We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet room in a residential neighborhood.”
other travellers have booked this property
St Michaels Mount nearby
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Michaels Mount nearby
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
St Michaels Mount nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
8819MSP
Iwakuni, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet room in a residential neighborhood.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Schoolroom is a bit of a hidden gem. We enjoyed our stay in this room, which is part of the owner's house in a quiet neighborhood. The bed is good, the "snug" is a good place to sleep if you have a third person in your party, and Kate is very friendly and helpful with advice about places to visit. She is very prompt with breakfast each morning at the time you choose. Breakfast was croissants, butter, jam, and mixed fresh berries. There is a kettle in the room for making tea. We thought the room might be hot at night since it is upstairs, but the in-ceiling windows provided good ventilation. A bonus is having a dedicated off-street parking place. Overall, we had a pleasant experience and would stay there again. Thank you, Kate!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonage_d...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic little hideaway just outside of town”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Old School Room offers a private little hideaway a short bus ride, drive or walk from penzance centre.
the space is beautifully decorated with a light and airy feel and tea/coffee making facilities available (including Cornish roddal milk).

Breakfast is delivered to you at a time of your choice by the owner every morning - orange juice, croissants, strawberries and butter/jam. The basket is then collected by the owner who is very lovely and helpful.

I saw another review that said they don't agree with the statement of not needing a car but we don't drive and it was fine. Once you get to penzance buy a pass from any bus driver for one,two,three or seven days and that'll take you all over Cornwall during your stay. The number 10 takes you a 6 min walk from the house and a taxi to/from penzance is £5.

I think that it would be helpful to have a dustpan and brush in the apartment for those staying more than a couple of nights - we carried lots of sand back from the beach and I felt bad leaving it behind!

I loved it and hope to come back again some time!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onyafragg...
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation, great breakfast & a friendly welcome”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I were looking to stay somewhere near Penzance for a few nights in early July. We decided to book the School Room based on the lovely photos on Trip Advisor, even though at the time it only had one review (turns out that was because it only opened about a month ago).
I'm so glad we chose to stay here. Not only is it good value for money, it is a large open space with an extra snug area full of cushions (great for afternoon naps) and the breakfasts were a tasty selection of warm breads/croissants, fresh strawberries and orange juice! The bed is large and very comfortable with good quality bed linen and there is free wi-fi!
It is in a good location for getting to Penzance, St Ives, the Minack Theatre and Lands End and because you have your own front door, it feels less like a b&b and more like your own little apartment.
Kate, the owner, was very welcoming and brought us breakfast each day at the time we requested.
We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone considering staying here.
Thank you Kate : )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The decor and snug
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loopyloo1...
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Away from it all for a special night”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Drove from London at 3.30am in able to spend our anniversary weekend in the South of Cornwall which we had never visited before, although I have a been a frequent visitor of the north over the last 17 years. The thing i love most about visiting cornwall as a whole is no matter where you stay there is something always historic and interesting about it, exactly what the old school room has to offer. When we arrived at 12:30 we would of hoped the room may be available on the off chance but we couldn't check in until 2pm which was not very convenient for us to be honest. Could of done with a freshen up after the long drive through the night.
When we eventually got to the room, it was delightful, the way the decor has been done is so calm and relaxing. Also,when it managed to get dark at night, it did become very romantic for us and the snug with the skylight watching up at the stars I just couldn't think of anywhere else I would of wanted to be. The bed was unbelievably comfortable and the fact that it felt like our own little apartment for the night is what was important to us.
Breakfast was just wonderful, Kate kindly let us stay an hour later than normal check out time, delivered a hamper to us, with a special happy anniversary message presented with heart bowls, strawberries, pancakes,butter, jam, croissants and fresh orange juice. It looked too nice to eat!
A few downsides, there are no toiletries provided for 1 night stay, could of done with a larger fridge ( to fit a bottle of wine) and the description says you do not need a car but I would disagree.
If you a lover of the South of Cornwall & drive I would highly recommend or if your closer than Central London and want a quiet getaway retreat i would also recommend.
Hats off to Kate for being a great host though!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: No toiletries
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel P
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great accommodation, fantastically located in Cornwall!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Old School Room from start to finish! The annexe was finished to a great spec and our stay was exceptionally comfortable. The place is ideally located, just a stones throw away from the beautiful town of Penzance. We would recommend this place to any couple looking for a Cornish retreat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing