We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveller rating
361
168
49
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
361
168
49
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews edwards coaches coach trip coach party sunday carvery turkey and tinsel crows nest third floor window table buffet style overlooking the harbour excellent hotel front facing would highly recommend this hotel fishing boats shower room east looe reception area
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 610 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We have just had the best break in this hotel. We are a family of 4 and the room was lovely overlooking the harbour. Food was amazing especially the Sunday Lunch. The best feature was the staff. All friendly and professional. Cannot rate this hotel highly enough. Best queen size bed ever.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carolinecjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear Carolinejames

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay,

We are happy to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your time here with us, we work hard to make our customers feel as relaxed as possible, and we are lucky to have a dedicated team across all fields to make sure that this is put into practise,

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We paid extra for a sea view with balcony which was well worth it. Bed was massive and really comfortable. Room was very clean and well equipped. Food was good with a wide choice available. Staff were excellent and very efficient. The bar area was nice and we had entertainment 3 nights. Hotel is perfect spot if you want to shop or go walking

Room Tip: I would ask for sea view room, rooms at rear face rock wall
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank annshirleyhawthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Hi Annshirleyhawthorne

Its always worth paying that little bit extra to get a sea view room especially one with a balcony, and the best thing is its only going to cost a maximum of £20.00 to make sure you get a balcony room.

We are lucky to be in such a prime position for exploring Looe and the surrounding areas,

Overal we are happy that you were happy with all aspects of your visit,

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Had a recent renovation which has left it feeling pretty bland and it doesn't really fit in with the local cornish culture.

Sunday roast was good but I think I remember the bar being a little expensive.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank SmC90SmC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear SmC90SmC

Thank you for your review about our hotel, we always want to know what the customer has to say, whether it be good or bad,

We are sorry to see that the recent refurbishment isn't to your likening, personal preference perhaps, since the hotel has had its refurbishment completed the hotel has boosted trade in the Looe area by a massive 33% across 12 months with people staying in the hotel alone,

Our Sunday Carvery has proven very popular with us averaging between 200-300 customers every Sunday lunch time,

However I must disagree with your comments regarding the bar prices, with a pint of Standard Lager costing only £3.40 a pint and spirits such as Smirnoff, Bacardi & Gordon's all from £2.20 per 25ml measure and wines from £3.00 a glass I think you will find that we are cheaper then most pubs in and around the area,

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Locally organised trip by the local community taking a few senior citizens out to a Carvery in Looe. Having recently had a rave review/recommendation by a well respected neighbour, we went along confident that the meal would be of superior quality and we were not disappointed...excellent food and table service.

There was even a choice between medium rare beef and beef fully cooked. Large choice of vegetables, superb Yorkshire puddings and mouth-watering gravy. Clean pleasant surroundings and almost 100% service.

Only downside was the bar service. First time no problem, second time although I was the only customer at the bar waiting to be served, the young lady assistant looked straight through me, not even acknowledging my presence directly in front of her. I walked away ....

Will definitely be going back but will expect that they will have "tweaked" the bar service !

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tuff2pls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Hi Tony S

Thank you for your review

We thank you for trusting your neighbours recommendation on our Sunday Carvery, it is something that we really pride ourselves on here, and we are happy to read that you weren't disappointed on the food you and your party had,

I can only apologise for the bar service comment, be sure that this will be investigated properly as this is not how we operate, our staff are trained correctly to ensure that the customer is the number one priority,

So please rest assured that the next you visit us there shouldn't be anything of that kind happening again

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

As a father it's always going to be a difficult day regards emotions and giving your daughter away, regards venues... well omg!! The staff, the venue, the view, the food, were amazing!! I'm writing this 2 am in the morning, the Portbyan made our day! A big thank you to all the staff who was on!! We can not do justice in words what you did for us! And Saul omg!! Could not do enough to help us in every way! Nothing was to much trouble!! I'm am writing this not only as a proud father of the bride, but as a local fisherman and businessman, thank you all for making our day the most special day ever! I would recommend this venue to everyone who is looking for a competitively priced venue with 5 star performance ! Ty again from me and the whole family... we will all be in again to visit soon!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Steve9998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear Steve9998

Thank you for posting a review about our hotel and thank you for your kind worse towards the hotel and its fantastic staff,

The whole wedding game is fairly new to us here at the hotel, we had done a couple prior to your one but every one is different and its a real learning kerb for us here, but we will always take it in our stride,

We are happy to read that everything was up to yours and your guests standards whilst us hosting your daughters wedding,

We look forward to you visiting us again soon,

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews