We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a lovely Cottage”

Review of Cobblestones

'Cobblestones' cottage on Polperro harbour.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Cobblestones' cottage on Polperro harbour.
View from the garden upper deck. Perfect for outdoor eating  and sunbathing. The elegant exterior.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
'Cobblestones' cottage on Polperro harbour.
View from the garden upper deck. Perfect for outdoor eating  and sunbathing.
The elegant exterior.
View of the harbour from the dining room.
The dining room with very comfortable seating for four
Well equipped kitchen with espresso coffee maker
Spacious, cosy living room with fabulous wood burning stove and views over the harbour
...and views out to sea
...just chill out and take in the wonderful views of the harbour and out to sea.
Living room with door up to lovely sunny garden with lawns, decking and views to the sea
And so to bed - kingsize with goosedown quilt..
view from the garden over the village
funky bunks!
Modern shower room.
The Warren is part of the coastal path.Cobblestones is only yards further along on the left.
Polperro beach is less than a 4 minute stroll from Cobblestones..
A view from the opposite side of the harbour..
Take a fishing trip from one of the boats on the quay..
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Dawn B
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tired Cottage”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just returned from our annual pilgrimage to Polperro. Having stayed at several cottages over recent years, and given the reviews for the property, we were confident that the cottage would meet our modest expectations. Unfortunately this was not the case, as the property proved to be filthy, damp and in desperate need of refurbishment. Upon arrival we were greeted with the pungent smell of damp which permeated throughout the property. It appears that the cottage lacks regular periods heating and ventilation. Mould was evident in every room, with mould spores germinated on walls, ceilings, furnishings and bedding. Needless to say, it didn't take long for our stored clothing to take on the same putrid odour.
The cottage also proved to be quite filthy with dirt and grime adorning floor skirting, wall switches and shelving. We discovered balls of dust/hair between the mattress and headboard in the double bed, a layer of dust under the bed and in the uplighters.
The cottage looks tired and in desperate need of loving. it is apparent that any form of recent improvement has been unsympathetic, incompetent and to a limited budget.
The property is also poorly furnished, a mismatch of items that are more reminiscent charity shop offerings, rather than items purchased to adorn a period cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Slug on the stairs
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
If our Vispring bed,Harrods sofas,antique bookcase,original paintings, newly and expensively purchased solid oak dining suite,authentic rugs along with top range stereo system,solid oak flooring,state of the art halogen hob and smeg oven constitute charity shop furniture then we must accept that this is somebody's inexpert opinion.
If one is looking for plasterboard walls throughout,multi national chain store furnishings and modern housing estate construction then may I recommend housing estates in Milton Keynes as a suitable holiday option.Cobblestones and harbour side 200 year old stone built cottages with the attendant seagull noise,the smell of fish and the constant but thankfully minor battle with the natural elements of surf spray,rain,salt air and sea will definitely not be the place for you. Book a week in the Travel Lodge by the side of a main road where hopefully damp is never a problem.Keep it simple and never book a holiday cottage in Ireland where I'm told it gets even wetter.
However if you wish to experience living in a centuries old fisherman's cottage built on the side of a granite rock valley,yards from the sea and with stunning views,where there is no gas main and an amazing lack of cavity walls (oh how stupid of 17th century builders) then hopefully this is the place for you.
Polperro exists in storage heater heaven and these are on throughout the seasons.Turn them up,put on the oil filled radiators and help yourself baby it's not hard.
If our complainants are ignorant of the geography,geology and construction of an ancient fishing village then they should get an education.If they are only at ease with dull flat pack furnishings then they should get some taste and if they go on holiday to nitpick and whinge then they should get a life-------------------but of course that is only my opinion

Please read all the other reviews.There are two terrible ones and lots of great ones.
Forgive me for being confused!
Love and kisses xxxxx (Peter Cripps, owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyBans...
Banstead Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My husband and I went to stay at the cottage with my sister and her husband. We had a really lovely time. The cottage was very clean and comfy plenty of room . Cosy at night and relaxed. The view from the garden was like a postcard and we sat there in the sun enjoying the view out to sea. I would recommend this cottage there was everything we needed . Excellent holiday certainly worth the money.

Mo & Tony

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the lounge and the garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristylee...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Couldn't think of anywhere better to chill out in this charming cottage”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just come back from 4 nights stay at Cobblestones cottage and what a charming cottage it was. Home from home as we already live in a cottage.
We parked in the car park that is designated for the cottage which was 10 mins up a steep hill as you can't park outside due to the tiny lanes but this didn't bother us.
Once we had received the key from the welcoming owner, we headed straight to the blue peter pub (lovely food).
The cottage was on three levels, bedroom was lovely and the sitting room was just what we needed to chill out. The photos like stated before don't do it justice with Beautiful views.
Cottage has wifi and equipped with everything you would need. We did put only £1 in the electric meter which was very old school!!
Overall we loved our stay here and we would definitely return.
Beautiful cottage and village.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charm of the cottage - living room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTPERRY
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We have just returned from a last minute 3 day break in Polperro, staying in dear little "Cobblestones". The wettest winter since records began certainly lived up to its reputation, but armed with wet weather clothes we walked the cliffs and the lanes, ate in the "Blue Peter", recharged our batteries and thanked the world for giving us Polperro and this gorgeous cottage. Great lounge, comfortable bed, magnificent position and spectacular views of a raging winter sea. How lucky we are, thanks Polperro, thanks Cobblestones and see you again soon. Having stayed immediately after the departure of the person who have written a most dreadful review I find myself considering the law of libel. Oh well! We loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWILLSSou...
South Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Filthy !”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Do not stay at this property unless you are comfortable with the most horrible smell of damp upon arrival. You would also have to be happy with filthy carpets, curtains, kitchen, worktops, cupboards, crockery, shower room and vent. We were unable to hang our clothes as there was no wardrobe, only a cupboard which was full of junk and stank of damp. We decided to lay our clothes on the mattresses in the room with the bunk beds, but were unable to as these were also not clean enough. There was a throw placed accross the bottom of the double bed which smelled of pets and was full of animal hair. The two free standing heaters were not clean enough to dry a towel on and the whole of the property had cobwebs, black mould and dead flys throughout. My husband and I decided to contact the manager, Kelvin [--]. Initially on the telephone he refused to accept that the property was anything other than pristine, we then invited him to visit the cottage to view it for himself, at this point he refused and hung up. We then went to his house, where he told us that he and his wife would be with us in 5 minutes. When Mr and Mrs [--] entered the cottage they both mocked and openly laughed at what we considered to be legitimate complaints. As we continued to point out shortcomings with the cleanliness of the property Mr [--] began to raise his voice and became quite belligerent. However when he realised that he could not dispute the problems with the property he agreed to negotiate a refund as we were not prepared to stay for the four nights which we had paid for. He assured us that he would immediately refund the sum agreed via bank transfer, and as this was early evening and we had nowhere else to stay we agreed to leave early the following morning. My husband and I then went out to dinner, on our return we checked with our bank and was informed that no money had been returned from Mr [--] . We again rang Mr [--] (who by this time sounded quite drunk) and asked why he had not done as he had said he would. Mr [--] became irate , therefore I suggested I would speak to him in the morning when he was in a better frame of mind, Mr [--] again hung up. Within half an hour Mr [--] telephoned me to inform me that he had made the transfer of the funds which my bank later verified. We handed the keys back to Mr [--] at 8am the next morning. t

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2014
They say that sooner or later you’ll get ‘the holiday couple from hell ‘ and wow, we’ve just had ours. So many lovely people have stayed at beautiful ‘ Cobblestones’ and return year after year. Several hours after having given this reviewer the key and welcomed him into the cottage he and his wife aggressively banged on my door (just four cottages away) demanding that I immediately come so he can show me the ‘filthy’ condition. Within five minutes my wife and myself went to the cottage but before even crossing the threshold he was shouting abusively to us in the lane. On entering, he took off a decorative wall plate and threw it on the immaculate dining table because he had found a little dust behind it while shouting, ‘we can’t stay in a place with filth like this’. In shock and disbelief we slightly smiled until we realised he was being serious. The tirade continued into the bathroom where we found he’d wrenched off the cover to the extractor fan and found a little dust. To say the least his attitude was threatening. By this stage we simply wanted them out of the cottage so agreed to rebate them and, foolishly, allowed them to stay until the following morning - which they wanted to do. Inspecting the property the next day I found that he’d taken a chisel or knife to the immaculate grouting on the kitchen work top tiles and beside the new ceramic hob. This has now been repaired. We feel sorry for any holiday cottage owner who has the misfortune to accept a booking from these wretched people but I feel quite sorry for the couple themselves – they plainly need help. A last point, all this reviewers comments are untrue as are his accusations that I put the phone down or I was ‘drunk’. I think at seven in the evening everyone is entitled to a glass of wine with their supper which perhaps he could smell. Thank you to all our brilliant visitors, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing