We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
351
160
48
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
351
160
48
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsedwards coachescoach tripcoach partysunday carveryturkey and tinselcrows nestthird floorwindow tablebuffet styleoverlooking the harbourfront facingfishing boatslovely hotelshower roombooked this hoteleast looefamily room
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We ate at the restaurant last night, we bought a voucher through groupon for two course each. Greeted by Dani the waitress who was very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. A very welcoming place we will definitely be returning!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank velmaDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear velmaDevon

First off can we thank you for choosing to dine at the Portbyhan Hotel during your time in the Area, We take all reviews very seriously so we appreciate you taking the time to leave one :)

We are happy to read that everything was to your liking during your meal and we will pass your comments on to Dani

We look forward to welcoming you when you return

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Stayed here for 4 nights 28th May 2018 on a trip with Edwards coaches from Cardiff.
Firstly a big thank you to Gareth lovely personality and an amazing driver. First time ever on a coach trip so we didn't really know what to expect, the hotel room was lovely nice big bed and a good shower. We had a balcony with a beautiful view, great to watch the boats go by. The staff were all very helpful and could not do any more to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast was hot and good would have liked hash browns on the menu. The evening meal had a lot of choice .Would we go back yes without a doubt. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millieCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear millieCardiff

First off can we thank you for choosing to stay at the Portbyhan Hotel during your time in the Area, We take all reviews very seriously so we appreciate you taking the time to leave one :)

We are happy to read that everything was up to your standard during your time with us, and now you have done your fist coach holiday we hope to see you again soon on another,

All the best from all of us at the Portbyhan Hotel

Regadrs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

The carvery is a reasonable price and like most caveries it depends souly when you turn up the locals "my mum" turn up at the start of the cavery when it's all fresh, buy a medium carvery as the veggies aren't that great the first time so you won't want a second visit to the counter for more. Clean modern restaurant which caters usually for coach trips there is a nice open air bar where a view of the harbour can be enjoyed , the food orders are good and generally good. Prices are normal for a seaside resort.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, Reception Team at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Hello Adam,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Portbyhan Hotel.

Our Sunday Carvery is continuing to grow in popularity we now often welcome up to 300 customers in on a Sunday.

To manage these numbers our chefs have no option but to continuously replenish our vegetables throughout the day, therefore we always have fresh vegetables irrelevant if you dine with us at 12:00 or 20:00.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

Arrived mid-afternoon with coach party, we were taken to the dinning room for a cream tea while they sorted luggage and they brought keys to the tables to save queuing, very nice and unexpected. Dinning room very clean and light with panoramic windows over looking the harbour.
Our room was on third floor had lift.
The room had a king-size bed and a single, wardrobe, dressing table, long mirror, easy chair, with plenty of space.
The only thing could have moved chair to put bed side cabinet by single bed.
Linen and beds very clean and comfortable with all new pillow's.
Bathroom smallish but very clean with plenty of fresh towels and complimentary toiletries.
As we were on third floor right at the end of water system had to run shower for five minutes to get it to temperature. But there is a notice to tell you this.
Food all very fresh and nicely presented.
Very efficient with table service. And a lot of people we spoke to said how how helpful and friendly all the staff were. Only had to ask and they would get anything for you.
All in all a very friendly well presented and clean hotel. We had a wonderful few days and the sun was out all the time.
I would like to say well done to the manager and ALL!!! his staff.
Would certainly recommend this hotel.
Thank you.
Veronica Perrett.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, Reception at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Hello Veronica,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Portbyhan Hotel.

It made us all smile reading this glowing review.

We hope to see you again in the not so distant future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We were at this Hotel for a 4-night stay with as part of a coach party. Our arrival was late (by about 3 hours) due to a fatal accident when we were within ½ hour of the Hotel. We were eventually turned back by the Police and had to go back across the Tamar Bridge and then cross on the Torpoint Ferry. The staff were ready to meet the coach as our driver had kept in contact with the Hotel over the delay. We were shown into the Restaurant and given a cup of tea while they handed out the room keys and took our luggage to the rooms. The Evening Meal was served about half an hour later.

Our room (308) was very clean (and cleaned well each day). It was quite large with a River view, and there was a Double Bed (possibly King Size) and a Single Bed. The bed was comfortable, so the sleep quality was good – apart from the seagulls (see below). The Bathroom was an acceptable size, but only with a Shower. (The Hotel does not appear to have any rooms with a Bath.) There was a step up from the bedroom to the bathroom, but this did not create any problems. We would have preferred a room with a Balcony, but the Tour Company would only accept ‘requests’ for the type of room we wanted and could not guarantee these. We had only requested a River view, and that was what we got – so no complaints. The television had only a very small screen, and the sound and picture quality were very poor. The location of the Hotel is excellent, but the only downside is that the River view rooms are opposite the Fish Docks and Market. This means that the seagulls give an early morning call at about 4 a.m., and the noise from the Fish Market starts at about 6 a.m. if not earlier! The advice would be to take some ear plugs if you have a River view room! We live close to the sea, but the seagulls here are not so noisy! The fishing industry has largely gone from here, but it appears there are still plenty of fish in the sea around Cornwall. However, the Hotel has no control over the seagulls or Fish Docks, so this has to be accepted.

The food was ‘variable’. Breakfast was satisfactory, but the mushrooms appeared to be from a tin (but apparently not) - and the tomatoes (and beans of course) were definitely tinned. Avoid the porridge though, as it is a good substitute for wallpaper paste! It was the Evening Meals which were disappointing. Being a coach party we had a separate ‘limited’ Menu. The ‘Starters’ were passable (with the exception of the soup), which – like the porridge – could have been used as wallpaper paste. Many of the items on the ‘Main’ course contained either onions, peppers or leeks, which would not suit our stomachs. Several main courses were seen to be taken away after the meal only half eaten, so there would have been plenty of left-overs. There was Pork on the Menu on 2 consecutive evenings. The ‘Desserts’ were acceptable but a bit small in size. The service was slow with a lengthy wait to be served the Starter, and a long wait between courses.

All the Staff were friendly and helpful, but overall we were a little disappointed and had expected better based on other TripAdvisor Reviews. However … taking into account what our stay would have cost us if we had travelled on our own and paid the full cost of the accommodation and the Evening Meals, we paid not much more than this including the cost of several hundred miles by coach plus the excursions. As the Hotel caters mainly for coach parties at reduced costs, we must accept some lowering of their usual standards. Therefore at the price we paid it was good value for money, and I will therefore rate it as excellent – which it was mainly. But – sorry – we will not be returning. The Hotel was only let down by the food and Restaurant service.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front (with a River View) are best, but noisier because of the Fish Docks and Seagulls!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OllyLowestoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, Reception Team at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Portbyhan Hotel.

• Bath: We have a variety of rooms with/without a bath.
• TV: We are currently in the process of updating all of our TV’s.
• Mushrooms: Were being occasionally boiled due to one of our chef’s preferences but will now be fried at all times (never tinned).
• Porridge: We often receive compliments on the porridge and have been asked on several occasions for the brand.
• Soup: Again we often receive compliments. I personally tried our Tomato and Basil soup recently and have to say it was the best soup I have ever had.
• Onions, Peppers & Leeks: Our chefs take great pride in their ability to adapt the menu for individuals. Did you mention this to any of our staff?
• Pork: We believe we give a good balance each night for our coach meal choices and we are constantly experimenting with different combinations of meals. We shall pass on these comments that you felt like there was too much pork.
• Meal sizes: “Mains too big and desserts to small.” As I’m sure you can appreciate there is not “one size fits all” in regards to meal sizes however we will pass your comments on to the chefs.
• Waiting time: We have been known to complete 3 course dinner service for up to 70 people within 1 hour. Apologies that if on this occasion you had to wait longer.

We can assure you that standards at the hotel will never be lowered for our fabulous coach parties.

We really appreciate the time you have taken with this review, we can see from the detail you’ve gone into what an honest reflection you have given us.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews