We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Captains Reach

The 32 inch HD TV has wifi, Netflix and a DVD player.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The 32 inch HD TV has wifi, Netflix and a DVD player.
The living room is spacious and seats 6 people comfortably You can eat your breakfast and look at the spectacular views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The 32 inch HD TV has wifi, Netflix and a DVD player.
The living room is spacious and seats 6 people comfortably
You can eat your breakfast and look at the spectacular views.
The kitchen is well equipped and huge.
We have tried to think of everything so that you don't have to.
The Rangemaster double oven gas cooker is really great for master chef creations.
The art work found throughout the property is by local artists.
The twin room is great for children when they are ready for a good night's sleep.
We have been told by many guests that our beds are really comfy.
The ensuite kingsize room is great place to escape to  and relax on the reclining sofa.
Both kingsize rooms have flat screen TVs,DVD players and hairdryers..
All of our rooms are spacious and decorated to a high standard.
The ensuite bathroom has an electric Mira shower, the best shower on the planet.
Sit out on the enclosed terrace which is a real suntrap in the afternoon and evenings.
Captain's Reach was built in the late 1800's as a Captain's home.
Look out for the slate Captain's Reach sign above the porch doors.
Only two doors away from our property this pub serves excellent food.
This is a view from outside the house we look forward to seeing you soon.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Papamama1
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

There were five of us staying at Captain's Reach; myself, my husband, our son, daughter-in-law and 3 year old grandson. The cottage is stunning inside and the pictures we had seen when booking it definitely don't do it justice!! Gaye was very welcoming when we got there and the cream tea she provided was delicious!! Everything had been thought of to make this very much a home from home. Despite Gaye and Jeremy living on the second floor of the cottage, we didn't know they were there; however, we knew if we needed anything we could call on them. The location is convenient for the town and the steps back up to the cottage helped work off those Cornish pasties!! Falmouth itself is a lovely place to stay and if you didn't want to use the car you wouldn't need to with plenty of good deals on boat, train and bus travel. We would definitely look at booking this again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It really felt like home from home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
Thank you for your feed-back and we are so glad thaty you enjoyed your stay in Falmouth and the accommodation. Come back and see us soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor A
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great place to stay, great location, great amenities”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The house was very spacious, had a wonderful, fully equipped kitchen. I drew the short straw and slept in the twin bed room but the bed was very comfortable and the area was very quiet during the day and at night. My Mom and sister had the other two rooms and were very happy with them also. Loved the view of the water and the boats over breakfast and only a ten minute walk to the beach and five minutes into town. My mom couldn't manage the steps down into town but a quick 3 pound taxi ride solved that problem and they always arrived very promptly. Would definitely recommend as a great place to stay.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Lack of a dishwasher
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
So gald that you enjoyed staying at Captain's Reach and we would welcome you and your family back to stay anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H
2 reviews
“If you are looking for a home from home with a view on holiday this is it”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed here for 10 days with my sister and our elderly mother. We had recently sold the family home in Cornwall and moved my mum to a one bedroom apartment. So this was the first time we had booked rented accommodation in Cornwall. We were looking for a home from home for an extended visit from my sister who lives in the USA. We were not disappointed. The house is well appointed very comfortable, spacious and the owners have gone to a great deal of trouble to make their guests feel at home. Fresh scones on arrival, picnic basket for those sunny days out, DVDs for the rainy days. The house is on a terrace on the hill overlooking the harbour so great view with a series of steps down to the centre of town in a matter of minutes. If steps are problem (as they were for my mum) Abacus taxis operate a standard £3 taxi fare to wherever you want to go in the town centre. with friendly helpful drivers. Falmouth is an ideal base for exploring the west of Cornwall and the fishing villages and harbours of the south east Cornish coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the homely feel of the property
Liked least: no dishwasher, basement master bedroom and en suite beautiful but needs more light and soundproofing, vry noisy once the other gusts are up and about
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful review we are always delighted when our guests let us know what a great time they had. You and your family are welcome to come back and stay anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beba688
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“central, comfortable location with pretty views of bay”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Travelled with wife and 12 and 10 year old children. Property was very well presented with comfortable furnishings and lots of space for privacy when required. Lovely kitchen with plenty of equipment including range master stove if self catering. Really nice showers and lots of books and games available if fancy a night in. The owner Gaye, was a fab host, not intrusive but available if needed to ask any tips. Property a short walk into the centre of Falmouth so ideal for restaurants and shops. Parking was not a problem. Would definitely consider returning in future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed your time in Falmouth. We really try to make all our guests feel at home and would welcome you and your family back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAH2008
Twickenham
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Immaculate apartment, spacious and comfortable”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at Captain's Reach. The place is spacious and feels like a home from home. Its decor and facilities make it wonderfully comfortable. Fresh flowers and home baked scones add a homely and luxurious touch. Great kitchen with range cooker and fridge freezer (a dishwasher would make it perfect). Everywhere was immaculately clean. Views from the sitting room window over the harbour where there is always something going on. The owners Gaye and Jeremy make you really feel welcome.

We loved Falmouth - it is a bustling town with a mix of residents, students and holiday makers that gives it a lively atmosphere. Walk down to the town in only a few minutes or along to the beach in 20 minutes or all the way to Pendennis in not many more. Lots of wonderful seafood restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness and quality of fittings and decor, location
Liked least: Parking space not always easy to find; no dishwasher
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We will look into the possibilty of installing a dishwasher and we look forward to welcoming you all back very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing