We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely holiday”
The exterior of Glencoe, shown with an arrow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The exterior of Glencoe, shown with an arrow
The delightful rear of conservatory with the river Pol running alongside Nearby Looe harbour
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
6 reviews
The exterior of Glencoe, shown with an arrow
The delightful rear of conservatory with the river Pol running alongside
Nearby Looe harbour
Gorgeous Polperro
The sandy East Looe beach
Fowey, a short drive from Polperro and well worth a visit
The pretty 'river room' conservatory off the kitchen
A calming conservatory with wet room en-suite
The modern wet room
The single room
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ms1288
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a lovely stay at Glencoe. We've been coming to Polperro all my life so we have stayed in a lot of the cottages in the village. First time we've stayed with toad hall. Few minor criticisms, the cleaning wasn't brilliant there were a couple of dirty coushins and crumbs on the dining room chairs. Not a big deal for us but if you're a clean freak it might have been. Also there are no instructions on how to put hot water on, there's a boost button in the airing cup board in the bathroom you need to press that at regular intervals (until all the light show). It was however a lovely spacious cottage and amazing sitting in the conservatory listing to the river even on a rainy day. We would definitely stay there again definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pete b
1 review
“Terrible and tired - in need of a makeover”
Reviewed 19 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Walked in and walked out to ask to be reassigned a different cottage. There were none available so after a long drive down from Lancashire we were stuck.

No battery in the fire alarm - one was posted after going back to the office.
Blocked drain in downstairs shower room which I had to unblock after it flooded whilst daughter was using it.
Upstairs bathroom - faulty electrical shower switch, stained old iron bath, faulty toilet flush, rusty fittings, the worse thing was the toilet flush was known to be faulty as they had just put a sticker on the cistern with a workaround - poor poor poor.

'Information' stickers stuck all over the cottage. If you like reading walls this is a place for you. Cleanliness average and the cottage is in dire need of a lick of paint.

There were other issues - lack of cutlery, broken stair gate to upstairs room, information pack out of date to name a few. They agreed to a small token refund after I complained with the issues I had encountered supplying photographic evidence.

Also some of the pubs have different rates for locals and holidaymakers - what a con that is.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Leaving
Liked least: Poor state of upstairs bathroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to write to us of your experiences whilst staying at Glencoe recently.
We are extremely sorry that the property was in no way adequately prepared for your arrival, this is certainly not the welcome which we hope to provide for our guests. The cleanliness issues were sorted at the time by the caretakers, but thank you for making us aware of this.
The bath has been replaced and the cistern repaired since your stay.
The other issues are also being sorted out by the owner.

Once again, our apologies for the cleanliness issues of the property and we hope that our small gesture of goodwill went some way to appeasing you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui S
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice cottage but tired and bit grubby”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I have been visiting Polperro each year for many years and always stay in different cottages in the village . Never really had any problems and I understand that the cottages have a fast weekly turnaround especially in high season so proper cleaning could be a problem , but on this occasion the cottage simply was not very clean. The bath was very badly stained ... This was pointed out to Toadhall Cottages staff who informed me it was a priority change , though a past reviewer wrote that the bath was stained in Jan 2014 !!! Some priority !!! Dust and dirt in all corners ... Dead flies in between the double glazing units to several of the windows and the first shower taken in the aforementioned bath revealed literally a handful of previous tenants hairs etc jammed down the bath plug hole .... Gross and simply not acceptable. Plus the bin for outside waste is kept in a locked cupboard next to the wet room ( not got a problem with this as I understand that in this instance there was limited space to store such an item ); however the bin was rammed full of the previous holiday makers rubbish and stunk to high heaven ! Again Toadhall were informed of this but didn't seem too concerned.
On the plus side though the cottage is well situated not far from the harbour and was well appointed with kitchen items . All in all a nice holiday but could have been much improved with a cleaner place to stay. I'm surprised really because I have always stayed in cottages provided by Toadhall and previously have found them to be excellent.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparkles1...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed the last week of the school holidays Aug 2015. We are a family of five, two adults, an 8,7 and 3 year old and the cottage was perfect for us. It is small but that's the nature of the cottages in Polperro. It's perfectly located within Polperro and was warm and cosy. I'd advise anyone to make sure they are familiar with Polperro in general, it isn't everyone's cup of tea and can be busy during peak times. We rented a parking space from Toad Hall cottages in The Ship Inn car park. It's a five minute walk to the cottage from there, which is difficult when carrying luggage to and fro but far easier than parking in the main car park so would definitely recommend doing this. Toad Hall Cottages need to number the car spaces though, we questioned them about this and they were adamant they were numbered, we searched and ended up having to simply try all locks to discover which was ours. Service from Toad Hall was ok but nothing special.
The conservatory was lovely, the windows can be fully opened and the sound of the stream running behind was stunning. Although the key to the window is broken and needs replacing, as the window wasn't locked when we arrived.
The cottage is rustic which is what adds to the charm of Glencoe but there are a few little things that could be looked at to improve your stay. Maybe a new shower curtain as its discoloured and doesn't look it's best, there are only 4 knives as one is broken, new bath towels, they were rather small,lol. Also the visitors information pack could do with updating, lots of info was out of date, we had no idea what to do with our rubbish, collection days or how to sort for recycling for example.
We would defiantly stay here again, the children loved their stay also and we were all sad to leave. Already looking at booking for next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie B
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in August 2014 with family, the cottage is quite small, but fine for the 5 of us. Has a single room at the back, a double room at the front and a room in the roof with 2 single beds. Just one thing though, which we did not realise, you have to go through the double room to get to the roof bedroom. Not to much of a problem for us as we are family, but could cause a problem if you are with friends. Has a nice lounge area with 2 sofa's and chair, tv, freeview, video, log fire, a round table for 5 but a bit of a squeeze, under floor heating, downstairs wet room. There is a small kitchen area. There is a stream at the back of the property. Very close to the harbour and pubs. We really enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$596
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing