We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Tokyo Bay

Tokyo Bay
Reserve a table
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Takapuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $70
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tokyo Bay is located beachside, on Auckland's famous Takapuna Beach. Our Japanese team serve modern, not fusion, Japanese cuisine, of the highest standard.
Reviewed 25 February 2024 via mobile

Chose this restaurant after trying it out earlier. The occasion was my birthday so booked a table for my Mrs and a family of 4 including 2 children. The service was second to none and the food was excellent and unusually authentic. My favourite is tempura and as I spend a couple of months in Asia I do have quite some experience. All my guests were very happy with the meal and the location with views over the sea was a bonus.
The waitresses made my special day a very special one and I am grateful.
Will be going back again.

Date of visit: February 2024
1  Thank Wonjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2024

We have dined at Tokyo Bay a number of times and always find the staff attentive, polite (as you would expect) and the food is extremely good. There is a good mix of beverages and food to choose from and I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Tokyo Bay to my friends and family.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
1  Thank craigsimpsonNZ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2024

Very bland food with little flavour and over priced. Edamame was cold (I've never had Edamame served cold before), steak teppanyaki had no flavour whatsoever and was chewy, and to top it off was served with a miniscule amount of cold pickled vegetables. Pork gyōza were good but these were the only stand out from the five dishes we ordered. Sorely underwhelmed!

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2024

My partner and I came last night celebrating a birthday and it was fantastic. The staff were attentive, thoughtful and all round excellent making it a wonderful experience, the customer service here is faultless. The food was also really good, we had starters, mains, dessert and cocktails and they were all fantastic. We will definitely be coming here again. Thank you for a lovely evening.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
1  Thank nosalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024 via mobile

Amazing food in a great location, with great service, would highly recommend a visit to this restaurant without hesitation

Date of visit: February 2024
1  Thank Getaway19256808737
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Tokyo Bay also viewed

Takapuna, North Shore
Auckland, North Island
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Takapuna, North Shore
 

Been to Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.