We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
US$156
View deal
Official Hotel
US$146
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
PricelineUS$156
Hotels.comUS$156
CheapTicketsUS$156
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,188)
Filter reviews
2,189 results
Traveller rating
849
794
367
108
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
849
794
367
108
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canal boat canaletto restaurant business room overlooking the canal city centre club room car park hotel spa health club bar prices lovely hotel breakfast was buffet style course meal no air con sauna and steam room bar area would stay again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 2,189 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

Check in swift and efficient, staff were amazing through out the hotel and so friendly. Throughout the hotel everything was made covid safe, to ensure you could relax and enjoy your break and after such a tough year it was wonderful to swim in the pool and relax in the sauna. We were given a 1 hour time slot and told to change in our room and come down to the pool with a towel round you, the young lady on the pool reception was very helpful and helped us to feel relaxed. Breakfasts were very efficient and the staff look after you very well and again you choose a 1hour time slot. The rooms are quite large and the housekeeping staff are brilliant, make sure you have everything you need. The room was very hot but they provide a fan. Shower over bath is very good. Had a lovely time in chester and thankyou to all your staff who really are a credit to you at The mill. Thankyou

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 June 2021

Dear Alisa H,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to the MILL, and taking the time to write this review. We are delighted that you found our staff members so helpful and they made your stay so special. I will pass on your kind comments on to the team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2021 via mobile

Arrived by motorcycle. Secure parking with CCTV right opposite reception - reassuring for bikers. Hotel clean and plenty of sanitizer stations. Room ok but stuffy, window only opens a little, was difficult to breathe at night. Not employees’ fault obvs. Staff performance was OUTSTANDING, especially at breakfast. Bright, cheerful, friendly and attentive. Congratulations on delivering a first class team performance, and thank you. Nick & Rebecca

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 June 2021

Dear Nick D,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to the MILL, and taking the time to write this review. We are delighted that you found our staff members outstanding and that you found our secure parking reassuring. I will pass on your kind comments on to the team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2021

My partner booked the hotel for my
Birthday treat. We got there to find no parking directly outside the hotel but we were then directed to what I can only describe as a drug den car park under the bridge which I named “crack alley”...... we finally found a free space only to be told by a gent in a white shirt and clip board we cannot park there as someone in a red car was parking there.....ok that’s fine but we were then told to park in a car park that we originally were told not to park in...no one has a clue!!!!! Very disorganised!!! The pictures on the website are not the rooms you get to stay in! Obviously the hotel paid a lot of money for the marketing aspect if only they paid attention to cleaning!!! Rooms are very dirty very hot and very smelly! The window opens all of ten centimetres, and the rooms are very dirty and outdated! Mould on the shower curtain and mould and brown “stains” on the walls and curtains! I honestly would have been happier in a £60 per night b&b in Blackpool...it would have been better....it would have been cleaner.... £185 for a room half the size of my bedroom at home! Bed was hard, towels were hard, carpet was so dusty and we had to call down for a fan..granted this was provided but I was a small desk fan...it was at least 30 degrees in that room for the majority of the night. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL IT IS VILE!!!!!! Overpriced smelly rooms!! You need to tell the cleaners that cobwebs and dust should be cleaned before someone sleeps in the room. Breakfast was basic! We were ignored by several members of staff and we only wanted another pot off coffee! No member of staff policing face masks for people approaching the “buffet breakfast” which given the current pandemic you think they would be meticulous about this. Best thing about the hotel.....I’ve slated the cleaning but there was one lady cleaner I didn’t get her name but she had pink hair, we met her in the loft area on the way downstairs! She was boiling hot working in all black.... but she was absolutely lovely nothing was too much trouble for her, and even said if we needed anything to make the room more comfortable she would oblige and bring us more fans etc. The lifts were slow there was people entering them with no masks on. STAY AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sarahdees2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 June 2021

Dear sarahdee2021

Thank you for drawing our attention to the elements of your stay that fell short of your expectations, It is absolutely vital for us to understand where we can improve, and I will pass details of your experience on to our relevant teams.

I wish to apologise for any aspect of your stay that was not up to our usual high standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2021

We enjoyed our stay nice relaxed atmosphere friendly staff clean rooms. Very organised with booking breakfast time slots ect with having to stick to COVID restrictions.The room was pritty stuffy due to only being able to open window a small amount but wouldn't stop us booking again next time we visit chester. Great location an a spot on Indian restaurant few mins walk from hotel gate of india

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hayleysF9317YZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Williams-Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Thank you Jasmineteapot for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Mill Hotel & Spa.

We are very glad to hear that there were many aspects of the Hotel that you were able to experience. I will have great pleasure in forwarding your comments on to our management team.

We are very grateful that you took the time to review your recent visit, as they allow us access to guests personal opinions, and would like to thank you for your comments regarding the room.

We hope to welcome you again at a future date, and ask that you contact a member of our reception and reservations team.

Kind regards

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2021

Hotel is central to Chester but rooms do not look like the photographs from the website. Very outdated and small - you can’t open the window too much so the rooms are very hot and stuffy.
Breakfast was average.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank georgiagolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 June 2021

Dear georgiagolightly

Thank you for drawing our attention to the elements of your stay that fell short of your expectations, Due to the diverse range of bedrooms at the hotel not all bedrooms will look exactly like the photographs on the website, however we do try and choose images that represent the majority of the bedrooms available.

I wish to apologise for any aspect of your stay that was not up to our usual high standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews