We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,340)
Filter reviews
1,340 results
Traveller rating
555
433
200
104
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
555
433
200
104
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews richardson hotels grand old hotel sea view lounge bar castle beach on arrival pendennis castle a bit tired bar menu lovely hotel sea front cream tea leisure facilities large room following morning scones public areas
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 1,340 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017

My wife and I visit 3/4 times a year and will continue to do so.In thinking about this years visit I was reminded of our trip from last summer when at times it was difficult to work out whether we were on a Summer holiday or a visit to Crufts.Whilst fully understanding the hotels need to maximise income and having nothing particularly negative to say about the behaviour of the animals one thing did concern me.So many owners let their dogs off the lead for a run around the gardens in the dark last thing at night.They were out of sight and racing around areas that included the swings/slide that the children would be visiting early the next morning.Should nature take over,as it surely must now and again then there must be some nasty consequences in store for families with young children and also the Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We selected this location to be a base while we explored southern Cornwall.
While the hotel gives the impression of its grand Victorian/Edwardian hey day it certainly struggles to live up to it.
The hotel was clearly in the process of refurbishing some of its rooms, which they sorely need. Our room, while having sea views was small. The windows were absolutely filthy so did little to enhance the view. The ensuite was very dated and had seen better days. Not nice seeing what was under the vanity when trying to relax in the bath.
What was most disappointing were the staff. The people on reception seemed to be more concerned with their own lives than that of their guests and the the wait staff in the restaurant were disinterested and looked miserable.
One positive from this stay was the breakfast each morning which was everything you would expect it to be.
If planning to stay in Falmouth before choosing this hotel it might be worth checking to see if they've finished there refurbishment.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GRWhiteDavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at the Falmouth several times for various family functions.

The views and position of hotel are great.

However some of the rooms are a tad expensive for the size and some of the decor could do with updating.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank KarenR3173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

The room we were allocated was a little small, however cosy and clean. Restaurant was everything you expect from a hotel in this group. However the highlight was the staff especially in the bar area where their attention to detail was superb. Thank you we hope to make a return visit soon.

Room Tip: Sea view would be amazing
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

stayed here in October 2016 for 5 nights, had a sea view room, managed to get a out of season fully inclusive deal for me and my wife plus 4 other family members, you had a good choice of meals, you could have either the restaurant or bar menu, both had good choice of meals and we could not fault any of them, the rooms were spacious and tidy, the staff were friendly and helpful.
the location was good with just a 10 minute walk into the town, lots of different shops to visit, loads of different towns to visit which are not too far away, car park was a little full but still managed OK.
all in all 9 out of 10.

Room Tip: we had a sea view room on third floor, all our rooms were spacious and comfortable
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews