We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect village retreat!”
other travellers have booked this property
Pure relaxation in the calm of Amari Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pure relaxation in the calm of Amari Valley
Face to face with Mount Psiloritis. Natural tranquility
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Pure relaxation in the calm of Amari Valley
Face to face with Mount Psiloritis.
Natural tranquility
Living room
Kitchen and dining
Dining and kitchen
Entrance hall
Guest suite with handmade embroidery (double, ground floor)
Ground floor bathroom
Master suite (double, upper floor)
The Old Attic suite (quadruple, upper floor)
The little attic of the quadruple bedroom (1 double or 2 single beds)
Upper floor bathroom
Upper floor terrace
A detail in the living room
Dining in the dusk
Overlooking the rooftops of Amari.
Outside dining detail
The entrance terrace under the mulberry tree
The villa's entrance through the garden
Garden detail#1
Garden detail#2
Garden detail#3
The unique landscape of Amari Valley, the village and the location of the property
The exact location of the property
The famous Amari bell tower
A typical byzantine temple on a hilltop
Step into history
Springfields
Olive groves
Ancient, monumental olive trees
Amari fields in full bloom
A Venetian gate in Amari Village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
lisa d
1 review
“Perfect village retreat!”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I stayed here with another couple and I cannot imagine a better escape from city life. Created out of the owner's grandparents' house, the villa combined just the right amount of rustic charm (exposed stone accents) with modern comfort and convenience (neatly whitewashed plaster walls). I loved all the warm touches, like the traditional embroidered draperies and lamp shades, stitched by the owner's grandmother, I believe. We received a bountiful welcome basket with local products and the kitchen was thoroughly equipped, but we didn't need to cook. Several small tavernas are within a few kilometers - all listed in the handy information provided. And one night we chose from the traditional dishes offered and ordered ahead to the have the kind caretaker, Miss Roumy, cook. The pastitsio, village salad, vegetable casserole and fried cheese pies made from scratch with soft local cheese and topped with honey was one of the best meals we had on Crete! Though we didn't have much language in common, we had no trouble at all communicating with Roomy.

The place was spacious but the four of us did not feel like we rattled around in it. We spent most of our time out on the terrace by the lovely little swimming pool overlooking a few village buildings and the surrounding hills. The only things I would say to be aware of are that you have to climb fairly steep stairs to get to the villa entrance as well as to go up to the two biggest bedrooms, but it was not an issue for us. And to remember that this is mountainous countryside, so map distances are misleading. Roads are very narrow, very very winding and not terribly well marked. I'd budget longer than you planned to get anywhere, but we had no problem exploring the seaside, area monasteries and visiting villages known for pottery and handicrafts. My only regret is that we didn't spend more than 4 nights. I wish we'd taken more time to relax in the village and to hike among the tiny 14th century churches in Amari Valley itself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabine245
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a magical place in unspoilt Crete”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Villa Idi was great. It´s a fantastic place of outstanding beauty with the most stunning view you can imagine, the mountainous landscape all around. Even it it´s hot, there is enough wind to make you feel comfortable and you´ll find a shadowy place under a tree around the house for reading or relaxing at any time of the day. At night you can enjoy the starry sky and the silence of the countryside.
Being situated off the beaten track (which we loved) in the beautiful heart of Crete, you can still enjoy trips to the North Coast as well as the South coast, with often small, curvy roads leading through nice villages and beautiful scenery, or you can explore the surroundings and historical sites nearby. The owner Manolis has a lot of tips about what to do or where to find interesting places and he also sends you some information in advance. Manolis is most friendly and will come around to welcome you and make you feel at home. We enjoyed the talks with him and his wife on the terrace very much.
When you come to Villa Idi, you´ll find a welcome basket with goodies and national specialities and enough food for at least your first day. You´re free to do your own breakfast and cooking or order it from the delightful Mrs Roumy, the caretaker, who lives on the site and is an excellent cook (we loved her meals) as well as most helpful with anything round the house. She spoiled us with some extra treats, too.
From the villa you can even see part of the market place down the hill, where people meet, talk or sometimes dance, and you can go down and join in or else take part in the village life from your holiday home, and still you´re absolutely private in and around the Villa at any time of the day.
The parents´ bedroom is very romantic with a stunning view to three sides.T he other bedrooms have a lovely view, too, are beautifully furnished and very cosy, like the whole house, which is charming, clean and well equipped with all amenities.
If you want to enjoy real Cretian hospitality and feel the magic of this place, we absolutely advise you to come here . Also our boys (12 + 14 years old) enjoyed the „cool place“ and the pool for refreshment and fun and were impressed by the „fastest WiFi (WLAN) ever“. They loved the beaches and Roumi´s meat balls, zaziki and fries. So there is something for everybody. For us it was a perfect place to get some peace, leave our cares behind and come home with wonderful impressions of Crete and its people in our heart.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views of the mountains, the great villa and the warmth of Manolis, his wife and Roumi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJZeng
Armonk, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Come to stay at Villa Idi - highlight of our 2- week long Greece trip”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My family of 7, including 2 elders and 3 teenagers, spent a memorable 5 days in the beautiful Villa Idi in August. It was voted the best stay out of our 2 week long, 4 stops Greece trip. The house is extremely clean, very spacious and comes with all amenities and makes us feel at home as soon as we set foot in the house. The location is in the middle of a very traditional, serene village in the mountains, which allowed us to get a real taste of the village life in Crete.
Manolis' attention to details is unparalleled in all my experience with vacation rentals. He helped us with car rental and gave detailed turn by turn directions. Roumy is such a sweet lady and a fantastic cook -- after daily excursions, nothing beats a pleasant meal prepared by Roumy in the terrace under the moonlight. Manolis and Roumy made our Greece/Crete experience special. All 7 of us vote Villa Idi our best stay in our entire Greece trip! Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CydDesMoi...
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This was a beautiful place to both relax and see historical sites and natural beauty”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This charming villa (4 bedroom/2 bath) was very comfortable and everything seemed like new. We had our own swimming pool and could sit and enjoy the mountain view while dining. Loved that there were no tour buses in site! The owner met us on our arrival and was very kind about offering suggestions of things to do in the area. He also has detailed information that he sends you in advance as well as leaves at the Villa. These details helped in making us comfortable exploring the area on our own. Highly recommend as a good place for combining relaxation and historical sites in this area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMMech
Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Vacation at Villa Idi in Amari”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from a perfect week at Villa Idi in Amari, which we booked based on the extraordinary reviews we read here.

Manolis, the villa’s owner renovated his grandparent’s home into 2 magnificent, beautifully decorated, comfortable and fully equipped villas. The villas each sleep 8, so large crowds can book both villas. We are a family of 5 and our 3 adult children enjoyed having rooms of their own.

Manolis assisted in renting a car from the airport. He was waiting for us at the villa to greet us personally when we arrived and to show us around. The welcome basket with food and drink of the local cuisine was a real treat. Manolis together with Mrs Roumy, the villa’s superb “housekeeper” who lives in an apartment below the villa, ensured during our entire visit that we had everything needed to be comfortable. Manolis visited us several evenings during our stay, shared a drink of raki with us, gave us travel tips, and told us about life in the village and in Crete.

We took day trips to various areas on the Island. Although staying in the village added to our travel time, we were happy to return in the evening to the luxurious house and the tranquility of Amari. We especially enjoyed family quality time eating leisurely meals on the pool balcony, overlooking the spectacular view of the mountains and the charming village of Amari.

Mrs Roumy is a wonderful cook. After eating her home-cooked meals, which we ordered from her, we realized that her cooking is better than any other meal we had. She also spoiled us with additional treats that she prepared.

We highly recommend Villa Idi for travelers who prefer staying in a peaceful, serene and authentic village, in nature, away from the tourist areas and crowds. The only drawback was that we could not stay longer. It was a most fantastic holiday. I hope we will be able to return someday.

Manolis and Mrs Roumy – we thank you for your hospitality, your kindness and for a wonderful vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$124
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing