We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
AbreakAway(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$121
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Alderberry Lodge(Newquay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$141
US$130
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Sandy Lodge Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Atlantic Hotel(Newquay)
US$298
US$284
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$415
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$338
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,074)
Filter reviews
1,074 results
Traveller rating
773
208
68
20
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
773
208
68
20
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe baby listening servicecontemporary suitebouncy castlekids clubfamily diningseparate sleeping areaindoor poolzip wirewatergate bayexcellent family hotelbody boardsfamily holidayadventure playgroundsea viewchristmas partyfamilies with young childrensoft play
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,074 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with our 15 month old on the baby and toddler break,with a couple of extra days tagged on- so glad we did!

From the moment of arrival where all the parking spaces are extra wide,to all the little touches through the stay-friendly staff and equipment to loan, being able to buy attraction tickets from the hotel and skip long queues- this is obviously a hotel that understands families and their needs.

Everything is set up so that you can relax and enjoy- the facilities for kids are amazing, our little one loved the bouncy castle, indoor and outdoor pool and the play room in particular. The crèche ladies were fab and he enjoyed his time there with no worries from him or us. Spa treatments lovely and relaxing-a real treat. Food pretty good and restaurant staff helpful.

Location is also fantastic we walked to Newquay and to Watergate beach during our stay. We upgraded to a seaview and it was so worth it to be able to put the little one to bed then enjoy the views with a glass of wine. Would definitely (and have already!) recommend.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

We arrived early Sunday and our room was ready by 12 am. The disabled room was amazing, two bathrooms and large in size. Loads of plug sockets, for iPads etc. The free internet was very good as well. Plenty of free toiletries etc.
Fridge in room so bought fresh milk for tea. Breakfast was very good, and good buffet selection. Only minus was the plates were cold and food not very hot.
Was a good base to tour Cornwall, and go Cornwall Show at Watergate.
Swimming pool was okay, never overcrowded.
Would return if visit area again.
Staff were very helpful and polite.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Sands is an excellent alternative to a package holiday abroad. Our room was very large, had a beautiful sea view, very comfortable bed, all amenities you could want including iron and board, clothes drier and fridge. All eventualities had been taken into consideration. The only thing that might be an issue is the fact the room was a little stuffy despite 2 opening windows.
It is excellent for couples, and families as again they have thought of everything. There is baby listening in all the rooms and the ability of putting in a stairgate.
There are clubs for children some of which are free and entertainment. Outdoor facilities and grounds lovely and the opportunity to borrow daily all beach, surfing equipment, so no need to bring your own and then try and dry.
Food and drink excellent and not overpriced.
There were different eating areas depending on how old the children were and whether you were just couples which made for a more relaxing eating experience.
All the staff were courteous, friendly and appeared genuinely interested.
Can't recommend more highly.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are better
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parishnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Yet another amazing stay at delightful Sands hotel, the staff are all just wonderful, so friendly and since we have been visiting for over twelve years they always welcome us with ‘welcome back’. The food at sands is absolutely delicious and our baby Noah couldn’t get enough of the chocolate fudge cake with chocolate sauce, he also loved going to the children’s club, the staff in there are fabulous. Sands is in our opinion is faultless. Thank you for having us and we will be back soon, The Gibbs family.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank jasmine008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Good position opposite a very short walk to the beach. Excellent hotel for children

Restaurant menu for children needs attention. The service in the restaurant was very slow on a number of occasions.

The hotel reception was excellent , they dealt with all our requests with speed and efficiency.

Room Tip: The restaurant service is sometimes lacking in co-ordination. Kids menu needs simplifying.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews