We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveller rating
361
168
49
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
361
168
49
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews edwards coaches coach trip coach party sunday carvery turkey and tinsel crows nest third floor window table buffet style overlooking the harbour excellent hotel front facing would highly recommend this hotel fishing boats shower room east looe reception area
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 610 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Fantastic location overlooking Looe harbour . We returned this evening from a coach tour with Edwards Coaches to this hotel.I stayed in a single room at the front of the hotel with a large balcony overlooking the harbour. Well worth the single occupancy tariff.Bed and bedding comfortable.Heating very efficient throughout the hotel. The bedroom well furnished with top quality bathroom with new shower, basin and toilet.Towels very fluffy and white. Flat screen television and a tea/coffee tray.
The staff were all very helpful,efficient and friendly.
The food served was delicious.Well prepared menus to suit most dietary requirement.plenty of fresh vegetables and delicious home made desserts.The breakfast choice very good with cereals , fruits,toast and a full English cooked breakfast.The town of Looe had great shops and eating places.plenty of walks also in the area.
The reception staff were excellent and all your baggage was collected from the coach to your room,
Well done to this hotel a pleasure to have stayed there this week.

Room Tip: Front of hotel gives great views of the harbour.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Hi Dianne G

Thank you for posting a review about our hotel and thank you for such a positive one too,

Looe is a great place to stay, even if your just visiting the town and its great for the coach market too as Looe is one of the perfect bases to explore the rest of Cornwall,

And the best thing about the coach market is that they will drop you off right outside the hotel and deal with everything with us at the hotel to make sure you have as a relaxing stay as possible,

Thank you for your lovley comments regarding the hotel and staff, I'll be sure to pass these comments on to the teams as we always do with all Reviews/Comments

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We recently visited the hotel with friends for the weekend - whilst we expected to have a great time we underestimated the fantastic time that we had. we were greeted well on reception - rooms were lovely and restaurant and public areas were welcoming and modern, The food lived up to the rest of the facilities and Sunday lunch was amazing. Well situated in the lovely town of Looe and I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Janet p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Hi Janet P

Its always nice to read reviews from the customers after all you are the reason we are here so thank you,

We are also happy to read that we managed to exceed your expectations during your time here with us, We are glad that all aspects of the hotel were to your liking and we course look forward to staying here with us again soon,

Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Visited on a coach trip with Edwards, long day on the bus,left Blackwood at 10.15(should have been10.00).Arrived at Hotel at 16.45 having stopped at Magor services to change coach and a 1 hour stop at a garden centre in Burnham.
The check in was good,whilst cases were taken to room we were given a small scone tea.
Our room was nice size,clean with a view out of side window towards river and sea.
Food was good,although it felt like being in hospital when you had to choose your evening meal at breakfast for a 6.30 sit down.
Overall nice hotel but a long way by coach.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank chippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Hi Chippers

Thank you for staying with us recently and thank you for your review,

We are happy to read that everything was up to your standard during your time here with us, unfortunately there isn't anything we can do about your traveling time, you will need to take that up with your tour company,

The main reason we ask our Dinner, Bed & Breakfast guest to pre-order there evening meal in the morning is so then the kitchen team can lovingly work on it and prep it up through out the day and make sure it is all cooked fresh and ready for evening meal time and when there's between 40-90 people eating at one time it also make service a lot more efficient,

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We have just had the best break in this hotel. We are a family of 4 and the room was lovely overlooking the harbour. Food was amazing especially the Sunday Lunch. The best feature was the staff. All friendly and professional. Cannot rate this hotel highly enough. Best queen size bed ever.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carolinecjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear Carolinejames

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay,

We are happy to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your time here with us, we work hard to make our customers feel as relaxed as possible, and we are lucky to have a dedicated team across all fields to make sure that this is put into practise,

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We paid extra for a sea view with balcony which was well worth it. Bed was massive and really comfortable. Room was very clean and well equipped. Food was good with a wide choice available. Staff were excellent and very efficient. The bar area was nice and we had entertainment 3 nights. Hotel is perfect spot if you want to shop or go walking

Room Tip: I would ask for sea view room, rooms at rear face rock wall
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank annshirleyhawthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Hi Annshirleyhawthorne

Its always worth paying that little bit extra to get a sea view room especially one with a balcony, and the best thing is its only going to cost a maximum of £20.00 to make sure you get a balcony room.

We are lucky to be in such a prime position for exploring Looe and the surrounding areas,

Overal we are happy that you were happy with all aspects of your visit,

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews