We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$118
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$118
PricelineUS$118
Trip.comUS$138
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,904)
Filter reviews
1,904 results
Traveller rating
873
479
308
157
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
873
479
308
157
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews magdalen chapter eye hospital spa treatments mini bar deluxe room public car park limited parking nespresso machine pay and display eggs benedict city centre bar area cooked breakfast hdv bath cathedral quay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,904 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2021

Marked down simply as it's not cheap at £250+ per night. The team were helpful on check-in, the rooms a good level and the food very good. Parking is chargeable at a nearby public car park - surely the hotel could cover this cost? I will visit again when next in the area.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra Austin, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2021

Thank you for your feedback. Appreciate your comments, with the rates reflecting the very high occupancy rates throughout the county, especially during the summer of the Staycation. Due to the limited parking onsite, we do charge. For future reference, the car park across the road is complimentary from 6.00pm - 8.00am daily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2021

We arranged to stay for a few days at this hotel in mid August. They were very short staffed due to the pingdemic but I am aware how this has affected so many hospitality venues that I cannot criticise them for simply doing their best with minimal staff. Despite the situation all the staff that we interacted with were very efficient and friendly. The breakfast on the first day was limited due to staff shortages but on the second day it was a cooked breakfast which was very good. Staff shortages dictated that we were unable to book a meal in the Bistro but there are lots of eating options very close by. We had a room at the top with balconies and it was very comfortable and spacious. The hotel car parking is limited but there is a car park 2 minutes away which is £13 for 24 hours. Exeter is a interesting place to look around.

Date of stay: August 2021
Thank NWPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra Austin, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2021

Many thanks for your review, both helpful and comprehensive. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in spite of the issues at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2021 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Hotel for a Spa and treatment day and I must say we were very impressed. The staff were all fantastic. The hotel has a great feel, stylish and friendly atmosphere. The spa and pool was great, nice and warm pool too!
We both had 2 treatments each, by ‘Charleen and Emily’ who were both very friendly, made us feel relaxed, at ease and are amazing at what they do. We didn’t feel rushed and they were very professional.
We will definitely be returning in the near future.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Batmanbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra Austin, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2021

Thank you very much, your comments have been shared with the spa team, and especially Charlene and Emily, who are so happy you were pleased with their skills. We really look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2021

We (my wife and a family friend) didn't have much opportunity to take advantage of the hotel's facilities, but we certainly spent enough time interacting with the manager and her team (front desk, bar/restaurant and housekeeping) to judge ourselves qualified to comment. The service, assistance and local guidance we received from all with whom we interacted at the hotel was not only friendly, but so too helpful. An issue with a guest parking in our reserved slot (not the hotel's fault as my name and reservation was very clearly marked) was professionally, quickly and effectively resolved by the front desk. And when told by the hotel's restaurant staff that all tables were fully booked they made constructive suggestions on alternatives in the area and actually took the trouble to call local restaurants to help us find a place to eat. These are but two of a number of positive and proactive direct interactions we enjoyed with hotel staff. As a third party and onlooker, I was particularly impressed with the diplomatic and efficient way one of the staff dealt with the need to temporarily remove an inconsiderate guest and their very irritating and ill-behaved loudly barking dog from the small lobby. In fact, if I was going to make any complaint at all it would be around the hotel's policy of allowing dogs to stay. But keeping to my review. The room in which we stayed was extremely clean, stylishly (but not overdone) appointed, high ceilinged and well ventilated and the bed very comfortable. What a pleasure to be able to open windows to allow the circulation of fresh air! The same can be said of the large en-suite with combined bath/shower facilities and generous benchtop space to place personal toiletries etc. The office table and workspace were small, but nonetheless still more than adequate. Powerpoint numbers and access throughout the room were also perfect. Wifi and the TV too worked perfectly. No wifi interruptions and no weak signal at any time during our stay. Tea and coffee facilities (inc. coffee espresso machine and kettle) were more than adequate and stocks were properly and generously replenished daily (loved those tea biscuits and the Ferrero Rocher). Housekeeping did an excellent job of maintaining their obvious commitment to the highest standards of cleanliness throughout our stay and were friendly, empathetic and accommodating when my wife asked the feather pillows and duvet be replaced due to a mild allergic reaction. My only "complaints" (but this will not stop us from staying here again on our next Exeter trip) were (i) a little more wardrobe hanging space would have been nice and (ii) a better mirror placement solution in the bathroom (good luck with that suggestion as I do recognize the design of the building will make finding a solution very challenging).

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra Austin, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2021

Apologies for not having responded earlier to your most comprehensive review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I thank you most kindly for the lovely comments relating to the team, they are most appreciated. I am happy to advise that we start a rooms refurbishment in January and the wardrobes (or lack of them) is one of the points being addressed, so watch this space! looking forward to welcoming you back on another occasion very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

No parking space although I booked one .
No lemonade as wedding at the weekend emptied them !
No non alcoholic beer
Ran out of vinegar for the chips
Ran out of new potatoes at8pm to go with the fish dish
Had to send the steak back to be cooked properly red raw in the middle !
Not at all impressed

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank crag789
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra Austin, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2021

Extremely sorry that this was your experience of our hotel, it is certainly not our normal standard of service. Your comments have been shared with the team and we certainly take them on board and will strive to get this right going forward. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews