We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab 50th weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Holly House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joyce2809
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fab 50th weekend ”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Went with 11 friends/family for my 50th birthday weekend last October.
OMG.............. The house is amazing, looks even better than the photos on the net. It's huge, bright and wonderfully furnished, definately does not disappoint!!! We were really lucky with the weather while there. We did afternoon tea in the front garden on the afternoon we arrived. It was so tranquil with amazing views of the sea. When all our party arrived we decided to book in the local pub which is just under a mile away. It might be wise to get a taxi as although with torches and flat heels at the ready it was really dark and a couple of our party fell on the uneven roads. We did eventually make it to the pub (Red Lion) for a good priced evening meal and drinks. When we returned to the house, we partied till one by one we fell into the very comfy beds. Kitchen fabulous size for any gathering and loads of seats. Next day we split up some stayed and enjoyed the house, great comfortable lounge area and although we didn't use house has a huge? bright conservatory room as well. Some of our party drove to Cheshire Oaks, not too far away. In the evening, again all ended up in the kitchen for a great sit down meal. Comfortably sits 12. The kitchen island great for serving food. We were all sad to leave on the Sunday morning, was a truly great weekend in a truly great house.
The owners are really nice and very helpful. The cental heating broke down on day 2 of our stay and the owners bought and brought around enough new heaters to keep the rooms warm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thank you for the review Joyce.

It was really unfortunate about the heating breaking down as it is a system that was renewed only two years ago and trying to get an engineer on a Saturday night is challenging and intrusive for the guests. However, you were all very understanding and the water was still hot and with lots of heaters the house was still cosy.

The Red Lion is half a mile from the house and we've reflected that guests using phones to light the way in the dark during winter isn't safe. We now have at the house 12 torches and luminous safety vests to make sure everyone has an incident free walk to the pub and back.

Thank you again Joyce and we would love to see you again at Holly House,

David and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsay m
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was my 2nd stay at Holly House and once again I was not disappointed. David and Paula are excellent, helpful and prompt to respond to queries. The house is stunning, clean and the views are a real treat.
This time I brought my family for a weekend and they were all filled with praise for the house and it's views.
Now what shall I plan next so I can come back?!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesshire...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Super! What a fantastic weekend!”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I can 100% recommend this beautiful cottage to anyone looking for a weekend away! I arranged for a group of 12 of us to stay for my sisters hen party and we had the BEST time. Paula (the owner) was fantastic at replying to emails regarding any concerns I had and came to greet us on arrival to go through the smaller details of the house.
The house is about a 40 minute drive to Chester and we were able to easily arrange a taxi to and from Chester for a night out. During our stay, we also arranged for a chef to come and cook us a 3 course meal. Paula, kindly recommended a chef to us, who provided a stunning meal.
The interior of the house is very well kept and tastefully decorated. I can easily say that all of the girls who came for the weekend were impressed with the accommodation.
It's incredibly difficult to find any negative points of our stay! In fact.....I can't find any!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oojh
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I booked holly house as a surprise for a hen party and everyone was amazed by the beauty of this property! From the moment we pulled up on the drive we where in love with holly house! The surroundings are stunning, the house inside and out is beautiful, comfy, homely, clean and modern! No matter how many times you look at the photos of this house nothing can prepare you for that moment you pull up and see it in real life!!
We also went on a night out to Chester which only took 30 minutes in a mini bus and cost us £20 return each so you can have both relax in the country and a night out on the town with this property! Paula and David are lovely and can't do enough for you to make you feel welcome! Are already in talks about bringing our whole families on holiday here!!! See you soon holly house xxx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill W
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could not have been better”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I booked Holly House to celebrate my wife's 50th Birthday with some close friends. All 12 of us were amazed. The location; décor; and facilities could not have been better.
I would recommend this property for everyone who is planning a special event - Holly House will not disappoint!
Paula & David were perfect hosts. They made us feel very welcome and were very patient with all my questions beforehand.
As with other reviews, we all left talking about how we should plan a return trip. The views were spectacular and whilst our winter trip was perfect, I think it would be even better in summer when guests could spend more time on the patio taking in the views
Thank you for helping me make my wife’s 50th so special!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing