We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely cottage - a (tiny) home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Harbour Cottage

Stunning views across the Carrick Roads to Flushing from the private, fully enclosed garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning views across the Carrick Roads to Flushing from the private, fully enclosed garden
Dining area with incredible water views Comfortable and light living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Stunning views across the Carrick Roads to Flushing from the private, fully enclosed garden
Dining area with incredible water views
Comfortable and light living room
Bedroom with fabulous views over the water
Comfortable double bed in the master bedroom
Double wardrobe in the master bedroom
Living area
Comfortable sofa in the living area
Living area
Fully equipped kitchen and dining area
Fully equipped kitchen and dining area
Dining area looking in to the cloakroom area
Enjoy the views over dinner
Front entrance to the 19th century cottage
Compact but pretty and stylish bathroom incorporating bath, shower over, basin and WC
Comfortable single bed in the second double bedroom
Second bedroom shown with the truckle bed made available for a fourth guest
Panoramic views from the master bedroom
Pretty, private, fully enclosed garden with table, chairs and sandstone paved patio/barbecue area
Treat yourself to a nice, cold glass of something special at the end of a busy day sightseeing...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Julie336
Strasbourg, France
1 review
“A lovely cottage - a (tiny) home from home”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We enjoyed our stay at harbour cottage (we = two adults, one teenager). The bedrooms were adequate - the spare one my son used was much bigger than I had expected from the description. On the whole however, the cottage is rather small, but very comfortable. As it has large windows, it is very light even on a rainy day. The sea view is great and is best enjoyed in the kitchen, which was perfect for us. We found all the amenities we needed and felt very well taken care of by the owner.
I would not advise this property for families with small children or anybody who might have trouble walking a steep flight of stairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the house.
Liked least: The bathroom sink - very nice to look at, but not very practical.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate...
Harrogate
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everything we needed - cosy, clean, good location”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a great week at Harbour Cottage. Although it was small, we had absolutely no problem as a family of four and the size was more than made up for by the views and the convenient location. To be fair, the size of the property is clear from the photographs so we weren't expecting acres of space. The views from the rear of the house are fabulous - it was great to sit in the sun in the morning having breakfast watching the boats going to and fro in the harbour. The house does lack a bit of kerb appeal but inside it is well presented and clean. We were a bit concerned about parking, but we always found a space within easy reach and it didn't cause any problems (in a peak week in August) despite having all the bits and bobs associated with young children to ferry about. We switched the tv on once and reception was poor but we weren't that bothered - the broadband was excellent though. There is a pub next-door-but-one but this seemed a good place and we found the sound of chatter (only really audible outside anyway) quite pleasant and it certainly didn't disturb us. It's an easy walk from Harbour Cottage into the town, with pubs, shops, banks, nice restaurants within a five minute walk; very convenient. I think at the price Harbour Cottage is excellent and was everything we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, convenient location
Liked least: Appearance from front
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Hi, thank you very much for leaving a review, and I am so sorry that it's taken me so long to respond; I'm ashamed to admit that I've only just realised that it's possible! I was extremely sad to hear that you were disappointed with the cottage, particularly as it's happily not a reaction that we're used to. The cottage is indeed small, but I do try to make this abundantly clear in the description so that people know what to expect. For the same reason, I also include a large number of photographs so that people can see exactly where they will be staying.
As for the poor TV signal, I'm really sorry about this experience. In response to your experience, we have now installed digital TV so that this problem - common in Falmouth - is no longer an issue. Obviously this does not help you with the poor TV viewing experience you had, but please rest assured that we listened and then acted to solve the problem as soon as possible. As for the pub, this is again HIGHLY unusual, I can only think that perhaps there was some significant local event on (which may also explain the extremely unusual parking issues) because the Boathouse is a highly regarded but quiet pub in a well thought of residential area, and the landlord goes to great lengths to ensure that they operate in harmony with the local community. The double glazing in the cottage is usually more than sufficient to cancel out any noise, I'm extremely sorry to hear that this was not your experience. I am delighted to hear though that you appreciated the views and the location being literally just a couple of minutes walk from town. Thanks once again for taking the time to leave a review :))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 19 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kaladin
Littlehampton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house with great views!”
Reviewed 29 March 2013 for a stay in September 2012

I should have written this last year but have only just got round to it! From the outside Harbour Cottage doesn't look like much but inside it is perfect! The main bedroom is beautiful the bed very comfy and just right for a couple or a small family. It is situated 5 minutes from the town and with a pub next door (you would expect it to be noisy but it isn't!) amazing views across to Flushing and St Mawes. The only down sides to this cosy little house is that it can get a little cold (the heating certainly makes up for that) and the bathroom is a little small.

The one thing I couldn't get used to was how quiet it was! It was a welcome break from all the noise!

My stay would have been perfect if not for the useless British weather! I hope I will be able to stay at Harbour Cottage again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, amazing!!
Liked least: The bathroom was a bit small but it did look like a work in progress
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing