We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent tour of Cornwall

James is an excellent tour guide who provided us with a day full of Cornish history, beautiful... read more

Reviewed 26 July 2020
A3569NNpatriciak
Four Day Tour of Cornwall

My wife and I did a second tour with James and it was another exceptional experience. His... read more

Reviewed 3 February 2020
Macdsm
Read all 126 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Plymouth
from US$19.77
More Info
from US$1,673.39
More Info
from US$232.90
More Info
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
125
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
125
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private tour historical stories port issac mines james cornwall sights tailored pubs tin
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2019

Tim was our guide for the fourth day of our Cornwall/Devon tour. Tim’s knowledge of Plymouth and especially the history of the Barbican district was impressive. Tim tailored the tour to our specific interests. It was a pleasure spending our last day in Plymouth with such a pleasant guide.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank SophiesMom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SelectSouthWestTours, Owner at Select South West Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2019

Really pleased you enjoyed your day with Tim! Thanks very much for your lovely review
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2019

My friend and I enjoyed 3 days touring Cornwall and Devon with Kimberley as our guide. As two women we appreciated having a woman as our tour guide. Not only is Kimberley the most competent driver we’ve ever seen but her knowledge and enthusiasm made our trip even more enjoyable.
As a tour guide, she was unusually attentive to our individual needs and likes. When we return to England we would definitely request Kimberley to be our guide.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank OnAir620403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SelectSouthWestTours, Owner at Select South West Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2019

Thank you for your kind words, and lovely comments about your tour with Kimberley. I am delighted you enjoyed the trip so much, and that she was able to give you a memorable experience.
Many thanks
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2019 via mobile

My friends and I wanted a personalized small tour focusing on the location sites of Poldark and Doc Martin. We got exactly what we wanted and so much more from James Coulton’s Select South West Tours. James was a fountain of information on the history of the area, especially the mining industry that figures in the Poldark stories. The location sites provided the opportunity for us to learn in depth about what it was like during the Industrial Revolution for the miners and associated workers in Cornwall. It was a fascinating history lesson. We also learned much about Plymouth where, among many others, both the Pilgrims’ Mayflower and Darwin’s Beagle departed for the New World. Lunch stops featured interesting local food in a pub the first day and a tea room the second. Cornwall and Devon can be windy and rainy, but that did not diminish James’ enthusiasm or ours. If you want a personalized, individually designed, bespoke tour of these historic and beautiful areas, go with James.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank annthelibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SelectSouthWestTours, Owner at Select South West Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I was delighted to show you around our beautiful area, and am so pleased you enjoyed the two days, I had a great time as well!

Many thanks
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2019

We spent a wonderful day with Tim who collected us from our hotel in Exeter and took us to Plymouth for a morning full of history, sightseeing and excellent local knowledge. Stopped for scrumptious scones & tea at the Tudor Rose before more exploring around Plymouth harbour. We lunched in Plymonth at the Jolly Jack Restaurant (delicious food & great service) before heading to Princetown and the moors. Although cold & blustery it was fascinating - Tim continued to entertain us with his knowledge and good humour - an excellent guide who made the day more enjoyable than expected. Definitely recommend this company - exceptional value for money. Thank you.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank JW1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SelectSouthWestTours, Owner at Select South West Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2019

Thank you so much. I am delighted you enjoyed your tour with Tim, and that he was able to exceed your expectations. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your kind review.

Best Wishes
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2019 via mobile

We booked 3 personalised day trips with Select South West Tours (James as guide) and really enjoyed all of them.  James clearly knows the Cornwall and Devon areas well and the vehicle provided (Mercedes van) was ideal - plenty of room and large windows for great viewing.  James was a pleasure to spend time with and the areas he showed us were picturesque and interesting.  His historical knowledge (for example of Cornish tin mining) added a real dimension to these trips.  Highly recommend.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank JanineJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SelectSouthWestTours, Owner at Select South West Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2019

Thanks so much for your lovely review. I am delighted I was able to enhance your trip and that you enjoyed the tours so much..I had a great time as well.
Kind regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews