We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveller rating
260
202
104
51
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
260
202
104
51
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly hotel comfy bed family room exeter city motorway tlc junction
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 690 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2021 via mobile

Staff weren’t all bad lady with blue hair was really kind but owner had friends in being horrible about guests and telling them not to eat the food rooms were uncomfortable and all appliances were not pat tested since 2016. would not return felt unwelcoming from owner and daughter stayed 3 nights when asked if food was microwaved argument between owner who tried to lie and staff. shame as if the owner stayed away and left it to the other staff members you would have a much better experience but as the owner said me not coming back is hardly going to bankrupt her so if that sits well with you then go or just overlook it and speak to the two amazing staff they have. didn’t get their names but the lady with blue hair and the other woman behind the bar they deserve better

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ADAMdavidCOTTER123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2021

We stayed here to break up a long drive to Cornwall, and stayed here for 1 night, we were given a room in the coach house. A very clean room and shower over the bath with plenty of hot water.
The receptionist was very pleasant We were very taken by the décor in the reception area. They have some lovely paintings on the walls all around
. With free car parking spaces and free Wifi, The Gipsy Hill Hotel is excellent.
Breakfast was table service with a chosen time slot and a hot English breakfast with cereals and toast, all nice and fresh
We would recommend this hotel and certainly stay here again if we traveled this way

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank delighted05
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2021 via mobile

Stayed overnight on business in the Coach House bit. Room was fine. Had a drink in the bar and enjoyed the nice evening weather on the terrace outside. Breakfast was still table service with a chosen time slot and was good. Handy for Exeter city centre on the train if you walk 15-20 mins to Pinhoe station, which I did to go for dinner as other than the hotel there is nothing nearby.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank pabster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2021 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on 09/07/2021 pulling up to hotel I was impressed it was an ideal location and looked appealing. The grounds are lovely with great views.
However the positives ended there. The room was very dated with poor decor, it was tired with patched up wallpaper and peeling paintwork. The sash windows looked like they were rotten the paint had peeled back to the wood and covered in cobwebs. The bathroom had mould on the ceiling and taps with hairs and dust on the shelf. I had a family room but I was disappointed to find the room had campbeds instead of beds.
Overpriced and grubby

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank X2351PVnicolaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2021

We stayed here to break up a long drive to Cornwall, we didn’t arrive till 10 o’clock in the evening and the staff could not be more helpful. Greeted us on arrival with an understanding of why we were late. The room was very clean and exactly what we needed, breakfast was good and a lot of choice. The staff are a real credit to the hotel.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 949lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews