We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,286)
Filter reviews
1,286 results
Traveller rating
293
419
356
149
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
419
356
149
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre railway station good size secure parking powerful shower standard room twin room one night stay comfy bed full english hoe
Filter
Updating list...
616 - 621 of 1,286 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2015

The good things: The staff on reception. The room was clean and tidy.
So so things; Breakfast there was plenty of it.
Bad things which could be helped, what appeared to be a drunk homeless person who must have been able to wander in and sit down and get some breakfast who was loud to say the least and would not leave anyone staff or guests alone? either that or he was a very drunk guest who should have been asked to leave in either case.
Bad things which could not be helped the noise from the demolition site next door which started at 8 am.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2015

Dear Dale H,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality.

Please accept our apology for the behaviour of one of our other guests at breakfast. I would wholeheartedly agree that that it is unacceptable and trust that my staff dealt with the situation appropriately.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

The hotel is clean, tidy and comfortable. It is just a little tired and in need of some modernization.

The staff were very helpful and friendly... finding the car park was a little trick though!

The price is very reasonable especially considering the central location.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2015

Dear Chell S,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

We trust that you will stay with us again on your return to Plymouth.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Stayed here for a graduation . Ate dinner in the restaurant the first night , food was plenty , good quality and variety . Breakfast again was great , loads to choose from . Bed rooms spacious and comfy . Beds clean , with very fresh covers , nice white linen. Really nice hotel . Only downside was parking , but as this is a city centre hotel , its expected . We managed to fit in the underground car park , so didn't have to park in supermarket opposite .

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zola1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

Dear Zola1961,

Thank you for your valuable and positive feedback received. We sincerely appreciate your superb compliments and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for any future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night (7th Oct) on business.

I arrived fairly late so I had room service which arrived hot and was pleasant.

All staff I came in contact with were friendly and professional. The room was on the ground floor and a little noisy though

Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
Thank jdb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

Dear jdb80,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

Please accept my apology for any noise disturbance but I am delighted to note that it did not detract from your overall enjoyment.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Plymouth.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015 via mobile

This hotel is a throw back to the 80s and doesn't look like it's been decorated since then. On entering the room I was instantly hit with a smell of damp. The bathroom has two 20w lamps one either side of the mirror. There is no natural light and no other lighting in the room. This makes the bathroom dingy and if using the over bath shower you may wish to consider a headtorch as light will be further reduced when you draw the shower curtain.

A new curtain and curtains had been installed but the old rail support was still evident and dirt was engrained in the artexed roof where a boxed pelmet once resided. The wallpaper was marked in several places and was peeling away in places.

You could be excused for thinking it was a work in progress. Sadly I think that's the extent of the overhaul.

Not somewhere I would wish to return to with budget hotels offering a more refined product.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
Thank geosword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

Dear geosword,

Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay.

Please accept my apology for your disappointment with various aspects of our hotel; specifically the decor and lighting in the room and the remnants of the curtain replacement. I can assure you that this is not our usual standard - the curtains in all of our rooms were replaced last week and any residual marking is being rectified as we complete our rooms.

I can assure you that the entire decor of the hotel is being addressed over the next 18 month period and I would hope that on a future visit you will note the various improvements.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews