We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Real Gem, Baaaa none :-)”
Classic local architecture; the building dates from 1560.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Classic local architecture; the building dates from 1560.
Welcome to White Sheep....come on in and have a look The lovely West and South facing terrace surrounded by lavender roses and wisteria
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
Classic local architecture; the building dates from 1560.
Welcome to White Sheep....come on in and have a look
The lovely West and South facing terrace surrounded by lavender roses and wisteria
The sitting room seen from the garden
The sunny terrace
Sitting room opens on to the terrace
Gorgeous eat-in kitchen with inglenook fireplace, walk-in larder and all conceivable appliances
The dining room...low ceilinged, intimate, perfect for a special lunch or dinner
The comfy and sunny sitting room
.....with French windows to the terrace
An amazing curved oak wall between the hall and the kitchen
The West bedroom
The cute and cosy cabin-like twin....children adore it....but its comfy for adults too!
Chocolate-y highlights in the bright East bedroom
Even the bath and shower rooms have fabulous beams
Ground floor family bathroom with double-ended tub
The natural pond, a haven for wildlife
The charming old barn
Relax by the pond....
The Pictorial Meadow, a riot of colour May to November
The wildflower meadow
Apple blossom time....there are cherries, figs and all kinds of herbs too....help yourself!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Peasenhall, Saxmundham, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suzyrex
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Real Gem, Baaaa none :-)”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at White Sheep Cottage, a party of five consisting of 2yr old Grand daughter, Daughter, her partner, myself and hubby.
The pictures, which are good do not do this place justice. It was the perfect place to kick back, relax and indulge in some family time.
Everything you may need is here, in the kitchen, bathrooms, interesting books to read. We played dominos for the first time in years.
The beds are comfy as are the sofas. You will not be short of a cushion or two, snuggly blankets to cuddly up under if it turns a bit nippy.
Peasenhall village is small but the shop keepers were friendly and you wont starve if you cant be bothered to travel further a field. It's a pleasant walk the the Sibton White Horse pub if you get bored sitting in the beautiful garden drinking wine.
We enjoyed visiting Aldeborgh and Southwold.
If you are thinking of staying anywhere in the vicinity I'd highly recommend White Sheep Cottage.
Sue thank you for making this such an easy transaction you were a joy to deal with and I do hope that I'll be back sooner rather than later.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to criticise
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
Thank you Sue for your lovely review. We all love everything sheepie! I especially love Shaun the Sheep! Come back soon. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izz3112
York
2 reviews
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I stayed here in February this year and it was just fabulous. The cottage is beautifully finished to a high specification and has a lovely, cosy, warm feeling to it. The beds are extremely comfortable, I felt so refreshed after just one night! The surrounding village is very tranquil with exceptional pubs nearby. I couldn't recommend it highly enough, even for just a short getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2015
Thank you for your lovely review Isobel. I hope you felt equally refreshed after the rest of your weekend too.....;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Wimbledon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EXPECTATIONS MATCHED”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

If you are looking for a tranquil and comfortable Suffolk country cottage with period detail at the end of a quiet village with a great "living" kitchen and an attractive pub twenty minutes walk away, look no further.
The village has two shops of outstanding quality, the butchers and the the ham smokers (Emmetts Deli with great cafe and coffee), both nationally known, and the cottage is well placed for visiting nearby inland coastal villages and towns with walking possibilities in abundance. I don’t do TripAdvisor entries, so it is a credit to the house, that I write this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the atmosphere
Liked least: hitting my head on low doorways. (duck or grouse)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2015
Much appreciated kind public words to add to the very appreciative private note you sent me. Come back soon, we would all love to have you back to Sheep Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianebenn
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We love sheep”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Several visits in the bag and here we are again at the gorgeous White sheep cottage!
The cottage is an absolute delight and we left feeling refreshed and relaxed after a couple of wonderful nights sleep in the most comfortable bed.
Since our last visits there is lovely new furniture and soft furnishings in the sitting room and lots of cute new stuff in the kitchen which may I add is extremely well equipped.
The cottage is kept immaculately clean.
We were lucky to enjoy some lovely Autumn sunshine and the gardens were an absolute pleasure to explore.
We will be back, we love Sheep :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2015
Thank you for your kind words, and please do come back (again) soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beadle
West MIdlands, UK
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just perfect . . .”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at White Sheep Cottage during the period of our son's wedding. As other reviewers have noted, the cottage is bright, spotlessly clean, very comfortable and extremely well equipped, with many extras that are rarely found in a self-catering property. Free wi-fi and a great supply of maps, local guides, magazines and reading books were a bonus! The garden is just beautiful (late spring flowers and blossom were in full bloom), with deck chairs, table and chairs ready for the use of visitors. We booked the adjoining Black Sheep Cottage at the same time as White Sheep - the perfect combination of accommodation for our wedding party. Above all I would recommend the cottage to anyone solely on the basis of the efficient and supportive owner! Booking and communication were seamless and any queries were answered within hours. Thank you so much for letting us share your delightful property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home from home feel to the cottage
Liked least: Impossible to dislike anything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2014
Thank you Barbara, so pleased everything went well! I wish there was a Good Guest Guide......
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;