We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food .service and location”
Review of Babbacombe Inn

Babbacombe Inn
Ranked #39 of 307 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cold beer, great food and a very warm welcome. Fantastic pub and restaurant located on the stunning Babbacombe Downs with views out to sea across the bay. Beer garden and fully air conditioned restaurant. Entertainment every Friday and Saturday evenings. Quiz Night every Monday
Reviewed 7 September 2021

We had driven out from Paignton just to have a look at the village and walk along the downs. Decided to have a drink and a snack mid afternoon. It was busy but not overcrowded. On arrival told to select a table and it was table service and card payment only. The staff friendly efficient and kept the tables clear and cleaned. The cider was perfect cool and refreshing the cheesecake was fantastic. The next day we came back for a sizzling steak [ Health warning : the metal plate was very hot]

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidjmakinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

After an initial misunderstanding about our booking the 5 of us were finally seated in the restaurant. The main courses came promptly and were delicious (the braised beef was to die for).
As this was an 86th birthday celebration they brought us ballons and put a candle in the birthday boys sticky toffee pudding dessert and sang him 'happy birthday', a fantastic touch which we all appreciated greatly.
I would like to give a special mention to our lovely waitress Jodie, who looked after us and made us all feel that little bit special throughout our visit, many thanks.
I would recommend the Babbacombe Inn to everyone for there good food n great service .

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank neilwallace1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2021 via mobile

The inn was heaving with diners and every table appeared bustling and taken bar one when my friend and I descended here 7 pm midweek in late August. Neighbouring venues we passed by en route were not so popular so we were glad to be allocated their only free table after we briefly waited to be seated.

“ Just drinks” was our intention and we were duly served a bottle of wine and soft ones in a matter of minutes despite how busy the army of servers were presenting food to packed tables.

Circa 90 minutes later the diners dispersed and we appreciated how quiet and serene the location gad become during nightfall on the Downs. As dusk fell outstanding views of Lyme Bay faded into the darkness and colourful string bulbed lights which framed the grassy lawns nearby illuminated the night enhancing the ambiance further.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank KLEINSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2021

we visited here a couple of times for drinks and for food on our last night of our stay. the staff were brilliant and the food was 10 out of 10 and a beautiful location.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2021

Managed to get a table without booking. and mostly enjoyed the meals
The scampi and gammon were tasty, although the chips were bland, but the steak sandwich was let down by tastless slaw and the spag bol was way too salty (not sure why it would be salty - bizarre).
The service was great - all the meals and drinks were prompt, staff were polite and friendly and all orders were accurate.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ScuzzaInWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Babbacombe Inn also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Babbacombe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.