We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic.. Worth Every Penny”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blackdown Barn

Summer fun! The pool is a stone's throw from the barn.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Summer fun! The pool is a stone's throw from the barn.
Massive 100 sq.m living space creating a sense of freedom with windows looking into the woods. Blackdown Barn, with pool in foreground.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Summer fun! The pool is a stone's throw from the barn.
Massive 100 sq.m living space creating a sense of freedom with windows looking into the woods.
Blackdown Barn, with pool in foreground.
Our gorgeous chunk of solid elm provides a wonderful dining area seating 12.
Watch TV,  movies or play games in our 55' LG Smart TV lounge area with Blueray Home Theatre sy
Relax, retro style, with a great selection of traditional board games to enjoy.
Enjoy reading? Relax with a book or work on your laptop in our library zone. Wifi.
Master Bedroom/Family Room with french doors facing swimming pool.
French day bed in the Master/Family Bedroom. Suitable for adult or child.
Twin room with extra wide French single beds - suit adults or children. Can join to Master Bed.
Double bedroom with door leading to en suite shower room.
Family Bathroom.
40 sq.m galleried mezzanine games room with 7ft pool table - great relaxation area.
Need to work off some of those pub lunches? Our spacious mezzanine gym is just the trick.
Fully equipped kitchen with 2 hobs/ovens, microwave, washer dryer, fridge freezer and more.
Our funky much loved Smeg fridge freezer!
Fantastic 55' smart TV to enjoy with Blueray Home Cinema system.
Hand chosen unique pieces of furniture & original artwork are found throughout this property.
Secluded gardens available for use.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gift O
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic.. Worth Every Penny”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed at the barn for three days with my friends. It was a lovely experience. The owners were really helpful and nice to me and my friends. The place was clean and classy, The pool was nice and warm, Winnie the Pony and the dog were happy to see us as well. The owners provided way more than we needed. It was luxury all round. Thank you Michaela &Fam for being so hospitable during our stay, would be back soon. Highly recommended :D

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jkbulldog
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful barn, everything you need included, highly recommended.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Wonderful barn for our large family gathering to celebrate a special occasion. Everything you can think of was included plus a generous welcoming hamper and essentials on our arrival such as milk and butter! More than home from home with luxury items such as duvets, towels, black out curtains, a large Smeg fridge, slow cooker, even separate towels for the swimming pool all included. Lovely grounds to use which we made the most of playing football and cricket, owners didn't even mind us setting off a few fireworks. It was so nice and the weather was on our side, we rarely went out but if you do, we recommend Broadhembury with delightful thatched roofs and Powerderham Castle (about 30 mins away). Local Tesco up the road so no need to leave this place once you get there. The family want to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PK85
Portsmouth, England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT! Don't waste time looking further, Blackdown Barn has it all!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Blackdown Barn for a week with five friends – the intention being a short break away from work life and our significant others, enjoy each other’s company and generally ‘chill out’.

The previous glowing reviews already speak for Blackdown Barn, and the photos certainly do the place justice - sure enough we were not disappointed. The barn itself was fantastic – the layout is superb, very spacious, tastefully furnished and very comfortable (specifically the beds and the ample seating options), excellent facilities (the pool table and gym on the separate mezzanine levels) and a great TV set up (brilliant for watching the World Cup!).

If the barn itself wasn’t enough, there was the added bonus of the heated swimming pool and bbq area and also the large garden (or rather, small field) that was less than a stone’s throw from the barn itself, which gave plenty of room to kick a football around and play Frisbee. We spent a lot of time in these two areas, taking advantage of the weather.

All in all, a really great set up, and having searched for similar ‘venues’ across England, I’m convinced they don’t come much better than this given the budget and amenities.

The barn was spotless upon arrival and the owners very kindly provided a welcome basket of various goodies, which were very well received! Thank you Michaela and your family for the opportunity to stay at your wonderful barn - I would not hesitate to recommend it to others, and definitely hope to return again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann W
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place for a fun holiday”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was just the perfect place for all of us to stay for my son's wedding in Cullompton, excellent facilities with space for entertaining so many people, indoors and out, the pool is great to add to the fun.

Everything has been thought of to make your stay so memorable, the indoor games and gym facilities were a huge success. All ages in our party loved it, the creature comforts too, the beds were 'like sleeping on clouds!!'

Staying at Blackdown Barn added so much to the delight of the wedding surrounded by family and friends, we had a wedding and a fabulous holiday too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything from the swimming pool to the divine beds!
Liked least: The rain, nothing else!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing