We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“OUR DREAM COTTAGE BY THE SEA”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aerial view of Summercourt
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Aerial view of Summercourt
Double bedroom
Kitchen
Play area
Around Summercourt
Around summercourt - Information room
Around Summercourt
View from Cliff opposite ( 50 meters)
Millendreath Beach ( 300 meters )
Millendreath Beach ( 300 meters )
Millendreath Beach ( 300 meters)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Looe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stephenan...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“OUR DREAM COTTAGE BY THE SEA”
Reviewed 1 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Our cottage ( brye ) was very clean and comfortable with a very well equipped kitchen and bathroom. situated close to the coastal path into looe or seaton with great views of the coast line or the great british countryside. we felt at home in this cottage aftear our days out walking the dog or driveing to places in cornwall. not within walking distance to any shops or pubs but this was not a problem going into looe by car was 3 miles by road.
summercourt cottages are a safe base for a famliy and dogs looking for a peace full and adevetures holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were hoping for.”
Reviewed 16 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Arrived on 7th September and stayed in the Linhay with our small dog.

We were welcomed by Phillipa who was both helpful and charminmg throughout our stay.

A group of around 8 converted barns / stables / farm buildings surround a brick-paved sun-trap courtyard. An authentic cozy farm-house feel to the cottage we stayed in, the furnishings were in keeping with the property and the beds were clean and comfortable. Tableware, cooking equipment, iron, hoover etc were all decent quality and worked well. Freeview TV worked well with a good signal. Electricity was from a pre-payment meter and we used around £5 worth during the week. Gas central-heating was included in the price and we were grateful for it because a couple of the nights were quite cold.
Bathroom and kitchen were scrupulously clean, as was the remainder of the accomodation.

Each cottage has its own outdoor seating either at the front or rear. Views over the countryside from our back windows were quite breathtaking. There are no sea views from the property but a walk of less than 50 metres led to a National Trust picnic area with tables and flat grass area on top of the cliffs overlooking the sea and St George's Island.

Typical of the area, dramatic coastline with access to the South West Coastal Path. Walking East towards Seaton is not for those lacking stamina (me!) but the path down to Looe is less demanding as it's mostly downhill. The walk from Looe to Polperro is an absolute must. Moderately taxing, you'll need decent footware. If you're fortunate you may see dolphins - we saw a pod of 5 and it quite made our day!

Roads to the property are typically Cornish. Little point complaining about the narrow winding roads, they are part of the charm of the area but do require a modicom of common-sense to negotiate safely.

In short, this was a super holiday and we wouldn't hesitate to stay again in the future or to recommend to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet.
Liked least: No direct access to beach due to steep cliffs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“My Peaceful Holiday”
Reviewed 25 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

This place is tucked away and situated near amazing coastal walks and views. Its location also makes it a great base for seeing Cornwall. We drove out to Looe (great beach) most days so my children could surf and then we went on longer drives deeper into Cornwall. The cottage was clean and well equipped. The owners, Philippa and Mac were a real joy and very helpful. If you want to see Cornwall and experience its beautiful coast walks (Looe to Polperro was amazing) then this is a great place to stay.

P.S. Visit the Monkey Sanctuary... it is on the same road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The weather!! (not their fault)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_Dav...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottages in a peaceful location, with very friendly owners.”
Reviewed 24 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Mac and Phillipa are very welcoming owners and we had a very comfortable stay in The Stables cottage. On their suggestion we did the walk from Looe to Polperro which was lovely. We spent all the sunny days of our holiday on Talland Bay beach - a really nice spot with a good cafe. We went to Plymouth on the rainy day we had and visited the Aquarium, which was crowded but impressive. We had a very good meal at the Squid Ink Restaurant in Looe, we left the teenagers at home for this one!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's peaceful location
Liked least: Narrow lanes to property - but this is common in Cornwall!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Spectacular views a minute from your door, or from the kids swings”
Reviewed 16 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

The cottages are set as a couple of rows of mainly stone-built cottages with another row at the end making a nice courtyard area lined with a living wind-break of trees. In the first two weeks of July most of the surrounding garden beds were filled with a variety of colourful flowers.

That's just the stuff out the window though. The children's play-park, unusually well-equipped for this size of business - about 8 cottages - has to have one of the most dramatic views from the swings available in the UK. There's also a trampoline, with no safety net needed as it's sunken so the mat is at ground level, and the usual slide, monkey bars and wooden TP kids adventure frame.

There's a parking area next to the road and you're asked to leave your car there as there isn't really the space next to the cottages themselves. it's only a minute from the door, and another 30 seconds across the road are Bodigga Cliffs, a National Trust site. The coastal path runs through this site and extends past the small local labyrinth to the beach at Seaton to the east. to the west it's a short walk to the small beach at Millendreath, then on to Looe and Polperro.

Well worthwhile doing the six miles to Polperro if you're reasonably fit and have good walking boots. You can get more energy after the leg to Looe from Daisy's Cafe, just down the street from the coastal path. Friendly place, welcomes dogs, muddy boots and children with good cakes and tea/coffee etc.

Our kids were down-heartened to find they had further to go after the lunch stop at Talland Bay - don't stop at the first cafe, the fare at the second cafe to the west is much better and while they don't have much furniture, the beach is a very nice place for a spot of lunch. Talland Bay is a lovely small place for a day out if you can handle some very tight and steep single-track roads. It's a very enclosed bay with some nice sand, plenty of rock pools and even a shipwreck in the form of a steam trawler whose boiler is visible from the rocks at low tide. As with any seaside location with no lifeguards, kids should have wetsuits, preferably lifejackets and inflatables intended for pool use should be kept for the pool. Surf kayaks can be rented from the cafe at £9 per hour in 2012.

http://www.tallandbaybeachcafe.co.uk/

Less than half an hour further on the coastal path you come to the fishing village of Polperro. Tightly packed into a small valley this is a rewarding spot for a rest after a good walk.

Anyway, back at Summercourt the cottages are fully equipped for self catering. Well-behaved dogs are welcome. The accommodation has digital TV and DVD for relaxation after a hard day's holidaying. The WiFi has just been refurbished and provided a good signal for our devices with the kids able to watch their choices on iPlayer.

The central heating kicked in when needed, keeping the place comfortable and the bathroom looked newly redecorated. If you want a five star hotel, Summercourt is not for you. If you want warm, dry and comfortable self-catering accommodation for a family or you're a couple who like fairly wild coastal walks with dramatic scenery a minute from your door, you won't go far wrong with Summercourt Cottages.

The owners were very friendly and helpful. I'd left an adapter for my electric toothbrush at home, and when it looked like it was running out I asked whether they could help. When we got back that evening an adapter was sat on the dining table with a note."

For us side-trips included Trebah Gardens, a site documented as far back as 1086CE with a variety of amazing plants lining the sides of a small valley leading to a beach. The Eden Project was unmissable with Tropical and Mediterranean biodomes as well as good and very reasonably priced food and some educational value to boot. Watergate Bay is a beautiful sandy beach with nearly guaranteed surf and an RNLI-lifeguarded safe swimming zone as well as surf school, and kite surfing if you want a real adventure. There's also a Jamie Oliver restaurant...

We put the kids in for a windsurfing taster at Sibleyback Lake. http://www.swlakestrust.org.uk/lakes-and-facilities/the-lakes/siblyback-lake Could be an expensive mistake as they loved it. Also a Segway sample at http://www.cornwallsegway.co.uk/. Again possibly a mistake as the kids loved these machines and they're quite expensive to buy in the UK. Unfortunately until the Department of Transport replaces their current establishment with some people with brains, they're not practical for use in the UK unless you have a large private road to hand.

Oh, and Healey's Cider Farm was well worth a visit and not far from the Segways near Newquay.

Locally, the Monkey Sanctuary is only 15 minutes on foot from the cottages. It's clearly a facility dedicated to the welfare of the animals and the keepers will answer any number of questions on behaviour and the history of the animals. Better visit soon though, as it's clear the charity's ultimate goal is an end to keeping monkeys as pets, and if they succeed in that the facility will cease to be necessary once the current residents pass away.

We also visited the National Marine Aquarium in Plymouth. Excellent displays but bring plenty of change for parking and work out your ticket prices in advance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from Bodigga Cliffs
Liked least: The single-track road leading to the property could be a problem for some
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing