking and had a very good room but a very small bathroom. It was not the end of the world, but when we return, and we will it will be a larger bathroom. The owners were charming and nothing was too much trouble. My wife and I stay in hotels in excess of 150 nights a year, from 6 star downwards. I wish all were like this.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception M, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Michael

So pleased you both enjoyed your stay here at our haven at the Bay and many thanks indeed for the generous review. When it comes to selecting a room from the wide choice we have available, we would always recommend that, if at all possible, guests call us direct in order that can find them the perfect match for their personal preferences as all our rooms are individual and therefore vary in shape and size.

In the meantime we hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to TMB on your next trip to Torquay.

With best wishes from Phil, Vicki, Jody and all the team at Meadfoot Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We arrived on the 3rd August for two nights as it was our wedding anniversary- what can I say everything was perfect, we had a superior room which was fantastic and so bright & exceptionally clean, the main part of the hotel was also to a very high standard, decor was fantastic, breakfast was lovely with everything you could wish for, what was also a treat was the bar on an evening where you could have something to eat & relax, we had the rustic cheese board & can’t wait to return to try more, thank you for a wonderful stay & we could have easily stayed longer!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BevGulwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Bev - well we're all chuffed here that we were able to make your anniversary extra special. We're also pleased to be able to tell you that in October we've got a special three nights for the price of two offer, so you could stay longer for less!!

Plus we're extending our bar menu to offer more hot food choices so hopefully another reason to come and dip your toes in the Bay!.

Looking forward to seeing you both again soon and thanks for taking the time to pen your review. It is much appreciated.

Best wishes from Phil, Vicki, Jody and all the team at Meadfoot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

My parents stayed at the meadfoot for four nights . They couldn’t praise the hotel enough . They arrived and had tea and cake and were shown to their room . They said the room was spotlessly clean and decorated beautifully . There was water supplied and tea and coffee. The bathroom was huge and once again spotless
The public areas of the hotel were beautifully decorated
The breakfast was very well presented and lots of choice every day
My parents stayed at the hotel for two evening snacks and drinks and said the food was really well priced and excellent quality
The outdoor area was lovely to sit for evening drinks and the lounge area had a selection of games should you wish to play

The owners of the hotel were very friendly and the service offered by the meadfoot was excellent

A perfect find & they can’t wait to visit again
Thankyou for making their birthday break so special

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank castledine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philondon, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Well we can't wait for them to come again! So pleased we helped their birthday treat live up to expectations. It's what we're for after all!

With very best wishes from Phil, Vicki, Jody and all the team at The Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews