We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Atlantic(Carbis Bay)
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$425
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
US$402
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$277
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$420
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Downsfield(Carbis Bay)
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villamorva(St Ives)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cottage Hotel(Carbis Bay)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$420
US$294
roomertravel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,016 results
Traveller rating
456
328
135
63
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
328
135
63
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslighthouse bistrosea viewthe rear car parkdeluxe roomhot buffetbuffet stylelovely hotelbreakfast was excellentporthminster beachwould stay againshort breaktown centrestayed for one nightfamily rooman evening mealfour nightsrailway station
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,016 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

My reservation was cancelled one whole month after I had made a reservation. No reason for the cancellation was given. I had already paid for train tickets which were non refundable. And because they waited so long to cancel my reservation it made finding new accommodation in the same location virtually impossible. Very very disappointed and out of pocket.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Guest
I am very sorry that your reservation with us has been cancelled at such short notice.
The owners of the hotel have sold the business to developers and myself and the staff were only notified of this a couple of weeks ago.
We had a full calendar of reservations along with Wedding & function bookings, throughout 2018 and into 2019, which we have had to notify of this information
Many reservations were made through a 3rd party whom have simply cancelled the bookings without giving the information they were asked to provide.
The reception team have had to explain the situation to 100's of disappointed guests and to make the calls directly to those who had booked direct with us
Not only have myself and the staff had to address the frustrations of all our guests that have had their reservations cancelled but also at the same time come to terms with the prospect of un-employment and an uncertain future
We have ensured that all guests staying at the hotel these past couple of weeks, and those that will be with us up to 31st May, have had the same standard of service and hospitality that we have strived to achieve over the past few years - to which kindly many guests have complimented the staff on their happy and helpful manner at such a hard time for them
I myself have worked with the reception team to speak with guests whose reservations have had to be cancelled and I believe we have dealt with everyone in a kind and understanding professional manner ensuring we have offered suggestions of alternative accommodation to the best of our ability

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

We stayed at the hotel for a reunion - there were 17 of us and we were very well looked after.

Our room was comfortable and large and had lovely sea views. There was a lot of choice at breakfast - something for everyone - hot or cold - it was all very tasty.

Our black tie dinner was really well catered for - the food was delicious and well presented and the staff coped extremely well with our numerous rituals.

All in all a really good weekend at this comfortable, clean and friendly hotel.

Well done and thank you to all the staff!!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have wonderful sea views
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madrongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you for your kind remarks
myself and the staff are please that your event went as expected and that you all enjoyed the food and hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We were here between Christmas and New Year visiting for a friends birthday, although the hotel is in a good situation the rear car park is very difficult to access. We arrived and check in was very courteous and speedy the receptionist explained where our room was, it is a maze of corridors.
The room was clean and there seemed to be everything you needed, however we found the room on the cold side, the heaters where behind floor to ceiling curtains in under a huge window so the heat was trapped behind the curtains and did not get into the room.
The bathroom was clean and again everything you need but the shower cubicle seemed a bit small.
Breakfast was very good a buffet style with something for everyone and it seemed pretty fresh, there was one lady in the dining room who was very nice and explained everything to you so you where not left wondering what to do.
All in all for what we paid it was value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank suebert-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Let's start with the bad points. This is a nice hotel but is a bit dated in places and some of the fixtures and fittings are a bit down market. Cheap plastic kettles in the rooms and cheap vinyl in the en suite. Some of the double glazed windows had blown and overall there was a bit of TLC needed. However don't let this put you off as overall the hotel is very good, not excellent but very good.

It is warm and comfortable and the staff do try hard to make sure that your stay is a good one. Our room was spacious and quite well equipped and had a great view. Facilities were good for a small hotel and there was ample parking. Importantly the rooms were also very clean, top marks there.

Breakfast is a bit complicated as you have a choice of a buffet or a cooked meal. Overall fine though and I don't think anyone would really have a complaint.

Try it and see what you think. We would go back but are unlikely to pass that way again.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r2uzenblot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner, the room was simple and lovely, very clean with everything we needed. We didn’t have any problems or complaints whatsoever. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were so friendly and polite. Perfect location only 5/10 minute walk to the beach and shops. Parking was easy too! Would 100% recommend.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank _elliemay844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews