We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
68
25
11
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
25
11
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub beautiful place to stay yogurt stayed here for nights rooms are lovely comfy bed powerful shower b and b cooked breakfast full english following morning paula landlady renovation refurbed
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 2 dogs for a mini break. Paula the Landlady was an excellent host and really friendly, as were here staff. The locals make you feel really welcome in the bar also. When Paula showed me to our room I was pleasantly suprised. It is a lovely spacious, clean and well decorated room with a lovely clean bathroom. Little added extras such as mini cordial sachets, a heated towell rail and plenty of tea and coffee making facilities. It was very quiet at night which made for a peaceful nights sleep and the bed was huge and so comfy. Breakfast was lovely. A great selection of cereals, fresh fruit, juices and yoghurts plus toast and freshly brewed coffee. The Pizza's were a must for anyone staying! Couldn't fault it at all. You can even get takeaway delivered to the bar to enjoy with a nice pint! Loved it. Thank you!!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank beckynorton5960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

Thank you Becky for your kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you both. We hope to see you again in the future.
Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

The pub looks nice enough, but if you are looking for a room for the night you should look elsewhere.
We arrived for a short weekend away, absolutely ruined thanks to this place. Having had no sleep (it was too late to go elsewhere) I wouldn't come here again.

Firstly, the room stank, no, not just a little bit, it smelled so badly I had to remind myself to breathe - open the window I hear you say! No deal, immediately outside all of the rooms are the locals smoking and drinking, not cool. The carpets were stained, probably because (as the sign on the wall clearly states) dogs are welcome! I've never been to an inn where you can bring your dog into the room and it's obviously well used as a dog house due to the awful smell.

The noise was terrible, the rooms are built with no decent insulation so you can hear everything amplified. The car park a few feet away from your head, you get woken up constantly by dazzling headlights and tyres rumbling over the gravel. It's like being back in work (I drive Arctics) but at least they pay me for nights out and the drivers are never allowed to bring dogs into the cabs!!

The lack of decent insulation means the rooms are cold too, so if the reek and the noise doesn't keep you awake the cold will!

I'm not the first reviewer to say these exact same things! Don't allow dogs to sleep in hotel rooms! Basic stuff!

Oh, and no wifi (less than 1 bar) unlike the advert!

Next time I will stay at a travel lodge, cheaper, no noise, more hygenic, and no dog smell!

Stayed: January 2017
Thank cookpassbabtridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Dear Sir/Madam
I do not know your name as you clearly made no mention of this to me or my team during your stay so I was unable to resolve your complaint which would have been much easier. Firstly, I am very surprised that the room smelled as we have very high cleanliness scores however if this was the case please accept my sincerest apologies. Had you brought this to my attention at the time I would have been able to change your room thus giving you a more pleasant stay and me a more pleasant review.
We do indeed allow dogs to stay in some of our rooms and we do not intend to change that as they are without exception far more polite than some of our human guests. We do always ask that dog owners bring with them their own bedding for their pets and do not allow them on any of the furnishings; which they are happy to comply with..
As for the noise, we are a small village pub which is an old coaching inn so during licencing hours you must expect to hear cars coming and going and customers smoking outside.... If that didn't happen I wouldn't have a business. The rooms are heated 24/7 during the winter time and there is extra bedding available for people who need it.
I would suggest that in the future it may be worthwhile doing a little bit more research on you desired destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Stayed here over New Year as we were visiting friends. Wonderful friendly landlady who went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable. Took our 10 year old daughter and it was great the sofa bed made up with a proper mattress on it. She loved having the double bed to herself. The room was clean and the added bonus of lovely bathroom treats was a bonus. Great real ales served on tap. Breakfasts were fantastic, with great produce ... the sausages are to die for. Would definitely recommend a visit here.

Lovely quiet village with some great walks and a short run to the beach for a brisk New Years Day walk.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Thank you Jackie for you kind review, we look forward to seeing you again when you return in March.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

The first problem was finding it! Make sure of your directions before you set out as it's down a small side Road in a very small village and the sign on the main road through the village has been obscured by brambles!
On being shown to our room, which was up a sort of fire escape outside of the main building, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was very attractive and nice and warm.
However the same could not be said of our dining room experience the following morning. We were the only people there and the room was cold and the choice of food limited.
On returning to our room later that day I discovered that the carpet was very wet inside the door and on opening my suitcase which was on the floor nearby I found that my clothes which were still inside were also wet! No explanation was offered when we mentioned what had happened and no apology either.
Overall our stay was ok but we would not revisit.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Hello Kim
Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies that your concerns were not dealt with in a better manner. Reading this review was the first time that I was made aware of a problem. We have since checked the door many times and have not had a reoccurring problem so we can only assume that there may have been heavy rain and winds on the day which caused a problem, other than that it is a complete mystery to us. If you would like to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate to call me.
As for directions, we are in a small village however we are easily accessible and any Sat Nav will send you directly to us.
Regards
Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit in 3 years to the White horse inn,the staff and rooms are lovely but I was ready for going home at one o'clock in the morning after been kept up with the constant noise from people sitting outside below are room having a cigarette as you can imagine the conversations got louder as the night went on adding to this the pub door slammed shut every time, we stayed here because the village prides itself on being a sleepy little hollow but I think we would of got a better nights sleep staying in the middle of Chester.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank karen060863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Hi Karen
I'm sorry that you were disturbed by any noise but as you know from staying with us before, we are a pub and you had unfortunately booked the room next to the front door. We had a 30th Birthday celebration so it was particularly busy on that night. If it hasn't put you off, which I hope it hasn't please call me direct next time and ask me for a room that is further away from the front of the pub. I hope that you still enjoyed your weekend, it certainly looked like you finished your Christmas shopping.
Kind regards
Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews