We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”

Review of The Gothic Mansion

exterior back lawn to mansion
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
exterior back lawn to mansion
Blue toile double bedroom with ensuite wet room ground floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
60 reviews
exterior back lawn to mansion
Blue toile double bedroom with ensuite wet room ground floor
ensuite wet room ground floor
Master ensuite with Jacuzzi bathroom
One of many halls in the mansion and plenty to see
Enclosed and high gated  gardens perfect for the klids and family to enjoy.
Chesterfield lounge
stained glass stair landing, you will just love being in eloquent surrounding s of the mansion
The Gothic Mansion Bristols best kept secret!
Double boudoir
The Gothic Mansion nestled in an acre of grounds and on site car park
Grand reception hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
13 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 50
Bristol, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mahmuda H
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We rented the Gothic Mansion from Friday to Sunday for a family gathering to celebrate my eldest daughter's 18th Birthday. It was a wonderful weekend where friends and family could relax and enjoy each others company. The Gothic Mansion team were very helpful and welcoming. I feel that they went that extra mile to accommodate our needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mina p
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful family stay”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We loved this place so much the first time, we decided on a return visit to The gothic mansion.
Since we last came they owners have updated the bathrooms, which are now luxurious. I was really pleased to find a jacuzzi bathroom in our bedroom. There are now 2 walk in showers on the ground floor which greatly help with the limited mobility of our elderly mother. I would say this property is perfect for large families such as ours to meet up and i know nowhere else that can offer the facilities and space of the mansion. It is so close to the centre and perfect for the kids to go to the zoo.
We will always return here for our family breaks. Thanks to the owners for being so wonderful and assisting with all our needs.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas r
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place to stay when you want to get away”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had decided to visit Bristol for the weekend and needed a large property for our extended family to relax in. We wanted something a bit different from your average hotel and felt that the Gothic Mansion ticked all the boxes. On arrival we were met by the owner who was very welcoming. We were pleased he took us round the building and talked about the extensive and fascinating history of this grade 2 listed building. He was always on hand if we had any queries. One of guests left their lights on and the owner was on hand to jump start the car. Something that you would not expect, but very welcome. All in all the house was beautiful in appearance with lovely bathrooms and an amazing Jacuzzi in the 4 poster bedroom. Definitely recommend you stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: bathrooms
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rjhw83
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent party house”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A massive house perfect for a large group gathering with all the added extra's you need. Andrew and Misha helped us source catering and even looking into getting a cinema screen for us.

The house is full of character and a great location for easy access of everything Bristol has to offer. Everyone that made the trip couldn't believe the size of the house, more than enough space for the largest party.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, amount of space,
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best bright side!”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We stumbled upon this charming Manor house , it was perfect and simply amazing. Not only did the owners save a surprise weekend for my dads 70th birthday, within only a weeks notice of our arrival ( our original booking was cancelled at the last minute) but the owners , luckily for us! were extremely helpful, accommodating and managed to rearrange the restaurants and activities and within only a few hours our weekend was back on track.
This was nothing short of a disaster until the Gothic Mansion saved the day. I can't begin to describe the place as accurately as I would like, you have to be there to really appreciate it. It has a gorgeous mix of timeless opulence and homely comfort. The grand dining room was the perfect setting for our birthday celebration and the elegant lounge was the perfect place to relax in front of the roaring log fire.
The Gothic Mansion is so historic and it's personality lovingly maintained. It is such a happy place, conveniently located close to the city, each room is unique and charming, a house/hotel doesn't provide and the beds are all Egyptian cotton, not cheap bedding. There are nice walks around the area or a taxi into the centre only takes a couple of minutes. Andrew and Misha thank you so much for all your efforts and positive "can do" attitude which made the weekend a whole new level of special. Your house was the perfect solution to our difficult predicament. Thank you so much for everything, from the grateful party of 14. The children are already asking me when they can return to the enchanted castle!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lounge
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing