We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
214
102
26
13
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
214
102
26
13
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews budget hotel stag do one way system surf school brilliant location limited parking on arrival town centre sea view three nights a lovely stay bunk surfing wetsuits seagulls surfers
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Situated in the centre of Newquay like an cathedral of faded grandeur is the Sunnyside Hotel. A place you soon realise is not actually a hotel, but a time machine. Stepping into your bathroom instantly transports you back to 1970, with the 3 tiny parking spaces outside also clearly intended for cars of that era.

Pack your climbing gear too, for each trip up the many flights of steep stairs will have you feeling like you've conquered Everest. There is no lift - which at least means that by the end of your stay you'll have worked off all the calories from whatever slop the nearby Subway sold you at 4am.

For this is Newquay; a bizarre cross between Byron Bay, Magaluf and a Victorian seaside town. Where bewildered families rub shoulders with zombified 18 year-olds on their first lads trip, and barefoot hippies dig through bins. The early morning sounds of projectile vomiting echoing through the hotel corridors is an often welcome change from the flying rats outside, who ensure that whatever little sleep you might get on the biscuit of a pillow provided doesn't last very long.

For a budget hotel you get exactly what you pay for - a place to sleep and pre-drink in the room. Realising the type of clientele they host, they are surprisingly OK with this as long as you keep out of sight. They also have a genius idea of leaving your room keys in a deposit box, ensuring that if you do get mugged by a pack of rabid seagulls then at least you won’t get charged another £20.

The staff are friendly and unlike their Spanish counterparts - who after 20 years still act outraged when we 'enjoy' their hotels - here in Newquay they've seen it all before, and as long as you don't steal their iPad sized TV or trash the cardboard-thin wardrobe, then you'll get your deposit back.

There is unfortunately one major flaw however. Whilst we were pleasantly surprised to see three bottles of water in our room, the 'Not Drinking Water' sign over the sink soon made clear that whilst this is the UK in 2018, the sanitation is straight from Ethiopia. A few sips of the equally lukewarm water in both taps soon proved this, as I ended my holiday pants down in a field on Bodmin Moor.

Still, at least I didn't loose my room key.

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunnyside, Reception at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Max,

I read your review with some disappointment as you have certainly not grasped the concept of either Sunnyside or Newquay itself. The building is Victorian, but our rooms are certainly not archaic, and we accommodate our guests in practical, clean, tidy and functional rooms very well. We are exceptionally transparent with our advertising and it was your choice to stay in a ‘group specialist’ hotel offering budget accommodation. Albeit budget, we do not compromise on our guest’s expectations. You are very correct, with the age of the building we do not have a passenger lift, but even our older guests can master the 9 steps to the first floor without too much of a problem.

Again, with the building being Victorian we do offer bottled water to drink, however, water from the tap would certainly not make your tummy upset, it was possibly something else that caused your unfortunate incident on Bodmin Moor. I do have to say though, if the sign say’s ‘Not Drinking Water’, why would you??
Regarding parking, being a hotel situated smack bang in the centre of Newquay, parking space is unsurprisingly limited. We offer ‘6’ spaces at the hotel itself, available to pre-book for a small fee on a first come first served basis, and again, we transprantly advertise they are not suitable for anything larger than a car.
I am a little amused with your ‘flying rats’ comment, as you were at the seaside, and seagulls do live by the sea!!

I am so sorry you were unable to appreciate all that Cornwall and its outstanding natural beauty has to offer and enjoy. Good luck with your next holiday, hopefully it will be more suited to your requirements

Team Sunnyside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Our tenth consecutive August bank holiday visit for our group at the Sunnyside Hotel and once again we were all well catered at this perfectly located hotel with impressive views.
Thanks all for once again having us back, looking forward to seeing you all again next year!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sabsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunnyside, Reception at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Hi Mick,

Thank you for your great review. As always, its a pleasure to have your group here at Sunnyside and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2019.

See you next August!
Team Sunnyside :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Certainly value for money but limited parking, no aircon, no towels, no breakfast, no kettle no lift, but in town centre and per night rate is value.
Staff welcoming and willing to advise on eateries etc. Great views, next to park, turn right out the door and a short walk will hit the shops.

Room tip: Seaview available
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunnyside, Reception at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Hi Graham,

Thank you for your feedback and that you felt the accommodation was value of money.

Our 'add-on's' concept works brilliantly for majority of our guests as you will only ever pay for what you require, if you don't need it, or want it, you don't have to pay for it! this is what enables our room rates to be very competitive.

Hotel parking in Newquay is somewhat limited. We are quite fortunate to have a small amount of parking spaces and we offer all guests the opportunity to pre-book these, but obviously this is based on a first-come, first serve basis. There is plenty of road side parking and quite a few main car parks very close to Sunnyside. Our Receptionist would have been more than happy to point you in the right direction for parking.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our fabulous location and hope to see you back again soon

Kindest regards
Team Sunnyside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

My friends & I stayed at Hotel Sunnyside during the boardmasters festival, we picked this hotel as we didn't want to camp. Quite frankly their would have been more room in a tent. The room was ideal for what we required that weekend however the bathroom was not. No room to wash your wetsuits, no place to hang your wetsuits.

An interesting feature to our room was the 20inch screen tv on the wall. Mostly now seen in Chinese takeaways or my nan's house.
Three bottles of water where supplied to us on our first day but never replaced, being completely hungover it led to one of our friends drinking from the bathroom tap only to see a "non drinking water" sign wich makes you wonder where it comes from. Having done this it ended up bad for him & the farmer of who's field he had to pants down & squat in...

The hotel location was excellent offering brilliant views of the beach and just a quick drunk stagger into town. Hotel lobby very tidy & staff very welcoming. As a budget hotel you get what you pay for. Leaving the room keys at the hotel lobby is a great idea and saved us from a certain fine.
Would I stay their again during boardmasters weekend? Probably.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank RMeager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunnyside, Reception at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Ryan,

Firstly, may I take the opportunity to thank you for the positive comments you made about Sunnyside. Our location is absolutely fantastic and our proximity to the town center is great too. We do pride ourselves on our friendly staff, they truly are a credit to us. However, with the negatives you mention, I must defend our concept. We are very transparent with our advertising and as stated, we are a budget bunkhouse. Some of the rooms and bathrooms are small but they are adequately sized for a comfortable stay. We are a Victorian building and do suggest people drink bottled water, hence why we give complimentary bottled water in the room on arrival. There is a large water filter unit in Reception for all our guests to obtain top ups. I would doubt it was the water that caused your friends unfortunate incident. Our TV's are small, but we tend to find guests don't spend much time in their rooms.

On the whole, I'm glad you had a good time here in Newquay and look forward to seeing you again next year for Boardmasters.

Kind regards
Team Sunnyside :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Must say I was very happy with my stay here, wasn’t expecting much from a place that has ‘bunkhouse’ in the title but I was pleasantly surprised and had a nice stay. Very conveniently placed in Newquay, I didn’t need to use my car once whilst I was here.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunnyside, Reservations at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Hi Tammy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Hotel Sunnyside, and, that we exceeded your expectations. We do have an awesome location, with possibly the best view Newquay has to offer, and with the town just a couple of minutes away, what more could a guest ask for :)

We do hope, at some stage in the future, to welcome you back to Hotel Sunnyside and of course beautiful Newquay.

Kind regards
Team Sunnyside :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews