We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 4:45 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Road safari great, foot safari pointless

Road safari was great! Foot safari not so much We had a lovely drive round, got super close to the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
rosieashby
,
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
via mobile
Excellent day out with 2 toddlers

Great day out went after the schools went back so a quieter day. On booking thought it was pricey... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
wtspg
Read all 3,326 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Woburn
from US$59.80
More Info
from US$123.76
More Info
from US$37.85
More Info
from US$48.60
More Info
Reviews (3,326)
Filter reviews
3,326 results
Traveller rating
1,707
891
388
199
141
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,707
891
388
199
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safari park monkey enclosure vip experience black beans off road swan boats elephant encounter sea lion show inclusive ticket wild animals drive round bouncy castle on foot great family day big cats guide book land rover
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 3,326 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We used the postcode sent to us on the booking email. On arrival at the gate there was a sign to say it was closed and to use another gate 5 mins down the road. We got to that gate to be told we were in the wrong place and needed to go back to where we had came and quee at the ticket booth. The drive through safari was less than impressive, very limited animals, the only highlight was the monkeys! The on foot safari- were not allowed in to the meerkat section unless you had a face mask (to walk around in a semi circle in an outdoor area???) We then queed for an hour for the swan lake ride to be informed once we were at the front of the quee that children under a meter could not ride!!! To top it off it took us 20 minutes to figure out how to leave the safari!!!! Complete shambles and poor excuse of a zoo. We visited Whipsnade earlier this year and ni comparison whatsoever. Will definitely not be recommending Woburn or going back!!!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank P4739UBsabrinap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoburnSafariPark, Marketing Executive at Woburn Safari Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear P4739UBsabrinap,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry you found your trip to Woburn Safari Park disappointing.

Firstly I'm sorry to hear that you had trouble accessing the Park, we currently only have one gate open, which we have included the postcode for in the email confirmations and on the website but we will review the signage on the gates.

I'm sorry to hear that you found the Road Safari disappointing and that you felt there were not many animals to see. The Park is home to over 80 species but unlike a traditional zoo the animals all have the freedom to roam as they wish within their large enclosures and all have access to shelters that they can use throughout the day. This is one of the reasons why we offer visitors unlimited circuits of the Road Safari during their visit. In the first drive-through reserve alone though, visitors have the chance to see a variety of animals including rhinos, ostriches, zebra, cattle, buffalo, and several species of antelope.

Currently, masks are mandatory for all visitors entering the lemur enclosure, which I assume is the area you're referring to, this is based on advice from our vets and is due to the fact that the lemurs are vulnerable to covid-19 and is a precaution that has been put in place to keep them safe.

I'm sorry that you felt the signage at the Swan Lake was not clear enough, we do have measuring sticks at either end of the queue, plus signage stating the height restrictions.

Finally, I'm sorry to hear that you had difficulty locating the exit, we always take feedback from our visitors on board and will review the signage at the Park based on your comments within your review.

I'm pleased to hear, however, that the monkeys were a highlight for you and hope you will consider a return visit in the future to see some of the animals that, by the sounds of it, you missed seeing on this occasion.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Kind regards,
Shannon Clark
(Marketing Executive)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2021 via mobile

Upon arrival the queue took over 20 minutes to get in, the safari area was brilliant however they should make it so cars wishing to stop for more than 10 minutes to capture pictures should stay to the right so other cars can get passed. The zoo itself was run down, a lot facilities were closed and only 1 toilet facility available throughout the whole park! There was hardly any animals to be seen, the sea lion viewing gallery - couldn’t see through because of the dirty water, the bird encounter lady said “they’re very nervous and camouflaged” - excuses because we only saw three! Didn’t see the 1 panda, otters, penguins!! Waste of money, very expensive!!!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank cclton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoburnSafariPark, Marketing Executive at Woburn Safari Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear cclton,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit.

Our keepers do work to actively manage traffic to keep cars moving but delays can sometimes occur. Visitors through the Road Safari drive-through can use one of two (and by Giraffe Junction even 3) lanes of the road, so people can take the time they want to stop and view the animals. Additionally, you're able to repeat the Road Safari circuit as many times as you like in the day - giving you more opportunities to see the wonderful animals enjoying their reserves.

I'm sorry to hear that you felt there are not many animals at the Park. The Park is actually home to over 80 species but in both the Road and Foot Safari all of the animals have access to shelters that they are able to use at any point during the day. You haven't mentioned if you watched any of the daily talks and demonstrations that take place throughout the day - this is a great way to see the animals (including penguins, lemurs, sea lions) and ask the keepers any questions you may have.

In reference to your concerns for the sea lion water, the Park is committed to never using any harsh chemicals in the pools of the enclosures and in contrast to popular belief is actually indicative of a very healthy water system. Unfortunately, this can affect visibility for customers, but we aim to clean the viewing windows as often as possible.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip through the Road Safari and hope you will consider a return visit to see the other animals in the Park.

Kind regards,
Shannon Clark
(Marketing Executive)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2021

The whole place is run down and tired looking. Much was closed. Train ride was underwhelming with no animals to see. Officious assistant in the outdoor Lemur cage wouldn’t let my two children aged 4 and 5 in because they weren’t wearing masks! Children have never had to wear masks and this was outside in the fresh air! A woman behind us was banned from going in too although she was exempt from wearing a mask. Other families were turned away and when I queried this I was told there was no point in complaining as ‘emails would be ignored.’ Really bad attitude. Someone who did go in said it was a waste of time, just 2 lemurs sat the top of a tree. Where are all the animals that used to be in Woburn? Not much to see and generally not worth the money.

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank 270sashas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoburnSafariPark, Marketing Executive at Woburn Safari Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear 270sashas,

Many thanks for your comments, we are sorry that you didn’t enjoy your visit.

It is currently a requirement that all visitors over the age of 3 must wear a mask inside the lemur enclosure. This is based on advice from our vets and has been put in place to keep the lemurs safe as they are vulnerable to covid-19. We have tried to communicate this clearly on the website and in the email communications visitors receive after booking their tickets, but we are sorry that you were disappointed on this occasion. We are also sorry to hear that you did not receive the high levels of customer service that we always aim to provide and will pass your comments on to the relevant team leaders for them to address appropriately. We always take visitor feedback on and would never ignore emails received.

We are sorry to hear that you found the train ride to be underwhelming, this is one of the additional free attractions that is included in your ticket price and many children thoroughly enjoy the experience of going on the train.

There are more than three species of lemurs living in Land of Lemurs but they are keen climbers and as with all of the animals at the Park, they have areas within their enclosure that allow them the choice of being away from guests at their leisure. We would always recommend visitors attend the keeper talks or revisit an enclosure at a different time of the day if they have not seen the animals on their first trip to the enclosure!

We are sorry to hear that you felt there were not many animals to see as the Park is home to over 80 species. For example, in the Road Safari's first drive-through reserve alone visitors have the opportunity to see rhinos, ostriches, cattle, buffalo and several species of antelope.

We hope you will consider a return visit in the future to see of the animals that, by the sounds of it, you missed on this occasion.

Kind regards,
Shannon Clark
(Marketing Executive)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2021

A fantastic opportunity to see animals close up, whilst in a natural habitat. The staff were very friendly at sorting our tickets too

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoburnSafariPark, Marketing Executive at Woburn Safari Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Chelsea,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your five star review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed seeing the animals that live here and to hear that you also found our staff to be friendly.

We hope to welcome you back to the Park again in the future.

Kind regards,
Shannon Clark
(Marketing Executive)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2021

The bad:
Entry was very slow due to a one man bottleneck on the road checking people had booked tickets and completely negating the large multiple lane entrance.
Toilets were very limited with only 2 in the same very busy central area.
Service was slow at the kiosks and seemed like more staff were needed everywhere.
(No doubt the all too often used ‘Covid’ excuse will be trotted out for the above but whatever the reason it’s a poor customer experience at present.)
The zoo part was quite old and tired and really needs improvement.
The good :
The animals we saw on the road safari looked healthy and had nice big enclosures.
The guidebook and hand sanitizer on entry was a nice touch.
Had an OK day but wouldn’t return.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank robjwilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoburnSafariPark, Marketing Executive at Woburn Safari Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear robjwilli,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your visit.

At the moment we are still limiting the number of visitors into the Park each day, so there is a member of staff at the gate checking that visitors have pre-booked their tickets to avoid them queuing down to the ticket lanes and then being disappointed if they are unable to get a ticket on the day. We do currently only have toilets open inside the Park, this is to allow our cleaning operatives to continuously clean them throughout the day with anti-bacterial and virucidal cleaning products.

We are sorry to hear that you felt the Foot Safari needed more investment, we have heavily invested in the Park over the past few years. For example, in the past couple of years alone we have introduced new species to both the Road Safari and Foot Safari and have completed the redevelopment of various enclosures including Land of Lemurs, Humboldt Harbour, and Monkey Mayhem.

We are pleased to hear, however, that you enjoyed the experience of seeing the animals in the Road Safari.

Kind regards,
Shannon Clark
(Marketing Executive)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews