We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magnificent”
other travellers have booked this property
Panoramic view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Panoramic view
Comfortable furnishings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Panoramic view
Comfortable furnishings
Views from everywhere
A Peek into the Bedroom
2-person, fresh water soaker tub on the veranda - enjoyable in all seasons
The view is BIG!
Fully appointed kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Quadra Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ChrissyRu...
Ringwood, New Jersey
1 review
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was our second visit to Luna Vista and I can't wait to go back. If you are looking for a relaxing, peaceful get away...this is your place. The cabins are beautiful and well taken care of. They are well stocked and clean. Very private and secluded. The views from the cabins are spectacular. The hiking trails on Quadra Island are some of the best I've seen. You can either spend all your days on Quadra, or take a day trip north for the best whale watching in the world on Johnstone Straight/Telegraph Cove (about a two hour drive). Highly, highly recommend this peaceful cabin for 2!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There is nothing that I do not like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alohagirl...
2 reviews
“Fabulous Honeymoon location! ”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at both the studio cabin and cottage for our Honeymoon, and both were fabulous, and each has its own unique qualities. Great views waking up from our bed in the Studio Cabin, and yet nice to have the extra space (bedroom) in the cottage. Can't go wrong in either location!

We were so pleased to see how beautifully built these were, Gretchen has added some special touches with her quilted tapestry. Also we loved the outdoor patio that is covered with see thru windows, you can see the stars at night and feel the warmth in the morning. We sat outside most days for breakfast and dinner since the VIEW is breathtakingly awesome!

Our hosts "owners" Doug and Gretchen were so thoughtful and helpful!

Highly recommend Luna Vista if you are looking for a peaceful location with little distractions from the outside world, and having the environment to entertain you: hikes on local trails, neighboring islands to visit, Rebecca Spit next door (10min walk to it)... If you have a boat, that's even better since you can explore at your will, which is what we did.

Can't say enough about our wonderful stay.. We wi be back and will tell our friends too...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMFSaskat...
Saskatoon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Million dollar views”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had the pleasure of spending three nights at Luna Vista Cabin on Quadra Island. The cabin has a spectacular view that is equally stunning at night, as in the early morning hours. It is very well appointed and we did not want for anything. The owners, Gretchen and Doug, have put a lot of thought and attention into the cabin. A soak in the tub on the deck is a decadent treat after a long day - I'd highly recommend it!
The cabin can get warm on hot days; a suggestion for guests is to remember to close all the windows and blinds on the south side to keep the heat out - the cabin cools off well as the evening air cools down.
We really enjoyed our stay, both at the cabin and on the island!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clark S
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed on Quadra island in Jun 14 and rented this great spot overlooking a Provincial Park. Phenomenal sun rises from your bedroom with the mountains in the distance. The Cabin was perfect and the tub on the deck was a nice perk. Highly recommended if you are ever visiting Quadra!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate B
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“private, homey cabin in fantastic location”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Luna Vista on Quadra Island for 2 nights and wished it could have been 2 weeks. We actually stayed in their other cabin, a studio-sized alternative to this 1-bedroom (which we had an opportunity to look at while we were there). Both cottages are absolutely gorgeous. While having a modern feel in terms of amenities and comforts, they both also have a sense of the rustic, in that they are made of beautiful wood, are situated separately, each in their own huge private yard overlooking a fantastic east-facing ocean view. Quadra Island is a quiet, beautiful British Columbia island with that back-in-the-'70s feel.

Both cottages are situated at the top of a long hill, which is also part of the property, all of it manicured lawn and pretty trees-and-rocks landscaping. Both yards lead down to the beach, which is on Drew Harbour, a quiet bay enclosed by the famous and beautiful Rebecca Spit. Access to the beach is through a private gate and down a short stairway. The rest of scenic Quadra Island is within short driving distances and worth exploring. Ferries to/from the island, both eastbound to Cortes Island and westbound to the main Vancouver Island, are within minutes from Luna Vista.

Doug and Gretchen are excellent hosts who live on the next property up the hill. Doug dropped in a couple of hours after we arrived to ensure all was well. We had a nice chat, during which we learned that he and Gretchen built the cottages themselves. Gretchen is an artisan and her beautiful fabric art graces the walls of both cottages, with one of her woven wool blankets draped over the couch to snuggle with in the evening.

We really enjoyed the outdoor soaker tub on the deck. Contrary to a previous reviewer, we found that there was lots of hot water available for each evening's fill-up. Doug encouraged us to use it as much as we wanted. Each cottage has its own fire pit and we made good use of ours for my favorite treat, roasted marshmallows. We had fun gathering beach wood for the fire during our walk on Rebecca Spit.

The studio cottage was very comfortable for the 2 of us. I'm picky about bathrooms and kitchens, and found both to be absolutely fine. The bed is very comfortable (important at our age as seniors), the lounging furniture is comfy, there were extra blankets and towels, and there were even board games on the closet shelf. The deck had 2 lounge chairs for us and there was seating around the firepit.

The days were filled with birdsong. I could sit for hours and watch the ocean vista, the boats lazily at anchor, the birds flitting about in the yard, the eagles and ravens frequently soaring overhead, the occasional ferry going past. The resident hummingbird came by a few times to check us out. It was blissful to be on holiday in such a quiet, private place.

In fact, nothing was lacking. It was my idea of a perfect getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet, the privacy, the beauty of the surroundings, the comforts
Liked least: nothing at all to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing