We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
82
104
49
29
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
104
49
29
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews theatre bar chapel street nelson bar the hotel manager steeped in history sea gulls st michael s mount penzance harbour ensuite bathroom admiral benbow turks head isles of scilly full english enjoyable stay sea view bed and breakfast yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

So, this hotel is really convientenly situated on Chapel St. That’s the only positive thing about it. It’s an amazing building , and has huge potential . But quite frankly it’s a total dump . We paid £140 for a family room...it’s value was more like £40. As a family you shouldn’t stay there as the noise from outside until the early hours (and this is a quiet road). There was one , very scruffy, but helpful member of staff manning the bar and hotel . This is the type of place that you expect in a run down seaside resort where it’s used as a bed sitter ...that’s how it looks and feels, but for £140 it certainly isn’t . No one slept , we itched all night. The photo of reception sums up this place .

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

The hotel is conveniently situated on Chapel Street, between the harbour and main shopping street. Also close to two historic pubs - Turks Head and Admiral Benbow.

The building itself dates back to the 1500s. As a hotel, it was comfortable, with clean rooms and a good breakfast. I would stay there again.

While probably not an issue a few years ago, the lack of WiFi was frustrating since I was unable to check emails, look up tourist information, rail times, and even the weather!

(I believe some people were able to pick up WiFi in the bar, but none of my devices could see it.. I ended up using the free WiFi from nearby bars)

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

We have been visiting the bars along Chapel Street over the last week. The Union Hotel has a nice open bar area, which although traditional in decor, has a nice welcoming feel. The staff are friendly, welcoming, professional and should be recognised for their efforts.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WayneRobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel manager at this ‘hotel’ is just disgraceful, I have never experience such a rude man. After booking here for 4 nights I was told I was meant to arrive the night before so he charged me and cancelled the rest of the stay. My confirmation clearly stated the correct dates but he proceeded to shout and scream that is was not his problem! I have disputed with my credit card company and will never be booking this place again! Place should be shut down or taken over my competent management

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank GemGem391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Booked through a travel agent for a work trip. This was one of the few hotels with available rooms in West Cornwall. Now know why!!

The welcome was somewhat bizzare, the receptionist is a character but friendly enough.

The carpets throughout the hotel were worn, and dirty. Dire need for refurbishment there. The decor was also in need of some attention.

The room was OK. Fairly small, and the bed was wonky. It was very hot, and there wasn't even a fan to cool the room.

The bathroom had mildew and mould all over the walls. Not impressed with that, it's the last thing an asthmatic need after climbing three sets of stairs! The room was also quite dusty.

The breakfast was OK. About as good as a Travelodge but free.

Oh and - no parking!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Patric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews