We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Oh, Lovely Place!”
other travellers have booked this property
The cosy living room with open working fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cosy living room with open working fireplace
The house is in an Edwardian terrace in a quiet residential area The dining room table seats up to 6 people and there's a selection of books and games for guest use
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The cosy living room with open working fireplace
The house is in an Edwardian terrace in a quiet residential area
The dining room table seats up to 6 people and there's a selection of books and games for guest use
Guests can use the cottage Wi-Fi to plan sightseeing trips
The dining room connects to the kitchen
The large dining table seats up to 6
The kitchen is open to the dining room creating a sociable living space
The well equipped kitchen
The kitchen has a gas hob, electric oven, microwave and washer dryer.
The master bedroom has a king size bed
All bed linen is provided
Bed linen provided
The family bathroom has a bath and a separate walk-in shower
Our prices include bed linen and towels
There's a private off-street parking area immediately in front of the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eric_Rick
Northfield, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Oh, Lovely Place!”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Once I looked at the pics on the website, I thought it was nice and I was kind of skeptical. However, when my family and I finally settled there, it's really lovely and excellent place for us. The nice owner left us a specific manual, biscuits, tea and coffee when we arrived; it made us feel warmly welcome. It was easy to walk from Baker's Cottage to downtown Chester. After we spent 8 nights, we were sad to leave. Definitely, we would come back to that place when we will visit England again! We loved that place!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuelphOnt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at Baker's Cottage for 12 nights and loved every minute. The cottage was well appointed, ideally located, and just the perfect size for my husband, 19 year old son and I. We travelled to Wales, to family in Blacon, and to various sites outside of Chester. Shopping in Chester was fantastic and the green grocer in Handbridge was terrific. We were so sad to leave the cottage and can hardly wait until we return. I highly recommend this holiday rental for those who are keen to explore Chester, Wales, Liverpool, the Lake District and Yorkshire. It is truly a home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, location and size.
Liked least: Kitchen was lacking a few utensils and necessary cooking ingredients (i.e. olive oil, vinegar, flour)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Little Treasure”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in September 2013

From the moment we arrived at Baker's Cottage we immediately felt at home. It was very homely and comfortable with lots of nice touches such as tea coffee and biscuits on arrival and lovely welcoming letter from the owners who I must say have pretty much thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable. It was exceptionally clean. It is situated in a very quiet part of Chester but your at in the City Centre within 15 mins. We loved our accommodation and would certainly like to return sometime in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Couldn't fault property or Chester itself - loved it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2014
We’re always pleased to hear that our guests felt at home at the cottage and found it a convenient location for exploring the city. We look forward to welcoming them back in the future.
Jo & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villagefo...
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in March 2013

After a long journey we opened the door to a lovely warm cottage,with tea,coffee,milk and biscuits for us.
All home comforts in a very quiet residential area, easy walk to the city centre, we used the train to visit Liverpool,Port Sunlight,Llandudno and the local bus for a visit to Mold.
Hope to return and see a bit more of the area. A big thank you to Jo and Peter for letting us share their cottage

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2014
It’s great to read how much our guests pack into their holidays – there’s so much to see in this part of the world (we’ve been coming here for nearly ten years and we still haven’t done everything on our wish list!). We’re glad to see they took advantage of the excellent local public transport network which gives everyone a break from driving. We’re looking forward to welcoming them back in the future for some more exploring.
Jo & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie W
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Gem”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Our second visit to Bakers Cottage did not disappoint. Arrived on a cold windy November evening in the dark , opened the door to a warm lit welcoming retreat. Fresh bread, milk and treats in the kitchen and fresh linen and towels , fantastic. We enjoyed Chester immensely , wandering down to the city centre for dinner only a ten minute walk away by the beautiful river.Bakers Cottage is a gem and we will be back. Jo Cunningham makes the whole process of getting away for a few days a breeze , from start to finish the booking process was efficient but personal . Would give 6 stars .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2014
We’re glad to hear that this reviewer enjoyed their second visit and we’re looking forward to welcoming them back a third time. We love the walks by the river Dee and into Chester city centre and it’s always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed them too.
Jo & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing