We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charm in abundance”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Shower room
Stair showing door to bathroom
Bathroom
Local surf school
RNLI lifeguards keep the beaches safe
Jamie Oliver's Fifteen, Watergate Bay Hotel, The Beach Hut and The Phoenix are all excellent!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Newquay, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Melaniesu...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Charm in abundance”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

It was impossible for us not to fall in love with this cottage the minute we walked in. It is full of charm and quirkiness with beamed ceilings, stone floors and a log burner. Yet it had many modern touches too, with two brand new bathrooms with quality fittings. There was everything to make your stay comfortable, a well equipped kitchen with all the necessities, extremely comfy beds with crisp cotton duvets and soft fluffy towels.
The garden was a real bonus too, ideal for barbecues and somewhere for the kids to play safely. The location is ideal, just a short walk from Watergate Bay, but nicely tucked away from all the hustle and bustle. We have already rebooked to return here later in the year and give this property 10/10!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad P
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lot of room for improvement”
Reviewed 31 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at this cottage over the New Year period and we were disappointed with the overall quality.

There are some nice touches for sure, such as the bedding and matresses, but on the whole the cottage is in need of updating and some simple 'homely' additions are needed too.

So - what to update first, well the bathroom needs doing the most urgently. The carpets in there smelt of damp but it was generally just a bit dingy in there. We spent as little time as possible in the bathroom and our youngest son wouldn't even venture into the bath, this was because he had seen the matted hairs and sludge left at the bottom of the plug (this was upon arrival - not from us!!). Did I mention the general odour?

All heating is provided by electric heaters which is ok, but not ideal. When we arrived the dining room didn't have an extension lead for the electric heater in it so that was another room for us to keep out of. This was rectified quite quickly, but there should have been provision of an extension lead to begin with. Even when it did get going the room never felt that warm.

Similarly, the "snug" room has no heating so that was another room we didn't want to be in for long. Labelled as a kids den, it was actually missing anything to encourage kids to be in there, such as toys or board games etc. So it was just a cold room with a couple of bean bags and I struggle to see the appeal of that.

The Rayburn is best to be considered as decorative, because it is certainly not functional. The flume was totally full of disused ash and clearly had not been cleaned for a very long time. If we had tried to use it then we would have been smoked out - another feature that has been overlooked in a quest to bring it to the market.

Not taking into account a number of cobwebs that we saw, there was dust to be found in a number of locations and this property desperately needs to have new carpets fitted. The light beige carpets were of poor quality which did nothing to make us feel at home and they were the most stained carpets I have ever seen. It is time to rip them up and start again - and this should have been done before renting the cottage out.

The wood burner needs some basic utensils to help anyone wishing to use it.

We came away from the cottage thinking that we would have been far better either staying at home or spending our money on a cottage which had actually made an effort.

Yes we could see the pictures of the kitchen and bathroom before we went, but what you couldn't see was the condition of the carpets and of course, you can't smell anything from pictures. The cottage has not been showered with love and affection by its owners.

We were absolutely not expecting (or wanting) 5 star accommodation. We are prepared to go with the flow on a wide number of things but for us to feel this strongly about a property takes a lot, it really does. We have stayed in a large number of rented cottages over the years - always choosing a cottage over a hotel - and we have never felt this way about a property in the past.

So, as you can get the impression - we felt quite let down by this cottage. It certainly did not reflect good value for money for us. The location is good however and the cottage does have potential, but until both the bathroom and kitchen have been renovated and there has been more thought applied to the little things that make up a good stay it would be impossible to recommend this to anyone that you actually liked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being on holiday
Liked least: General condition of the property. No value for money.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2015
Obviously it is disappointing that the guests did not enjoy their stay at Rose Cottage. We were ourselves staying with friends less than 100 yds away and saw the guest several times over the New Year period. It is unfortunate that they did not mention their views on the cleanliness of the cottage at the time as we could have dealt with this immediately. With regards to the comments on the bathroom and kitchen, we have reviewed our description again and feel that the description is accurate. We have made it clear in the cottage description that the bathroom is in need of updating and this is planned this spring. We will update the photographs and description as this progresses.

We have had very positive feedback/reviews both on line and via e-mail and are sorry that our cottage did not meet this families expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy H
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely comfortable cottage, well equipped in a great location.”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Rose Cottage is a lovely, quaint property that has character and is well equipped. The cottage is in a great position just up the hill from Watergate.
The garden was secure for the dog to roam freely in the mornings. We found the bedrooms simply furnished but very comfortable, which we liked (bright, clean, functional and comfortable beds – what else do you want from a bedroom?). The bunk beds for example weren't small and slightly cramped as is often the case but roomy and very comfortable according to our two girls who loved it. With a new bathroom as proposed it will be even better (getting 6+ footers in under the shower required a little early morning flexibility but the shower unit is good). It has a well equipped kitchen with new appliances, decent BBQ and a plentiful supply of hot water already set up, and easily adjustable heating where required. Small things maybe but it just makes the practicalities easy and allowed us to get on with enjoying our stay quickly and comfortably.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable beds, great location, nice character
Liked least: Bathroom
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abby S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming house in a great location.”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We loved our week in Tregurrian. The owners were very friendly and helpfull, the cottage was fantastic and the location perfect for walking to the beach and enjoying all the watersports on offer. Wifi was a bonus for our four children who would escape to the kids den in the house and leave the adults in peace. The house was extremely comfortable and clean and we look forward to returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy beds and location
Liked least: shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$186
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing