We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A dream of a cottage in an excellent location”
other travellers have booked this property
1 Selby Cottage, Fowlmere self catering holiday cottage nr Cambridge and Royston
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1 Selby Cottage, Fowlmere self catering holiday cottage nr Cambridge and Royston
Roses over both the doors near to Cambridge Olde worlde lounge with quality sofa and chair.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
1 Selby Cottage, Fowlmere self catering holiday cottage nr Cambridge and Royston
Roses over both the doors near to Cambridge
Olde worlde lounge with quality sofa and chair.
Romantic character bedroom close to Cambridge and Royston
Farmhouse Kitchen breakfast room with belfast sink
Black out curtains in all the bedrooms.
Bathroom with shower over bath
New Driveway for no 1 June 2015
Inglenook fireplace for a romantic evening in front of the fire
A comfortable Kingsize bed for a good nights sleep
2nd bedroom as single
2nd bedroom as twin
One of the windy staircases
BACK DOOR SIGN
Round Moat, Fowlmere Cambridgeshire
The Chequers Pub Fowlmere sign
The Swan Sachins Indian Restaurant Fowlmere near Cambridge
Village Church Fowlmere
Fowlmere village green
Punting in Cambridge we suggest you book a guided tour with Scudmores
The Chop House Cambridge with bicyles outside
Kings college Cambridge from a punt
Pretty patio table and chairs for alfresco dining!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Karen S
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
“A dream of a cottage in an excellent location”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The cottage was cute and full of character and catered for our every need.
Plenty of interesting places to visit nearby,wish we could have stayed longer!
Owners very friendly and accommodating.
Would visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the cottage
Liked least: Parking the car away from the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marglichf...
lichfield
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely cottage in a very nice village. The cottage was very comfortable
With everything you could need. It was very quirky and obviously old. The welcome
Was superb and the welcome pack was the most generous I have ever had in renting
Both here and abroad. The hatch between the two bedrooms was a little steep to climb
Over to get to the bathroom and the parking was a little awkward as the best place was
A little bit further along the narrow lane. Overall I would certainly reccommend this
Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the olde worlde appearance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potatoes7...
Tyne and wear
2 reviews
“Lovely, quaint cottage”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just spent a lovely 3 days at fowlmere , the cottage is beautiful, old and full of character , however this would not be suitable for anyone with limited mobility, due to windy staircases and access to the toilet via the bedroom.
It's location is in a picturesque village close to Cambridge with several good pubs and an Indian takeaway close by.
We choose to use the barbecue on two occasions and visited the nearby farm shop as recommended in the owners useful guide .
The owner was very friendly and has certainly delivered in presenting a great holiday retreat . Will hopefully return .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Really pleased you enjoyed our beautiful cottage and the village. Also pleased to hear the BBQ was enjoyed and our fantastic Indian restaurant/takeaway Sachins never fails to please. Totally agree the cottage is not suitable for the less able. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClassicRi...
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An excellent base for sightseeing”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I agree entirely with the previous reviewers so I don't intend to repeat what they have said, except that the starter pack was exceptional.
The other reviewers wanted a getaway, we wanted a touring base to see the local attractions. It is ideal for many NT, EH and independent houses. There are also nature reserves - walkable to a good RSPB site. Cambridge is 30 mins drive, 'park and ride' away. For me the best bit was that it is 10 mins from IWM Duxford, one of the worlds best aircraft museums. Ideal for their airshows.
I have to mention Janice herself who personally welcomed us to the cottage and was only an email away if help or copious advice was needed. Her hint about shopping at Bury Farm was well worth it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed the cottage and it made the ideal base for you to explore the many attractions of East Anglia and in particular that you enjoyed your birthday treat to the Duxford Legends Air Show.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyJ144...
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
“This was just right for us”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This cottage was very nice indeed. We needed to be near Cambridge but away from the hurly burly of the city. Travelling into Cambridge was easy for us by car but park and ride would also have been possible. We found peace and quiet and a quality sometimes difficult to find in some rentals. We loved the crockery and the superb variety of utensils, huge deep leather sofa, lovely bedding etc. The welcome basket of crusty bread, conserves, milk etc was so useful after a 5 hour drive and a lovely bottle of wine too! Best of all was the attention afforded to us by Janice who met us, explained anything extra we should know and was available on the phone should we have needed her.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Personal attention
Liked least: shared driveway
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
Really pleased you were able to relax in the cottage after your long journey and that you enjoyed the peaceful village surroundings when you didn't need to be in Cambridge for your meetings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing