We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely suite with spectacular view”
other travellers have booked this property
relax in your private  hot tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
relax in your private  hot tub
beach puppy comfort and luxury
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
relax in your private  hot tub
beach puppy
comfort and luxury
incredible sunsets
gorgeous gardens
snow capped mountains
all the mod cons
moonlit night
float planes to watch
beautiful ammenities
beautiful summer views
pets are ALWAYS welcome
spring on the Coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EKR13
Terrace, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely suite with spectacular view”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My husband planned a weekend getaway for us and our crazy golden retriever for my birthday in May. I'm not sure how he stumbled upon Marian's on the Coast, but I'm so glad he did. Mary and Ian were spectacular hosts - always happy to help plan out activities, offer dining suggestions or anything else you may need. The best part for us was that they're clearly people who love dogs - our crazy golden retriever didn't even phase them. It was so nice not to have to stress that our dog would do something naughty the whole time we were there!!

Accomodation: A lovely suite with all the amenities of home. It is super clean and doggy friendly - complete with dog towels, dog bed, homemade dog biscuits and bags for cleaning up after fido. A welcome package is provided on arrival that includes home made cookies (soooo good), homemade dog biscuits and fresh fruit. Each morning Mary bakes a lovely assortment of fresh baked goods to accompany the delightful coffee included in your suite. This was one of my favorite parts of staying in the seaside suite!!

Location: Seems a little off the beaten path, but really it is just minutes from the ferry! The suite is perched on the side of a hill leading down to the ocean. From the bed you have views of the ocean and all the cool little boats and big barges that pass by. There is a beautiful path down to the beach (which is beautiful and rocky). Best part about the beach is that it is super dog friendly and there aren't many people around which provides the illusion you have a private beach!!

Overall, such a great visit to the Sunshine coast with lovely hosts! I can't wait to come back here and would definitely recommend to anyone - particularly people holidaying with their fur babies.

Thanks Mary & Ian for a wonderful and special weekend away.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura V
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
“Honeymoon Getaway”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

For our honeymoon we really wanted to go somewhere that would allow us to bring our dog Mya along with us. We found Marian's on the Coast through some internet searches. I phoned and spoke with Mary prior to booking. She was so friendly and welcoming on the phone and was eager to help with any questions I had. She blocked the time slots for me so I could verify with my soon-to-be husband before booking. Needless to say we booked 4 nights with them. We were pleasantly surprised when we showed up and both Mary and Ian treated us like we were family. They were so welcoming and hospitable and you never once felt out of place, even with our dog running around. The room, deck, view, and beach were all amazing and you felt right at home. The suite was clean, comfortable, and just what you want for your vacation. The home-made breakfast in the morning was delicious!! And Mya loved her specially baked doggy treats. Mary and Ian both gave us excellent recommendations for trails to run and places to check out both in Gibsons and along the Sunshine Coast. We went kayaking with Ian one morning and we had an amazing time. He taught us everything we needed to know about kayaking (was our first time though we had canoed before). He showed us their little "aquarium" where we found sea cucumbers, crabs, and starfish below the surface. We would definitely take another trip with him! We had an amazing time on our honeymoon and we cannot thank Mary and Ian enough for the hospitality they gave us. This is truly an amazing spot for a vacation and you will not be disappointed if you book with them. It feels like your own home away from home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricia723
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A close getaway”
Reviewed 23 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I were looking for some where to go that was close and would allow dogs. We stumbled upon Marian's on the Coast. Our friend had recommended it, so we thought why not? Once we arrived, there was a stocked fridge with breakfast items (optional), and we had some goodies there too. The place was clean and very country modern, I love it! The kitchen was fully usable, so if you wanted to make breakfast, lunch, and dinner, you could! But why would you make breakfast when Mary and Ian make a mean breakkie...muffins and croissants with Marian's Berry jam (yummy) or Belgian waffles with strawberries and whipped cream...yummy! When we checked in, we, also, had some special treats for our pooches! Who, by the way, stayed for free, yup, for free! There was a dog bed, dog bowls, dog towels, everything you needed for your fave pooch! Tim and I really enjoyed staying there and so did Max and Sophie, so we will be coming back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant C
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hosts and Accommodation”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We were going to Gibsons to celebrate a very special 90th birthday and after hearing all good things about Marion’s we decided to make a weekend of it and stay at Marion’s. We were not disappointed! Mary and Ian are excellent hosts, made us feel very welcome. Their suite was beautifully appointed, comfortable, and totally separate so you don’t feel as if you are intruding in their home. The views are spectacular and you are just far enough away from town to enjoy the quiet. Although we didn’t take our puppy, dogs are welcome which was good to know for next time. We would certainly recommend "Marion’s On the Coast Seaside Suite".

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! Yes, please do bring Sugar Ray the boxer, along next time! Ian and I look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDicksonR...
Revelstoke, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

It is not always easy to leave a pet behind, and it is not always easy to find a welcoming place for you and your pet to stay. However, once we clicked on Marian's site, contacted Mary and Ian, we knew this was the place. We loved the deck, hot tub, and walks on the beach. We covered a lot of territory on the Sunshine Coast, so we didn't spend a lot of time at Marian's, but it would be a fantastic retreat if you just wanted to stay put - especially in the summer! The location was a little out of town for us, we stayed in town for dinner, then headed out to relax and enjoy the evening. We visited in March and it was still a little chilly to take advantage of the deck and barbeque. If you don't have a pet, feel confident that this is a fantastic place to stay anyway as it is so clean and well kept. Great sleep, very quiet!!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2013
Thanks so much for the great review. We always appreciate our guests feedback. We hope to see you again, when the weather allows that time on the deck!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing