We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant find - a beautifully appointed...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ebrington House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Plymouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
lauriea_2...
2 reviews
“Nice place, very central location however no information given”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The apartment is very nice and perfect for a short break. It could have been cleaner but I have high standards. There was a lot of dust and sticky marks on the floor. Some of the dishes were also not clean. It could overall do with a bit of TLC and a lick of paint.

The apartment was very difficult to find and is surrounded by shops, it doesn't help that we were given no address or directions to find the property. At the back there is parking however there is no sign to say that it is for this apartment block. The photo of the front door must have been taken a while ago as it looks rather run down and again could do with some TLC.

The apartment is in a block of 5 flats and this one is on the second to top with a lot of narrow staircases.

Overall if you want a inexpensive place to stay that is Central I would definatly recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2015
Thank you for your review of my apartment in Ebrington House and I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your recent short stay.

I have checked with the Holiday Lettings website through whom you booked directly and they have confirmed that the full address of Ebrington House was provided following your balance payment along with key collection arrangements and my full contact details which should have avoided any confusion.

The photos were taken by a professional photographer in the summer of 2014 and although the apartment is located on the second floor of the building the staircase is of a standard width.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to Ebrington House again in the future and thank you once again for your positive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlineBoun...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Brilliant find - a beautifully appointed apartment, centrally located.”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I needed somewhere central to stay in Plymouth while my son settled into university life and this was such a lovely place - far nicer than a hotel room!

It was a little hard to spot the house first time, as it's set back from the rest of the shops a little, and I was driving alone, but what a find! It's almost opposite the Sainsbury's local and there's a car space at the back - another plus.

The (2nd floor) apartment is spacious, tastefully furnished (leather sofas and modern glass dining table), and the kitchen has everything you could possibly need, including dishwasher and washing machine, not that I used them in a 2 night stay. TV and Wi-Fi provided.
The bedroom was comfy, spacious and had iron and ironing board, hairdryer...I mean, nothing was missing!
Highly recommend this apartment - it was my first visit to Plymouth and it was nice to be able to look out of the window and get a sense of where I was (very close to the shopping mall and the university.)
The owner was extremely helpful - (I got confused as it was the weekend all the students were arriving, so some roads were not accessible, but luckily the one I needed was fine) he talked me through which street I needed to access the back of the building, and where the car parking was.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall look and style of the apartment.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiefBosu...
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Ebrington House can be a little hard to find, but once you are in Ebrington St, if you find Sainsbury's and look across the street, it's behind the black iron railings. If you have trouble, just call the owner, and he will patiently give you directions. Twice, in my case!

The apartment is up three flights of stairs, but is very well lit and not cluttered by pushchairs, bicycles etc.

The apartment is very well laid out, and most importantly, very clean. All the mod cons, including dishwasher, are included in the kitchen area.

The lounge is very cosy, and warm. Two comfy leather sofas, and dining room table and chairs. One of the things I always like to check, being a movie fan, is if the TV has USB/HDMI connections, so that I can plug in portable hard drive. It doesn't have them. Not the end of the world, as the owner has left a small selection of DVD's. There is wifi available, at no extra cost.

It's a 5-10 min walk into the main shopping area, but if you just want a sub, there's a Subway and kebab shop right next door, or Tesco Metro a couple minutes walk. There is a pub right across the street, with a Wine Bar 50m past that.

The bathroom is a good size, and the shower/bath is just about right. Hair dryer and iron are stored in the bedroom wardrobe.

The bedroom is a very good size, with a CD/alarm clock next to the bed.

If I had to make one change to this otherwise superb apartment, it would have to be the bed. It was a little to low for me, and creaked whenever I moved. That said, it was comfortable, none the less!

Parking out the back is a bit tight if you have a large vehicle. There is rear access to the property, which adds another flight of stairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped
Liked least: The bed
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ERIC G
PORTLAND, OREGON
1 review
“3 week stay in 2009 - 4 week stay in 2011 - 3 week stay in 2013, what more can I say”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Stephen Newell, A most generous and accommodating man. My first trip in 2009 he was most factual about Plymouth and gave me an incredible "man-about-town" review. I could never have found all the places I visited without his knowledge. The apartment was wonderful. try finding a hotel for the price of the apt "not possible". Well yes you can but would be a lousy hotel. To have an apartment versus a hotel room, what more could I ask for.
Obviously I like the place otherwise I would not have been there 3 times in 6 years. Oh yes, I live in the USA thus a trip to England is every other year. I will be back in 2015, to celebrate my 75th birthday lol. The apartment is so central , I enjoy walking and thus was very happy to find places so close to the apt. I love the Plymouth sound and the Barbican and both are within walking distance of the apt. If you have a car, there is space at the back of the apt for parking your car.

Well Stephen I hope this review gives me a free night in 2015, just kidding.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M
Voiron, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: En famille élargie
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing