We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloody lovely!”
Review of Bar 44 Bristol

Bar 44 Bristol
Ranked #202 of 1,694 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: US$4 - US$41
Description: Situated in an old bank on Regent Street, Clifton village, the building has been lovingly and inspirationally refurbished bringing a fun and sophisticated restaurant space. Our great friend, Spanish artist Andi Rivas, has once again produced some stunning works of art detailing the passion and quality which will be on offer in Bar 44. His work dovetails nicely with the many other features which give Bar 44 Bristol points of interest, references to favourite areas of Spain and, most importantly, help to create a fascinating place to socialise. A new 100% Spanish drinks list has been launched along with a brand new unique tapas menu. Regular customers from our sister Bar 44s will be happy to see some of our signature dishes dotted amongst a whole host of tantalising new creations.
Restaurant details
Description: Situated in an old bank on Regent Street, Clifton village, the building has been lovingly and inspirationally refurbished bringing a fun and sophisticated restaurant space. Our great friend, Spanish artist Andi Rivas, has once again produced some stunning works of art detailing the passion and quality which will be on offer in Bar 44. His work dovetails nicely with the many other features which give Bar 44 Bristol points of interest, references to favourite areas of Spain and, most importantly, help to create a fascinating place to socialise. A new 100% Spanish drinks list has been launched along with a brand new unique tapas menu. Regular customers from our sister Bar 44s will be happy to see some of our signature dishes dotted amongst a whole host of tantalising new creations.
Reviewed 7 September 2021 via mobile

Fabulous meal! Opted for tapas on a Sunday afternoon - loved it. Especially the croquettes!! Served by Alice who was delightful. Saw the Spanish style roast go out which we’ll be back to try next as also looked amazing.

Date of visit: September 2021
3  Thank Tonyhadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2021 via mobile

Tapas and wine menu is fairly limited and the portion sizes were average on most dishes and small on the calamari.
Staff were verity polite and the speed of the food service was very fast, almost so fast to wonder if some was pre-prepared.
Combination of bar and restaurant works for some with quite limited tables / covers relative to bar.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank mikepW727UN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2021

We went with a couple of good friends, having been in the Cowbridge branch (since closed). Thoroughly enjoyed each and every dish and the wine that was recommended was very good - and not the most expensive on the wine list either. I wouldn't say everything is 'traditional' Spanish but nothing stands still, nor should it, and every dish was well prepared and delicious with some local produce throughout. Loved the sourdough bread - would have eaten more if it wouldn't have spoiled me for the rest of the meal. Definitely worth the visit and very good value.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank MalcolmA02
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

This was our last family meal in Bristol after our holiday all together, we could not have made a better choice. We had not booked and needed a large table, staff could not have been more accommodating, and gave us a fabulous table! We had 2 children with us, and the menu for them was excellent, as was ours. We had lovely drinks, all our tapas was amazing. All staff gave excellent service , could not have done more. Special thanks to our waiter, apologies, but did not get his name, but I know he was from Australia! This was a perfect ending to our holiday, faultless, I would highly recommend it, big thanks to you all xx

Date of visit: August 2021
2  Thank 978Carol_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2021 via mobile

Not wanting to sound dramatic BUT if I were to pick a last meal then the food we had today in bar 44 Clifton would be it. I’m no stranger to this restaurant but it just gets better and better. Hard to single out any dish but the salt cod and the flat iron steak were incredible. Plus the god of cheese is clearly their supplier. Thank you Morgan and team it was the best way to spend a Sunday afternoon

Date of visit: June 2021
2  Thank buffygallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Bar 44 Bristol also viewed

 

Been to Bar 44 Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.