We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Trevillett Mill

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tintagel, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah H
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tranquil getaway”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in September 2013

Quiet, comfortable, remote, beautiful building, fabulous walks down to the sea with our dogs through the trees opening up to the beach where we picked mussels from the rocks. Great memories with friends. One of our best holidays. Dogs give the paws up too!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian P
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Trout Leap cottage was Fantastic”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed in trout leap the 2 bedroom cottage which although on the road, there was little traffic. The garden was completely secure for our 2 dogs, only gravel but our dogs did not mind this. (There is some grass for doggy toileting across the road or down the driveway to other cottages) The cottage was very clean (particularly the bathrooms) and well stocked with kitchen supplies, everything you need to self cater for a week or more. The scones and tea provided were delicious (literally the best scones we have ever tasted!) we also brought our own charcoal and used the BBQ one evening which was great. And there is a lovely wood burner inside for cosy evenings inside.

Rocky Valley was beautiful, must make sure you have decent shoes/boots on, would not advise this walk in flip flops! Surrounding area's were beautiful particularly trebarwith strand (we parked in free quarry carpark and walked footpaths to coast path then dropped down to the beach) this was perfect for the dogs to spend hours playing and we had amazing sandwiches for lunch at the port william pub looking over beautiful view.

We also enjoyed boscastle (few minutes drive from trout leap) and port issac (car parking very limited so go early or late in the day)

Would thoroughly recommend this cottage, was very good for the dogs and loved all the walking guides / maps provided to find suitable walks.

(We also walked dogs in Cardinham woods in Bodmin moor and thoroughly enjoyed it (great for a rainy/ windy day when you don't want to be on clifftop walks)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadgoth F
Worthing
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow - Amazing place”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a tremendous time at Trevittett Mill, what a wonderful location and building. From the minute you step into through the front door you are blown away with the place...the snug front room and huge kitchen are excellent as are the beds and bedding in all the rooms (we all slept wonderfully). The garden is huge and follows the stream down, as does the path on the opposite side (and its well worth following the path down to the sea as Rocky Valley is very pretty, esp the abandoned mill just down the stream)...

We all thought the central heating is haunted as it comes on and off on its own, but what do you expect in a house this old, was never cold (and we loved the wood burner in the snug)...Wifi is a bit limited to the front of the house, bit slow if you want to stream movies and you wont get a signal in any of the bedrooms (but hey you are on holiday, time to put the computer and phone away and pick up a book, and there are loads of books to read in the mill, together with a good selection of DVDs).

We found it to be child friendly, but ours are well behaved, so were very happy for them to run around the garden (supervised)...one of the bed rooms has some impressive mill stones in it, but they were not a problem for our little one (they became beds for dollys)...the playroom is well stocked and our little one loved it, but would not leave her alone as its at the top of a steep flight of steps, and a little away from the main part of the house...that said we loved it...

The road down to the mill is steep but so is most of Cornwall, car port at the bottom was great and we had plenty of room park and to store our top box (that I didnt want to drive around with all week)

Good comms with the owners and a full pack of stuff when you arrive (together with a cream tea)...

Overall, classy location, the mill is full of character and we will be back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P P
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is possibly the most amazing place i have ever stayed in this country.
Accommodation is outstanding.
Rocky Valley is enough to keep young kids occupied for a week, the kids spent most of there spare time in the stream!
If you love the outdoors this is the place.
On top of that a couple of secret beaches 20 minutes walk away as well.
The mill has enough space to loose yourself in as well when your in a big group.
All ready thinking of ways to convince everyone to come back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwind2...
Kitchener, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a fabulous place. So much character! So spacious for our large family gathering . We were not on top of each other and enjoyed the large dining table for our evening talks. Spotless throughout..thank you Tracy. Great location and so private. We really hated to leave. Truly, book with confidence...you will not be disappointed. Well worth the trip from Canada..we'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing