We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing, romantic and just perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1 Midtown

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Ravenstonedale, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
holidaylo...
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Relaxing, romantic and just perfect ”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for a long chilled out weekend and that's exactly what it was.
The cottage was just what we wanted, what we expected and we loved every second.
The village is very quiet with only 2 pubs - both within walking distance. We ate in both with The Black Swan being our favourite.
The cottage has a lounge with a lovely comfy sofa, tv, wifi and of course the open fire with plenty of logs.
The kitchen has everything you could need including a dishwasher.
Upstairs there are 2 bedrooms - 1 double and 1 single. The bed was very comfy. The bathroom has an electric shower.
There is off street parking at the back of the cottage and it just might be worth pointing out the parking space is quite small and our car had no chance of getting in. Not a problem though as there is parking in the road just down from the cottage.
Overall we absolutely loved this place and have booked again for February.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2014
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. I look forward to welcoming you again next year. Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh_Fros...
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy cottage in the upper Eden valley, walks and pubs on the doorstep”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Arrived 13Sep14 for a week of relaxation, walking, fresh air, touring towns and villages of the Eden Valley. Directions, Parking, and Entry to the accommodation was as discussed by phone a few days previously. The owners popped in to see we had settled in, which was a very thoughtful touch. There was ample fuel for the open fire which we lit on several occasions when we spent cosy evenings in. The wi-fi was easy to access so we could browse the internet for local events and places of interest during our stay. In fact, everything was as advertised and we had a very enjoyable stay. The only minor inconveniences were that there was no separate freezer, hot water was only available if you remembered to press the "boost" button on the immersion, and we needed to replenish the washing up liquid after a couple of days. We had a well-behaved dog, and were thrilled with the walking opportunities from the doorstep; both village pubs are exceptional and require booking for a meal, during busy periods, especially the weekend. Both had good selections of beers, wines, whiskeys etc and the service was very good. There is a good public transport service with stops in the village, so it is possible to travel to Penrith in the north and to Kendal in the Southwest, and most towns and villages inbetween. There is also a service provided by Cumbria Classic Coaches to Hawes on Tuesday and Barnard Castle on Wednesday. Kirkby Stephen station is about 4 miles distant and is on the very picturesque Settle-Carlisle line so there are no excuses for being unadventurous. We would rate this holiday experience 8.5 out of 10.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no recycling or bin collection info
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and hope you see you again sometime. We are pleased you enjoyed the local walks and the village pubs and also your trips on the Classic Coach service to Hawes and Barnard Castle. Thank you once again, we really appreciate your feedback. Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Both my wife and I had a wonderful time in the cottage ,the village was lovely and quiet and the garden was a joy to sit in on hot summer days .the food in the Black Swan was superb and is well worth a visit.there is plenty to do in the area the chocolate factory at orton is a must and also the cheese factory at Hawes.as the cottage is pet friendly you will find plenty of walks to do straight from the front door.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2014
Neil, Thank you so much for your great review. It was lovely to meet you and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I must visit the chocolate shop myself. Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
42Ewa
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely cosy experience!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were made welcome in this rural cottage, its in the village of Ravenstonedale really close to excellent pubs and a handy shop. Lovely views of the Cumbrian fells . Brush up on your fire lighting skills! Lots to see that's very historical in the area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;