We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly a world of Peace and Plenty”
Welcome to the quiet calm of Boscrowan
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the quiet calm of Boscrowan
Peace and Plenty Ring and Thimble next door - a thatched cottage for two
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Welcome to the quiet calm of Boscrowan
Peace and Plenty
Ring and Thimble next door - a thatched cottage for two
Relax in the sitting room with views over the gardens and orchard
The exceedingly well equipped kitchen
Twin  room
Half tester bed with silk drapes in the master bedroom
Friendly horses
Free rangers!
Enjoy afternoon tea in the summerhouse
Relax on a patio in the sunshine
Daffodil fields to enjoy
Peacefully located Boscrowan is a gateway to the Far West of Cornwall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
1 review
“Truly a world of Peace and Plenty”
Reviewed 31 August 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A stay at Boscrowan begins with the long anticipated moment when we turn into the little tree-lined lane that leads to the farm, glimpse the green gate beyond the stream, and know that a different world is moments away. We have self-catered all over Britain and Europe but in our opinion, Boscrowan is unique and unsurpassed in every way. Although situated a short drive or walk from Penzance and conveniently close to the A30 for access to the whole Penwith Peninsula, Boscrowan Farm is a peaceful and rather magical haven. Each cottage has its own lovely garden with the orchard beyond and they look out onto the beautiful gardens of the farmhouse, and the wildlife pond. The overall feel is of peace and tranquility. We have visited many times over nearly a decade staying in Peace and Plenty. The cottage itself is superb; decorated in elegant F&B colours, with fine fabrics, lovely furniture and good art, the atmosphere created is of generous comfort and warmth. Elizabeth is a superb gardener and there are always flowers to be found in every room as well as a trug full of Boscrowan vegetables and a jar of Boscrowan herbs in the kitchen. The kitchen itself is properly equipped to a very high standard. My husband is a keen cook and looks forward to cooking at Boscrowan knowing that there are good sets of pans, knives, trays and everything else he will require. Each cottage has a wheel-barrow of salad leaves in the garden for daily use and Elizabeth is generous in allowing guests to augment their meals from her veg patch and greenhouse. You can make a quick early morning trip to Newlyn (less than 10 mins away) for fish straight off the boats (try the Stevenson Fish Shop on The Strand) and with Boscrowan veg and salad, make a delicious meal without setting foot in a supermarket! There are pasties in the freezer (perfect for taking on a walk to eat on the cliffs) and also croissants for breakfast and local ice-cream for pudding. You will also find books, games, jigsaws, ruck-sacks, a picnic basket and just about anything else you might need in the cottage, and buckets and spades, windbreaks, body-boards and wellies in the garage just beyond. The cottage is immaculately presented and impeccably maintained. In short, Peace and Plenty is the kind of home you wish you lived in, and for a week you do! Nell, the Harris' gorgeous border collie puppy, and Molly the cat will greet you on arrival and be glad to make friends during your stay; and you will find ducks and chickens to feed by the cut-flower patch and Gem and Huckleberry the horses in the fields beyond. Elizabeth and David always encourage children to join them to collect eggs and feed the animals, we have been visiting since ours were very little and this daily ritual has always been a much loved part of the holiday for them. The year that there were piglets on the farm and our daughter Emily ran ahead of them (just!) with the feed bucket to lead them back into the barn has become a treasured family memory, as has watching chicks hatch when Elizabeth brought them over to the cottage in an incubator for the children to see. The dedication and love the Harris' have invested in Boscrowan and their warmth and generosity make it a really special place to stay. Beyond the gate, the Penwith Peninsula beckons: Penzance, Mousehole, St Ives, Porthcurno, Porth Chapel, Sennen, The Minnack, Poldark Country.....there are as many beautiful towns, perfect beaches and breath-taking coastal walks as you could want; we love visiting them all, safe in the knowledge that if it pours with rain, we'll be just as happy in the cottage with the wood-burner and Monopoly, or perhaps with Elizabeth having a sewing lesson (over the years the children have made cushions and doorstops on rainy afternoons - all still in use!). The small amount I can say in a review cannot really capture Boscrowan, just go and you'll see what I mean.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ceciliamo...
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“The whole experience is wonderful”
Reviewed 12 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We have just arrived home after our 5th visit. There will be a 6th! Our whole experience staying in Ring and Thimble has always been wonderful. If by any chance one needs something that isn’t in the cottage then one just has to ask Elizabeth or David and by magic it will appear!! Both the interior and exterior of the cottage is in exquisite order. Just take a look at the photos. The surrounding gardens are full of colour and beauty. One is very near to towns, National Trust and other similar gardens and beaches, nothing is very far away. I can’t recommend a stay in either this cottage or Peace and Plenty more highly. Peace and tranquility is easy to find here. There is a wildlife pond, hens and fresh eggs, a cat and a dog too. I could go on and on describing how lovely a stay here is but I won’t, I leave you to look at the photos and believe what you see.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbHenle...
henley
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Autumn Break”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We were both unwell on arrival and almost chose to stay at home. Thank goodness we didn't as our cottage Peace and Plenty and our hosts David and Elizabeth made us feel better immediately. The outstanding feature was the generosity of everything that was provided, from logs to picnic baskets, all was there to be enjoyed.
The cottage was extremely comfortable and clean and so peaceful. The cottage is surrounded by a lovely garden and enjoys an excellent location so close to Penzance. This, together with the wider area of Cornwall, means there is so much to see and do.
David and Elizabeth have thought of everything for the cottage and for the comfort of guests. We had the additional good fortune of sunny days at the end of October. Many people return - we shall too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2017
Thank you for your very kind review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay despite arriving feeling under the weather. We hope you return too - there is no greater compliment for us than guests returning and some even regard Boscrowan as their second home and return year after year without fail! This works both ways too - keeps us on our toes to always keep the cottages looking as good if not better than for their last visit! Our location is such that you can never run short of new places to see, new restaurants to visit even if you come more than once a year to stay - which many of our guests do. It's so worth that longish trip down to the far west tip of Cornwall - once you are here you never need to travel very far for some wonderful days out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antsmith1...
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
“Truly Beautiful”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My partner and I stayed at the wonderful peace and plenty for 1 week which went far too quickly. I don't think we have ever stayed at a more beautiful cottage than peace and plenty. Boscrowan farm is a truly beautiful, relaxing base where to explore Cornwall from.

Our host the lovely Elizabeth, could not be more welcoming and helpful. On our arrival to the cottage we were met with a smile and shown around the second cottage (which also looks amazing). We were then taken up the stairs to Peace and Plenty and wow! The open living area is on the first floor and so light and cosy. The bedrooms and two bathrooms are on the ground floor and the whole property is completely faultless. There was fresh homemade scones and jam (unbelievably tasty) on the kitchen table waiting for us, a trug of fresh vegetables (from the farm) were also placed in the kitchen. A complimentary bottle of homemade apple juice in the fridge (delicious). The information provided with regards to places to visit and things to do was a massive help. We would recommend visiting the national trust Trenwainton (please excuse the terrible spelling) gardens about a mile away. Brilliant tea room and beautiful gardens and little book shop.
Another recommendation would be to visit St. Michaels Mount in nearby Marizion. We had a meal at the Godolphin Arms on our last night and walked back along the promenade to the car park, really beautiful scenery. You can walk from Peace and Plenty into Penzance which took us between 25-35 minutes. We visited Lands End which took us about 20 minutes in the car from Peace and Plenty. Likewise for driving to St. Ives park and train ride which is also a good day out.
Boscrowan farm is a brilliant base for people to go out and explore Cornwall. The accommodation is exceptional and its easy to see why people keep going back. We read the visitors book and so many people have been going back year on year- i don't blame them at all!
A massive thank you to Elizabeth for all her help in making us have a brilliant week. We even had a cracked windscreen during the week and Elizabeth made one call and a local garage repaired it the next day for a very reasonable fee. We thoroughly recommend the amazingly beautiful Peace and Plenty, enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Thank you for your very kind compliments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in this truly special region of West Cornwall. There is so much to see and do that a week here is never long enough and our regular annual guests seem to always find new places to explore every time they return to Boscrowan. So we hope we may see you again one day too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ceciliamo...
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The word wonderful says it all, all is provided and more besides. This was our 4th visit and I think that says it all. One week isn't long enough! But one has to do for us, but if you can go for 2 weeks then please do so. We stayed in Ring and Thimble which is for 2 people.

Elizabeth and David go our of their way to make one feel welcome.

I won't describe the beautiful exquisite cottage just read other people's comments. They are all true.

Can't wait for our next stay, we have just returned home and I am already suffering from withdrawal symptoms!

It is also situated in an area rich in Cornish culture, countryside, coastal paths, beaches, gardens, wild flowers etc etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review! It is one of the greatest compliments to have guests return year after year when there are so many other self catering places in Cornwall that they could try should they choose. We like to make holidays here just that bit more special!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing