We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #13 of 27 Restaurants in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Visited on a sunny mid afternoon for a drink. Drink prices well over the top and a lukewarm warm welcome from the barmaid who clearly did not want to be there. A so called proper pub that punches above its weight.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank awayfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2018

Ordered burger and chips for my grandson , the burger was burnt
The rest of the food wasn't any better ordered fish chips and peas , peas practically cold
Daughter had lasagne which was crisp on top . And the best part about it was you have to pay before you have your food , so if we complained I don't think they would have given our money back . So will stay away from there in future.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Traditional pub; nice enough décor; welcoming bar staff. The beers we had were okay and good. The wine was distinctly naff. God knows what the cheaper wines tasted like.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Had lunch in here...fish and chips was massive (could have fed 2 people) freshly battered and very tasty. All food was freshly cooked and well presented. Pub is quaint. .steps in and also inside but handholds/rails are sturdy.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We just went into The Ship for drinks in the evening. It is a very pleasant, traditional, country-style pub; cosy, friendly and serving a range of beers. The staff are friendly as are the locals. When we went there was live music. The musicians were not very good but everyone was enjoying themselves and that created a lively atmosphere. We enjoyed our evening there and I doubt if we would have found anywhere as lively elsewhere in the town. They do pub grub, but they had stopped serving when we arrived so I cannot comment on the quality. There is also a beer garden. All in all, a decent pub.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing