We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hornby Island Diving Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Riverside Resort & Campground(Qualicum Beach)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shorewater Resort(Qualicum Beach)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buena Vista by the Sea(Qualicum Beach)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Crest Motel(Qualicum Beach)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sand Pebbles Inn(Qualicum Beach)(Great Value!)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Qualicum Beach Inn(Qualicum Beach)
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lighthouse Motel(Qualicum Beach)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas(Qualicum Beach)(Great Value!)
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$251
US$245
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
43
1
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrying roomgreat weekendfood is excellentsea lionscan't wait to go backfantastic experiencewonderful hostsdeck handevery mealrobboatoperationstellergearvisibilityleftoversladder
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Our group went to Hornby in late February to scuba dive with the Steller sea lions. The beginning of the trip was clear and sunny, but we then "lucked" into one of the island's infrequent snowstorms, which dropped about a foot of snow and cut power across the island overnight.

Somehow, though, Rob, Amanda and their amazing staff didn't skip a beat. They seamlessly brought generators online so that we all woke to a hot breakfast as usual and the crew was already shoveling snow off the boat so we didn't miss a dive.

The lodge is a warm, comfortable space with really excellent family-style meals. And for cold-water divers, it doesn't get much better, with a drying/warming room for dive wear, rinse tanks and hanging space for drysuits, plenty of photo gear charging and prep areas and, best of all, a sauna to take away any post dive chill.

The dive boat is ideal, with lots of deck space and a terrific boarding ladder. Dive sites are close, visibility during our winter trip reached 80-plus feet, and the Steller sea lion encounters are amazing.

Fish and topside bird life were also great at that time of year.

Hornby Island can take some time to get to, but this family run lodge and dive operation with its welcoming, helpful, top-notch staff and its incredible underwater experiences are absolutely worth the trip.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank orcasbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda Z, Owner at Hornby Island Diving Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you for taking time to review your visit. It was a pleasure to host understanding and appreciative guests during this surprise weather event. While it was inconvenient, the snow was also magical and made the trip memorable. And as you mention, the winter wildlife is wonderful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Our scuba squad came out to Hornby for the famous Steller Sealions diving experience and this resort & the dive spots exceeded all our greatest expectations!

The dive spots were top notch - giant pacific octopi, wolf eel families, and of course the main course, the sea pups! Soooo cute, fun and friendly, this was clearly my best dive to date and certainly an example of what BC had to offer!!! . If you haven’t gone diving with sealions, you haven’t gone diving!!!

Amazing job by Rob to find us what we were looking for and drop us into some beauty spots. They’re totally wetsuit doable but I guess most go drysuit. We didn’t - haha - but the lodge was complete with sauna so we were warm within minutes of docking.

The lodge was warm welcoming and perfectly located. The owners & staff were legendary and the meals!?!? Amazing! We were stuffed on A+ quality & quantity all weekend.

We can’t recommend this spot enough! They provide tanks & weights so you just need to show up with your own gear.

A great spot in winter - when it’s prime scuba season!

#SuperSexyScubaSquad

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Hulkshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda Z, Owner at Hornby Island Diving Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you made some great memories. It was our pleasure to be part of the fun with the SSSS.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our trip very much. The food was amazing ~ especially the shepherds pie and cheesecake! The soups were perfect after a cool dive. The visibility was good for Pacific Northwest. Thank you all ~ Amanda & Rob (owners / hosts), Samantha, Paula & Faith (cooks), and Faroe (deck hand)

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tammy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda Z, Owner at Hornby Island Diving Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the food and the visibility. Two great reasons to come to Hornby...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Great dive operation. The dive boat is very well set up. Probably the best I have ever been on for this size operations. Accommodations are comfortable and super clean. To top it off the food is excellent! Thanks Rob and Amanda and all your terrific staff. You are all great hosts! Enjoyed our dives in some great weather. My non diver wife Louise also enjoyed all aspects of her weekend sta

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BJMNanooseBay_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda Z, Owner at Hornby Island Diving Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and that our accommodations were clean and comfortable for you. We think an important aspect of our offerings is that we welcome non-divers and there is lots for them to do. We are glad Louise enjoyed her stay, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

I've been to Hornby Island Diving a few times and always have a fantastic weekend there. Amanda and Rob run an incredible operation in a perfect location on Hornby Island. The dive sites are so close, you come back to soup and other great food between dives. This last visit was spent visiting the sea lions, which makes for some of the best dives. The boat is big and comfortable. The lodge is beautiful, with tons of space to lounge, lay out the gear to dry, and hang out with everyone. The meals area always great!
I'll be planning to head back there again as soon as I can!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trisha8483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda Z, Owner at Hornby Island Diving Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

Thank you for your review. It's helpful to have a review from a repeat customer. If you just visit once, later you wonder 'was it like I remembered it?'. But when you return and enjoy it a second, third, fourth time, this reinforces the quality of the experience. Many of our guests are repeat visitors. This is one of the things we love most about what we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews