We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,000)
Filter reviews
1,000 results
Traveller rating
422
334
140
54
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
422
334
140
54
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premium room steam bar sea view overflow car park parking space cornish breakfast per day fantastic views booked this hotel water pressure stayed here for one night lovely room fish and chips lick of paint the cliff comfy bed tolcarne beach
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,000 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018

First time we visited this year was in July when the weather was great and this does make a difference. We also had one of the better rooms; double king size or whatever they call it in large room with a very nice bathroom. Second time there were none of these rooms available so we went down to the next size and this was a big difference; bed not that comfortable and the room not so big with a smaller bathroom, plus, weather was not so nice; so if going to the Great Western better off with the top room and hope for good weather.
The rabbit runs to the rooms can also be off putting; breakfast is expensive, they should break down the cost of individual items not lump them all together; not everyone can eat a large breakfast.
Although we enjoyed both our visits will we not be going back the Great Western but don't let that put anyone off, enjoy your first time visit!

Room Tip: Choose the top range room.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _tonyshepherd2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

The hotel is located on a cliff above the beach. We had a room on the second floor and had views directly over the beach and the other window overlooked the road.
The room was clean and modern. All staff were friendly and helpful.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was good. Staff very attentive (sometimes a bit too much as we were asked at least four times during a meal if everything was okay).
Nothing was a problem for the staff.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kemerjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Views are great. Drinks and food are way overpriced.. Couple in the next table got a refund from their food and we should have known not to eat here then. Mackerel was ok but quite greasy. Halloumi burger was more like a pudding. Mustard mayo and chili jam were too sweet and overpowered everything. Tasted some of the halloumi separately and it was undercooked and still raw. Wish we’d gotten a sandwich from the shop instead of spending over £30 on two pints and bad food. Wasn’t expecting wonders from the food but for the price you’d expect to enjoy at least some of it.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mmmariannnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Nice place ,close to the beach is a good location friendly staff clear and nice room116 ,Thanks I will certainly come back for the second time. I have nice view from the hotel room. Recommend to all people and family with child .

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Kamila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

the room was really bad, double room was to single bed together, terrible room view was on the roof of the hotel entrance not tidy at all, mark on carpet and wall, on the ceiling there was a massive water stain. In all the room you have one plug. THE ROOM WAS 77£ + ALMOST 9£ EACH FOR THE BREACFA+ PLUS 5£ OF PARKING ( NOT IN FRONT OF THE HOTEL) The public area are a public pub, doesn't look really clean and tidy and was busy. Stair and corridor look like 1 star old hotel. We paid for extra breakfast: the breackfast is in the pub where on the table there is still menu and stuff from the night before, not even put the essential staff for the breakfast (like sugar), the windows not clean, you can see the mark from someone lay down on te glass. The Buffet: cereal, basic ( not good quality) orange and apple just, butter, thick ham, one kind of cheese , bread, jam, some cut fruit, was really small. You can order full english breakfast: 1 egg, 1 sausage, 1 hashbrown, beans, 2 mushroom. Coffe ( french press). The delivery 2 time dirty cups, the first time i ask to change them ... the came back with the same cups just rinsed ( was cold and wet) and the waitress had the hand wet and dirty from the coffee and left al the dirty stuff out the cup... I ask to change again, they send again the same cup just a bit more wet. the milk jug left on the table al the mark of milk and ground coffee on the table. I work in the hospitality and if delivery so dirty stuff on the table for me means the back of house is really messy and not clean. we found a hair on the plate but they say was par of the egg... i Ask the refund, the gave to me, and trust me the manager is not really friednfly. In the and we went to the reception for the check out, we complain about room and everything, she said they didn't know was in that condition the room ( the house keeping are blind?), the refund the breakfast.

Room Tip: really tired hotel, public area is a public pub
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank spillo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear Spillo85,
It is always disappointing when, after a busy summer with many satisfied guests, someone leaves a review such as this. I am unsure why you found the hotel to be terrible and would like to clarify the points you raise for the benefit of other Trip Advisor users.The room rate of £77 with breakfast at £8.95 per person is extremely competitive for Newquay in high season. We have very limited parking which is charged at £5 per day, half the price of local public car parks.Your room was a standard double, which on all websites you can book with us through, is described as at the front of the hotel overlooking the road. The restaurant that serves hotel guests and the public is Steam, which is a large modern interior with stunning views of the coastline and beach beyond. Our restaurant tables are laid with menus for both breakfast and our main menu, cutlery and condiments, this remains the same throughout the day. Our buffet breakfast comprises cereals (Kelloggs) yoghurt, fruit juice, hand carved roast ham, West country cheddar, Danish pastries, croissants, preserves, and local bloomer bread, plus your selection of freshly cooked hot items which are all locally sourced from Cornish butchers and suppliers.
Our crockery is never hand washed, although we do note that sometimes tea and coffee leaves a stain in the cups, we use an additional product on a regular basis to remove.
We do hope that this reviewer finds a hotel to meet their expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews