We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,256)
Filter reviews
1,256 results
Traveller rating
518
476
170
56
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
518
476
170
56
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games room starlight lounge ten pin bowling aztec bistro entertainment team kb sounds alberts bar indoor bowls star hotel other hotels family hotel land train evening entertainment great facilities steam room swimming pool leisure facilities
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 1,256 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

such a great family holiday .. great hotel lodes to do with children indoor swimming pool out door play area..
staff very friendly and can't do enough for you..
you won't be disappointed

entertainment staff are excellent.. every evening is different

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank raffiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Generally the food and room stanfarf was pretty good .We were particulary impressed with the Line dancing provided by Mr Chris Jackson who was very welcoming and an excellent instructor Monday eb=vening and Wed day suited beginners with an advanced class on Tuesday evening and an improver on Thursday evening--But don`t rely on the entertainment programme for info better to approach Chris direct

Room Tip: Avoid front of hotel as traffic noise is horrendous
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gandj2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed taking part in Chris' line dancing classes.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We had a really lovely stay at The Derwent. We were part of a cricket tour. The hotels facilities were really great. We had a room at the back which we heard from others in our party was much quieter then a room on the front. What makes this hotel stand out from others I've stayed in is how clean it was both the room and the surrounding facilities were immaculate. The pools are lovely and clean too. We only had one meal in the restaurant which was nice but quite pricey.

My only improvement would be breakfast -the food is very high quality but they stop serving at 9:45 which is early considering we're on holiday. It would be improved if it was extended to 10:30.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank lucysmith91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to hear you found the room and facilities to be immaculate. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We went as a party of 12 to celebrate my Sister and Brother in Laws Golden Wedding.
What an excellent hotel. Lovely clean rooms excellent staff and couldn't find fault with anything Rooms were warm but fans were provided. Would be even better if air conditioning installed. Food was excellent.
The waitress on our table was Ewelina and she could not have been more helpful nothing was too much trouble and she was exceptional with the four youngsters in our party all under 6

Room Tip: Twin rooms are bigger than the doubles but all rooms are good.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank glanyrafon2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Thank you for your kind review. I hope your Sister and Brother in Law had a very happy Golden Wedding Anniversary. I have passed your lovely comments regarding Ewelina onto the Restaurant Manager.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Another great week at the Derwent Hotel. There has been more improvements since last summer but they could have added air con in the updated Med Bar. Excellent service from the staff and great value. Things to do all day and all evening. On a less positive note, the breakfast is now all self service and is really chaotic. Lots of queuing and does give the feeling of disarray. Waiting staff are on hand so it would make sense to give them some of the control back.. Fab entertainment from K B Sounds - always a winner. He could entertain every night and fill the ballroom each time. :)

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you found the self-service breakfast to be chaotic. On the whole we have received positive feedback as the new breakfast stations give guests the flexibility of choosing as much or as little as they want. Our restaurant staff are still on hand to offer assistance where needed.

I am pleased you enjoyed the entertainment provided by KB Sounds and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews